We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but not quite there yet...”
Review of Adahan Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adahan Istanbul
Ranked #52 of 1,087 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pros: The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The building was beautiful, the terrace had a great view over the old city and the breakfast was great (including the waiters who were very helpful, even when we turned up too late for breakfast!) The location was amazing, right in the centre.

Cons: The suite we were in was very sparsely furnished, with no rug or cushions or a comfortable seat to relax on (only a wooden bench against the wall). This also made the lack of decorations on the walls even more striking, especially as nails had been put into the walls and just stuck out with nothing on it! Several lamps in the room also didn't work, all little things but added together, it made it look like the room was only half finished, and that the hotel had either run out of money or motivation halfway through decorating it... For the price of the room, it was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mablondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 136 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Adahan hotel is a very special place. I normally do not write any reviews - but this place deserves it. The moment you enter this carefully restored old bulling your nose is on vacation. It smells beautifully from handmade soaps. The stuff is extremely friendly - maybe their english needs some improvement - but if you need any help - there is always Lale and her husband. They are eager to assist and they have many very good tips.
Our room was very light and after we changed it - very quiet :-)
The terrace is just the perfect place to relax after a long day of walking - take a drink and enjoy the view - no need to climb up the Galata tower...
This little germ makes you feel home far away from home. We will come back.

Room Tip: Take a room on an upper level - and to the backstreet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoja666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had never been to Istanbul before. The Adahan hotel was the perfect place to stay. Very comfotable and clean room, exellent service and also the restaurant very good. I will surely come back to the Adahan hotel. :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Silvia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A great location, very charming place, beautifully restored by the architect owners. The roof top has fabulous views and the breakfast is very diverse. Such a nice place would deserve a professional and motivated service too. Unfortunately, the staff hardly understands any english, or other language than turkish, which makes the contacts complicated. Just book your room directly with the hotel, to handle a booking from a booking platform with the staff is a hassle. The stay in this wonderful place was somewhat disturbed by little things like: no espresso in the morning (although machine is there but the staff doesn't know how to use it?), phone calls from the reception in the middle of the night because they mixed up the room numbers, only one set of towels in a double room...if you want to come here, expect the most beautiful youth hostel you know, and not a 4 stars hotel, so you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: don't tale a standard room, they are very small and have no window to the exterior (covered inne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A1234188107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we booked Adahan for a holiday last summer, I was worried by the lack of Tripadvisor reviews but decided to take a chance on it and we couldn't be happier with our decision. It deserves a top rating across the board. Slightly hard to find but beautifully located in the heart of Asmali Mescit. The building itself is gorgeously restored and not enough can be said about the terrace and the view from it. I can't believe this place wasn't more popular but am sure that will change soon - this is the kind of property that has people returning for more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dishadisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

You may be visiting Istanbul solo, as a couple, with friends or you are there for arts business. If so this gem is for you to find. It is hidden in a graceful street of an old district, close to the active arts area and very close to the lively night out bars. A unique 1870'ties grand apartment building gracefully restored and converted into a 40 room hotel. The terrace restaurant is one of our favorite places in beautiful Istanbul. It overlooks to the Golden Horn bay on one side, on the other you can enjoy views of the Genovese Galata Tower. The food is delicious, atmosphere is romantic in the evenings, calm and relaxing in the mornings. Be careful though you may not want to go out of the hotel at all ! :-)

Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing the side streets. the buildings around the hotel are nice to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serap b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Refined food, a good selection of wines and very friendly staff.
We had the best New Year over there!
In the hart of the cultural and upcoming neighborhood of Istanbul.
Recently refurbished and very spacious and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tine_De_Beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#63 of 1,163 in Istanbul
694 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#115 of 1,163 in Istanbul
491 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Beyoglu
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
#193 of 1,163 in Istanbul
448 reviews
Beyoglu
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
#53 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adahan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adahan Istanbul

Address: Asmali Mescit Mah. General Yazgan Sok. No:14 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,087 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $106 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adahan Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADAHAN ISTANBUL simply graceful, purely timelessHoused in a charmingly restored, 1874 - grand apartment building in the very heart of the historic and chic Galata district, ADAHAN ISTANBUL truly redefines the Istanbul experience for our spirited guests. The building itself, the recent restoration, and the interior decor are neat, graceful, and respectful - so are the staff and the hotel's management philosophy. Guests stay in 40 individually refurbished living quarters, enjoying the timeless purity of custom designed wooden furniture and floors; cotton curtains, linen, and pillows; olive-oil soaps, and many other amenities.ADAHAN ISTANBUL's unique interior design reflecting its "respect for the natural and the pure" continues in the building's public areas such as the parlor floor, meeting rooms, and the lounges.ADAHAN ISTANBUL is a neat, sophisticated, warmly comfortable and joyful place in a great location . Enjoy the new definition of experiencing Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adahan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing