We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still working out the bugs here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar
Ranked #215 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
240 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Still working out the bugs here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This could be a nice hotel, but right now they are working out the bugs still.

When I was there for a short business trip, one elevator didn't work for part of the day, and a few odd difficulties appeared that were minor annoyances. However, service was very good and the hotel personnel were clearly trying to make it work. Rooms are good sized and clean.

One odd moment: the hotel agreed to participate in a one-hour "lights out to demonstrate commitment to the environment" one evening. This is a very bad idea, as dark hotel lobbies are not good places for visitors to walk. I actually went outside after a while, where I could at least see the ground in front of me. You might want to ask them if they are having any other "demonstrations" like this while you are there, especially if you thought you paid for a well-lit lobby!

Room Tip: If it is crowded, you may not want to stay on a high floor. However, the view is pretty good on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plamichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmetDogangun, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcılar for your recent visit.

We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel and would like to apologize for this experience.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcılar.

Best Regards,
Ahmet Doğangün
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    130
    66
    16
    12
See reviews for
44
51
35
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were extremely satisfied with the customer service we received from Sevig (front desk), she not only spoke English but was extremely knowledgeable about the area. Sevig helped us with reservations for massages and everything in between. After having horrible customer service from the Hilton in Izmir it was refreshing to stay at a hotel with a FANTASTIC staff. The breakfast was outstanding and service was a 10+.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
engins87, Sales Office Coordinator at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your comments. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, assuring our best service and attention.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice this year and, although I like the property very much it is very hard for the taxi drivers to find as it is relatively new. On my second trip it took 1 1/2 hours to get there from the airport when it shouldn't take longer than about 45 minutes (with heavy traffic). I had to explain to the taxi driver (who spoke no English) that he was going the wrong way, until he finally turned around. Even after visually finding the hotel it took him time to figure out how to get there with the divided highway in front of the property. This is certainly not the hotel's fault, but you need to be aware of this issue if travelling there. I strongly recommend having the address printed out if you don't speak Turkish (I did, but it didn't seem to help as he just focused on the word "Hilton" and was taking me to the wrong one).

In addition to being difficult to find, the room was noisy with a lot of squeeking and popping during the night. It was a little windy, but I was worried that it was going to prevent me from sleeping. Fortunately I either slept through it or it got better during the night (probably a little bit of both).

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms are very comfortable and modern, and breakfast at the restaurant was very good with an extremely friendly host.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockSteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmetDogangun, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcılar for your recent visit.

We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel and would like to apologize for this experience.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcılar.

Best Regards,
Ahmet Doğangün
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Maybe I was just not lucky, but staying two nights at 10th and 18th floor on windy nights guarantee you no sleep: the whole hotel was squeaking and it seemed like room will collapse! Even management left notice on door about possible unpleasant noises... Otherwise, hotel not far away from airport and as this was overnight paid by airline company, no complains. Still, if you are booking yourself and need quite night and a good sleep, think twice.

Room Tip: I guess that rooms on lower floors are not that squeaky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmetDogangun, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcılar for your recent visit.

We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel and would like to apologize for this experience.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcılar.

Best Regards,
Ahmet Doğangün
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
482 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The proximity to Ataurk is nice, but the property stands out for much more. I was upgraded to a magnificent corner room on the 25th floor. Amazing views and a superb room. Nice neighborhoods in walking distance provide shopping and eating options nearby.

Room Tip: get a corner room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozdess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
engins87, Sales Office Coordinator at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your comments. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, assuring our best service and attention.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had an early flight to catch (07:35) therefore we booked this hotel. Hotel is new, 45 minutes from center of Istanbul by car. We didn't find out how to get there by public transport. Hotel is new, staffs were friendly. Room is nice. The only thing I don't like is the wooden floor which make it feel less cosy for a 5stars hotel. Hotel is 10 min walked to a shopping mall, nearby there is nothing much to do. We were told to try the Iskandar Kebab restaurant few steps away from the Hotel (turn right from the entrance of hotel), there are currently under renovation (but only downstair). We were told there were closed due to renovation but found out later actually it was opened but at upstair (so we missed it :(). Hotel is 15 min drive to the airport, we got a complementary shuttle taxi arranged by the hotel which was great as they written on the hotel booking site that they have free shuttle service which in reality they dont have. Due to early flight, we didn't got a chance to try their breakfast. I don't mind to stay there again on my next trip to Istanbul (if I have late night arrival or early flight).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
engins87, Sales Office Coordinator at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your comments. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, assuring our best service and attention.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

the hotel live up to it's name, nice, big room and very friendly staff. I have to be in Istanbul a lot due to work and this is one of the few hotels that is not located in the city where almost all the staff can speak decent English. The food in the restaurant is nice, I love the roast lamb.
the only complain is there are structural noises especially during the night.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor has better view and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmetDogangun, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcılar for your recent visit.

We thank you for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Ahmet Doğangün
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
Ramada Kaya Plaza Istanbul Hotel
#133 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Euro Park Otel
#459 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Ibis Istanbul Esenyurt
#1 of 4 in Esenyurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton by Hilton Kayasehir
#237 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Besiktas
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
#205 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Beyoglu
Hilton Garden Inn Istanbul Golden Horn Turkey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar
Address: Cihangir Mah. D 100 Guney Yan Yol N 289, Istanbul 34325, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing