We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sayeban brings you near the real Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sayeban Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #117 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sayeban brings you near the real Istanbul”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I just came back from a week-long business trip to Istanbul and had an excellent experience at Sayeban Hotel. After visiting many cities around the world, I have discovered that the hotel that you select really has a significant impact on your whole experience. The people at Sayeban are very aware of this so they will make every effort to provide you with a wonderful stay and make sure you take home good memories about Istanbul.

First of all, the rooms are very clean and reasonably big relative to other hotels in Istanbul. The building has 5 floors and there is an elevator. The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis with great attention to detail. New towels are provided every day as well as soap, shampoo, gels, and toilet paper. The reception is very attractive and the staff is simply great; they are always there to help you with a big smile. Breakfast is another excellent thing about Sayeban. Breakfast takes place from 7.30 to 10.30 at the rooftop terrace with a great food selection including eggs, feta cheese, olives, tomatoes, yogurt, fruits, turkish chay, turkish coffee, simit (sesame bagels) and the list goes on and on. The view from the terrace is simply amazing and there is even a "lounge" section with Turkish furniture where you can just go to enjoy the view while having a nice cup of tea.

Although this was a business trip, I took my family with me so I would also recommend this hotel to other families traveling to Istanbul. However, keep in mind that this historical district can be a challenge for baby strollers. The hotel's location in the Sultan Ahmed district is another positive feature. You will be close to many important heritage sites such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Topkapi Palace. The streets around the hotel are "real" and not touristic. If you are a traveler like me who likes to see how the people live in the city and what sort of situations take place every day then this is the place. It is very safe even though you are in the heart of Istanbul. On the other hand, if you prefer to be at a 5-star hotel in the middle of a main street with many fancy shops and restaurants then look for another place. This is also reflected in the prizes of many things including restaurants, pastry shops, and convenience stores. For example, a bottle of mineral water will cost you a fraction of what you would pay in the more touristic zones. There are many good restaurants as you go nearer the tram station up the hill serving Turkish pizza, kebabs, mezze, soups, and many other delicacies. Also, there are many fish and seafood restaurants in a zone not too far from the hotel as you go down to the bay. The Beyazit tram line is only five minutes away so you may easily move to other parts of the city. However, be aware that the tram is at the top of a steep hill so be ready to make a couple of stops to refresh with a freshly squeezed orange juice or some water as you go up. Another positive thing is that the hotel is not located next to the tram. This will assure a good night's sleep. In contrast, the street is very busy with people during the day so be sure you do a lot of sightseeing during those noisy hours.

In summary, Sayeban is a very economical and reasonable option for people interested in visiting Istanbul. My family and I are very happy to recommend this hotel as we always check trip advisor ratings first before we book. I can confirm that the good reviews from other travelers are legitimate. Good luck and enjoy Istanbul.

Room Tip: Try to select a room on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joule36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    63
    23
    4
    16
See reviews for
39
85
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The service in this hotel was the best that we saw on our 2 week trip. The breakfeast on the terrace is great because the view is beautiful, also the coffee they serve is very tasty. breakfeast doesnt vary much from day to day but the view makes it always great anyway. the hotel is a boutique hotel with lots of modern touches. the room was very clean and comfortable. the hotel arranged all of our tours for us and overall made our stay in istanbul very enjoyable. located very close to the grand bazaar (where we had a great time shopping), due to it being new not all taxis know where the hotel is which happened to us twice. Also we think that we were overcharged for laundry service- 40 turkish lira for 6 items. the hotel is located at the bottom of a very steep hill, we had trouble going up this hill as a young couple, so beware if steep inclines are a problem. Finally, the hotel arranged for a dinner for us on the bosphorus with a "free driver service" it was really beautiful and i think all tourists should do this but beware, you can take the tram to the bridge where the restaurants are and find a place thats less expensive than the one that offers this service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed there in the beginning of this June - absolutely loved it. The location is nice for real travellers: those who know how to appreciate not only touristic sights but the very local culture itself as well. Grand Bazaar and a tram station are situated about 10 mins of walking up the hill, so don't put on high heels if unaccustomed to walk in them on the old pavement =) Right around the hotel are several small shops (actually, they seem to be everywhere in this marvellous city), some local businesses, and, of course, a lot of people, but not as much traffic, as the streets are pretty narrow. Thus, it is pretty quiet, as the hotel is not right by the main tourist attractions, and I always consider such location a remarkable advantage. In any case, I slept like a baby due to recieving so many immense impressions from the city during the day ))

Sayeban hotel is a brand new one, so take the chance while it is shining with polish. Though, as it is a family partnership, so to say, the owners do take good care of the business, so I bet it will bring satisfaction to guests for a very long time.

As I saw mentioned in reviews, yes, there is Wi-Fi (actually, a separate modem for each floor what I find very nice of the owners to do). Breakfast takes place on the terrace (if the weather is cold - in the room next to the lobby area) with a breathtaking view of the sea, a church (or a cathedral) right by the hotel, and the quieter part of the city itself.

Staff of the hotel are the most pleasant people I've seen in services rendering business. Besides Turkish, obviously, at Reception they speak German, English, and that's only what I heard. Everyone is polite and always ready to help with the itinerary, to give advice on how to get to touristic or not sights, where to go for shopping, dining, clubbing, etc. Taxis are available in a couple of minutes tops. Overall service is outstanding and, in my opinion, with such people on board, it will only get better with the time.

I'd recomment this hotel to any type of travellers: business, or family, company of friends or solo - this place will provide you with everything possible you may need to rest after or during exploring the splendid city of Istanbul!

Room Tip: Well, the sea view is the best anywhere, I suppose )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nargis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hotel had good location, excellent service and modern clean rooms. The roof terrace was a perfect place to have breakfast with a view to the Istanbul rooftops and Marmara sea. Service is excellent and you really get a feel of family runned hotel which the hotel also is.

Since the hotel is new and will surely get more demand after getting all these great rewievs, the value for money will go down. We paid 75 euro per night, which I feel is a real bargain. I strongly recommend even if the price will be higher in future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kordangeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed there for three nights and I thought it was a very good value for money. The room was very clean and I had a very nice view to a greek church. The best thing about the hotel is the rooftop terrace where breakfast is served, it has amazing views of the sea and it's just amazing to sit there and enjoy the view and the food. Everyone was very nice, from the guy working at the reception to the people working at the breakfast area. The only problem I found was that if you take the tram and then walk to the hotel, you have to go down a very steep hill, and it could be a problem when you go from the hotel to the main street, so for people in poor physical conditions or knee problems, it would be advisable to grab a cab from the hotel. I enjoyed walking in the area because you can see the real Istanbul and the location of the hotel is great! The main attractions are only 10 to 15 minutes away. There are some good options to eat around the hotel, nothing fancy, but the quality is very good and the prices very low.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fabrizio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Sayeban Hotel. This hotel was recently opened, and the two owners very hard to ensure that the hotel is well run. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast offered a wide variety of Turkish breakfast items - fresh bread, fruit, veggies, eggs, meats and cheeses along with juice, coffee and tea. It was still a bit chilly when we were there, but I was told that in the summer that breakfast will be served on their rooftop terrace! The two owners are VERY helpful - they helped us book our transportation for the rest of our trip.
The hotel is located in walking distance of all the major sights in the old city and only a five minute walk from the major tram line...but it is at the bottom of a big hill, so place would not be so great if we didn't enjoy exploring a city on foot. It is also a bit noisy at night, but I think this is a common problem throughout this city. The location may seem a bit far from traditional sights, but it is also close to some more traditionally local areas, and it was nice to explore some less touristy parts of the city. I would stay here again if I returned to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tandk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We left Istanbul a few days ago very pleased with our three days stay in Sayeban hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the friendly, helpful and hospitable staffs who are always ready to help you. The rooms are clean and comfortable (though a bit small) with a great view to Marmara Sea.
The surroundings look a bit strange particularly when you arrive there for the first time, but don’t worry it is not dangerous at all!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sayeban Resort & Spa Hotel
#911 of 1,141 in Istanbul
4 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,141 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amber Hotel
#103 of 1,141 in Istanbul
633 reviews
Skalion Hotel&Spa
#91 of 1,141 in Istanbul
881 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayeban Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayeban Hotel Istanbul

Property: Sayeban Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kadirga, Mimar Hayrettin Mah. Gedikpasa Cad. Cadirci Camii Sok. No:25 | Sultanahmet - Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sayeban Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing