We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't mind staying here again”
Review of Adahan Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adahan Istanbul
Ranked #53 of 1,087 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Adahan Istanbul for two nights. Will go straight to the pros and cons of the hotel.

(+) LOCATION:. It is located very close to the Istiklal Street, a beehive of shops and restaurants full of people till the late hours of the night. The Galata Tower, the tunel and the Metro are only a few minutes walk away. Have fun exploring the side streets of the neighborhood.

(+) HOTEL: The hotel itself had very clean lines. It was able to maintain the history of the structure, but build in many modern conveniences as well. We liked the minimalist theme, especially at the rooftop restaurant. The bed, pillows and linen were all comfortable, and the amenities were ok.

(+) STAFF: The staff were helpful, and made every effort to address some minor concerns we had.

(+) ROOFTOP RESTAURANT: My favorite place in the hotel. The tables were well spaced, the furniture tasteful, and the air was refreshing. Not much choice for breakfast, though they can cook eggs for you if you ask.

(-) Wifi CONNECTION: We had some difficulty with the wifi connection during our first day. The signals were strong, but we could not connect right away. It eventually fixed itself, and the internet speed was fine.

(-) SOME ROOMS: We booked a room that looked out into a small courtyard (103A, I think). What we found weird was that the moment you entered the room, you had the shower stall (with a glass wall) on the right, and the toilet (also with a glass wall) on the left. If you want some measure of privacy when you do your thing, make sure that you don't get this room. I think they have 2 or 3 rooms of this kind. We had a rather small TV in our room, but you get used to it after a while.

OVERALL: If you want to be close to the nightlife of Istiklal street, then this would be the place for you. Good enough for 2-3 nights. Beyond that, I would look for another place that would offer more variety.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 136 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed there for four nights and enjoyed the excellent location as shops, bars and restaurants as well as the Galata Tower are extremely close. The Tuenel (funicular) is easy to reach and brings you down to the tram and bus station. It is cheaper to buy the travel card than the jetons.

We liked the fact that such an old building was renovated and re-designed in a very contemporary boutique style. The hotel has lots of character and a great roof top terrace where they served Turkish breakfast. The staff was helpful and nice and we could communiate in English ok.

Our room on the higher floor was really nice but too dark as it was showing to the very narrow courtyard. But this is a trade-off for the excellent location in the very narrow streets of Beyoglu. The only thing annoywing was that our room was underneath the breakfast room/restaurant so it was very noisy even late in the night.

Room Tip: Avoid higher floor rooms as you hear noise from the roof top kitchen and restaraunt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DagmarK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We took the havatas bus from the airport and got off at Tepebasi and walked 5 mins to find our hotel.

Check in was quick and we were shown to our room. The room was small and chic as portrayed by the website (albeit missing the fresh flowers). The towels and dressing gown were impressively soft and the soaps provided were lovely too.
Our room was well lit and faced a small inner courtyard. We were amazed how quiet our room was at night given the proximity to the bars close by.
The A/C worked very well as did the free wi-fi.

A classic Turkish breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace and was very tasty and filling. It included fresh juices and fruit, great tea, a wide variety of turkish cheese and bread plus the usual accompaniments and you could also order eggs. (Although we didn't know this until we heard someone ordering eggs).

The location is close to the Tunel funicular which is very useful to catch the tram/walk to Galata bridge and see the sights and also close to Istikal Cadessi. You are also surrounded by great eating and drinking options with rooftop bars not far away. (For food,we highly recommend the Istanbul eats book - we found it on the coffee table near the breakfast buffet).
Be aware, the area is hilly around Beyoglu and there are a few stairs to climb to the reception which may hinder some. (There is a lift to all floors once you're at the reception).

Staff were friendly especially at breakfast. They always remembered our drink orders. The reception staff were also happy to help when asked. Everyone we met spoke English adequately.

We enjoyed our stay at this property and would recommend it.
The reason we didn't rate it 5 stars is considering the room price, our experience was lacking little things such as the reception offering a map when you arrive and not promoting the social areas in the hotel.
We noticed a nice salon to sit in on our last day which had a bar area but wasn't used. We would have liked to be able to go to the terrace in the evening just for drinks but we there was no information to make you aware that it was possible. The restaurant for the evening had no menu and was not advertised. At breakfast, it would have been nice if the menu options were listed (ie which type of eggs/different choice of teas etc could be ordered).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Man_with_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were very helpful. On arrival they helped us paying the taxi fare.
The room was quite small, and it was bizarre to have the wash basin 20 cm away from the bed, and having the toilet and shower bathroom separate from each other. There was no natural light what so ever. They had extremely soft towels and bathrobes.
Breakfast was OK but the main issue was that they couldn't handle more than 5 people at the same time, having only 1 inexperienced person serving tea and coffee. Limited selection of cheese and usually there was none left.
The location is superb literally 2 minutes away the tube station and 1 minute away from Istiklal Street. Many good restaurants around the place.
The rate I payed for the hotel was on a discounted rate and I will stay at the hotel again at this rate but I will definitely NOT pay 140 euros per night for this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

You can feel that the owners of this hotel put their minds and soul into building up this building from its ashes to a natural wonder right after you put your first step into its doorway. The whole building is designed and furnished with natural and organic concept; the beds are first of its kind and made off 100% natural materials; couldnt get a much healtier sleep. The roof has a gourgeous view where you grab views o galata tower, sultanahmet mosque, ayasofya and halic river all at one glance. The service is very friendly where you feel at home. And the location is one of the best spots in town being very close to the nightlife of istanbul as well as very close to all of the historical sightseeing places. Metro is a 5 min walk from the hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berkyfromturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just had a spectacular stay in July 2012, 3 months after opening of this lovely hotel. Not only are the rooms spacious and cool, as others have commented, but the staff and owners are lovely. They are wonderful people and highly responsive in every way. One day Lail wanted us to go to one particular museum so much that she drove us there! The view from the roof terrace is breath-taking. I can't imagine feeling more welcomed or comfortable - an oasis and home in the midst of a bustling, fantastic city!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 102JuliaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed at Adahan Istanbul in June 2012 with my wife. We chose this hotel because of its ideal location in the heart of Beyoglu. You can find a wide variety of restaurants withing walking distance from the hotel.

Hotel Adahan is truly beautiful. The detail that was put into the restoration is very striking; it has a modern and contemporary feel within a historic building. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The restaurant has amazing views of the city and from its location on the top floor.

The staff wants you to have a good time during your stay. We we upgraded to a nicer room when we arrived. The morning we left, the restaurant was accomodating and opened 30 minutes early for breakfast so we could make our flight. Lale even gave us a small parting gift!

The Hotel Adahan staff seemed inexperienced to me. Some of the staff don't speak English, so if problems arise beware that you may have some frustration finding a solution. One of the staff actually opened the door to my room while we were inside. We had ordered two bottles of water to the room. I didn't expect the bellman to actually open the door and come inside, as I was walking to the door. One other thing that may bother some travellers is the noise. On certain sides of the hotel the noise from party goers on the street is very audible within the rooms. The rooms are not equipped with blackout curtains either, so be careful selecting a room if you are a light sleeper.

I think the hotel can be good hotel and with a few changes it will be a lot better. I sincerely wish them the best as they were very nice folks. I felt like the staff sincerely cared about us and wanted us to enjoy ourselves while we were in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cuerno82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#18 of 1,163 in Istanbul
262 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#61 of 1,163 in Istanbul
695 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#11 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,036 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#112 of 1,163 in Istanbul
491 reviews
Beyoglu
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
#190 of 1,163 in Istanbul
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adahan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adahan Istanbul

Address: Asmali Mescit Mah. General Yazgan Sok. No:14 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 1,087 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $106 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adahan Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADAHAN ISTANBUL simply graceful, purely timelessHoused in a charmingly restored, 1874 - grand apartment building in the very heart of the historic and chic Galata district, ADAHAN ISTANBUL truly redefines the Istanbul experience for our spirited guests. The building itself, the recent restoration, and the interior decor are neat, graceful, and respectful - so are the staff and the hotel's management philosophy. Guests stay in 40 individually refurbished living quarters, enjoying the timeless purity of custom designed wooden furniture and floors; cotton curtains, linen, and pillows; olive-oil soaps, and many other amenities.ADAHAN ISTANBUL's unique interior design reflecting its "respect for the natural and the pure" continues in the building's public areas such as the parlor floor, meeting rooms, and the lounges.ADAHAN ISTANBUL is a neat, sophisticated, warmly comfortable and joyful place in a great location . Enjoy the new definition of experiencing Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adahan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing