We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sultans Hotel

Sultans Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sultans Hotel
Ranked #395 of 1,031 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
261 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“An Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel that was quite unknown to people around this area .We had great difficulty to get around.The hotel is in front of Kadirga park and most of historical attractions like Blue Mosque,Hagia Sophia,Hippodrome etc and sea are at walking distance.Overall the hotel is clean.Breakfast is good.But the rooms and the bathrooms are very small.Even there's no space in the room to move around and to stand near the window.The television system was quite complicated and just few Turkish channels were played.
Staff is helpful and cooperative but can speak basic English only.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naureen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed in a standard double room. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. The hotel is located in a perfect place, walking distance to all the main attractions such as Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia museum. The tram stops are 8 minutes walking away. Their website provides useful information about istanbul.

Room Tip: Suggests "standard double room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ozzy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked an economy room at Sultas hotel for our stay in Istanbul.
The pros: the hotel is very close to the main attractions (Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque - 10-15 min away on foot). We had a very good breakfast each morning on the terrace of the hotel. The rooms were cleaned every day; the staff very polite and helpful. You can park in the street, right in front of the hotel for a daily fee. There are many shops and restaurants nearby.
The cons: Is was a bit cold at night. There is the AC that you can use for heating but it's hard to manage and a bit noisy. Also, the economy room is very small - if you have a bigger suitcase and you put it on the floor there is no more room to move - literally. My husband is 1.85m and the bed was small for him.
Overall, we liked this hotel for the location and the staff, we would stay again and would recommend it to other travellers.
If you're coming by car and have a GPS be sure to look for Kadirga street or Kadirga park - as there are a lot of hotels named Sultans Hotel in the area.

Room Tip: if you want more space or are travelling with children, choose the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiana_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We made our reservations for the room on Booking.com and none of the photos showed the room we were about to stay in. We were given a small, undergroud room that was very stuffy and basic. The TV was not working either. We were very disappointed with how the room turned out to be. We had to also pay for the extra person staying with us even when we were not given an extra bed! The staffs weren't friendly either. When we argued about how the room was different from what we saw on booking.com, they started raising their voice at us. We felt cheated and this is the worst hotel experience we've had. Here's to remind you to be careful when you make your reservations online!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Rekkem, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We travelled in a group of 19 students. We stayed in Istanbul for 1 week in the beginning of February. The hostel was very basic, but has everything you need.
I stayed in a room with 6 beds, and that was a little bit too small, especially when you don't know the other people in the room. But luckily, there was no stranger staying in our room. The beds were comfortable and you had enough blankets to keep you warm. You didn't need to bring your own blanket or pillow.
The noise at night was a little bit disturbing, but luckily i brought ear plugs.
The breakfast in the morning also was basic (1 kind of bread, 2 different cereals, 5 choices of drinks and the basics to put on your bread) yet, you always had enough till lunch.
The english of the people who worked there, was not of a high quality, but that has its charmes.
The hostel has a really good location: you had everything you need in a walking distance.
The only thing really annoying was the fact that the street was filled with guys who tried to collect costumers for their restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

+
Really good location, calm area but close to all the tourist spots of Sultanahmed and The Grand Bazar.
Extremely clean! Nice and fresh interior and furniture
Good price
Nice rooftop terrace
Good breakfast!
Osman the manager really really nice and friendly and helpful!
Great service, they offered breakfast even the day we arrived since we were going to miss the breakfast the day after due to eraly flight - they still gave us coffee and some pasteries and serials even the second morning before the breakfast had started.
They cleaned our rooms and gave them to us at 11 even, even that check in was at 14
The airport pickup/drop offs (55 TL) are more expensive that taxis (35-40 TL from airport - 50 TL to airport), but the drivers are good in contrast to Istanbuls many crazy taxi drivers with taxis lacking seatbelts. The cars are Mercedes minivans in good shape.
-
Beds comfy but short for us (our height 180-182 cm)
Extremely small rooms, absolut no room for luggage. However there is a minibar and closet, maybe that place would be better in handy for luggage storage?

If you don't have a big luggage and want to stay in Istanbul for one night or two, this is you spot!

Room Tip: Room 101 and 102 next to reception. Maybe some noise problems there?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varoojan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in a private double room for one night while in Istanbul. We waited too long to book an additional night at our hotel and since the Sultan was close we decided to stay there. On the bright side it is in a great part of town and we actually noticed a very mixed age group of people staying there- not just young party types. The hostel staff was very friendly and helpful. Despite the downstairs being a bar & restaurant it was not noisy in our room. Our room was clean and had a private bath. Breakfast was included. I thought the bed was comfortable enough.
Some things you would want to consider if staying there:
1. In our experience the bar & restaurant staff were not particularly friendly or helpful.
2. Our room was 50 euros! We payed almost half that a block away for a very nice room.
3. Our private bathroom has no separation between shower and toilet & sink area so everything was soaked after a shower.

Perhaps if you are staying there in the dorms it may be a typical dorm experiencing but I think it was a bit expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#230 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Hotel

Property: Sultans Hotel
Address: Kadirga Meydani Sk 17A, Kucuk Ayasofya Mh, | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sultans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Sultans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing