We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY CLEAN AND WALKING DISTANCE TO MAJOR TOURIST SIGHTS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yeni Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yeni Hostel
Ranked #372 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“VERY CLEAN AND WALKING DISTANCE TO MAJOR TOURIST SIGHTS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice clean basic rooms. Good if you're on a tight budget and don't mind sharing facilities. Rooms very basic but clean fresh. Bathrooms and WC very clean. Owner and staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: top floor nice and quiet, but no lift in building so be prepared to climb a few flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnysMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    46
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
24
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

It's clean, tidy cheap and in a great location. I was sick from a nasty dinner that I had in Troy and they staff were so lovely with looking after me! I'd stay here again. :) I don't think it is the place to stay if you are looking to meet other young backpackers though

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed in a double room. Room was clean on arrival, but not cleaned for 4 nights.
Toilet and showers very, very clean.
Great location - close to tram and major sites.
No communal area so no atmosphere. Hardly saw anyone else who stayed here
Owner is gruff, but nice enough.

You get what you pay for. This is cheap and great for groups of people or couples (backpackers obviously) - however solo travellers might find it a bit lonely

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller755953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I don't normally stay in hostels when I travel and prefer something a little more luxurious and comfortable, however, I did want to meet some travellers while in Istanbul and I thought staying in a hostel would be a good way to do this, however, this hostel had a terrible vibe and atmosphere. Firstly, there were a few very intimidating Turkish men constantly hanging around in the common area who made me feel very uncomfortable (I'm a young female). I found it difficult to just 'hang out' because of this. Also, during the two days I was there, I noticed no other young people were just hanging out in the common area; could this be because they were also intimidated?

It was however cheap and the service was good in terms of checking us in, cleaning our room, storing our luggage etc. However, I just didn't feel very comfortable here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hostel is very good, good price for the accomodation you get. The location is fantastic, close to all the sights and to the tram and the port. The rooms are nice, the toilet and showers are cleaned with frequency, we never found them dirty. The windows close properly, so you don't hear much from the streets, only bad thing is that the walls and doors seem very thin and it's sometimes noisy from outside/beside your room. But definitely a good place to go for little money! The young guy at the reception is very friendly, but the old one is very, very rude and impolite. That's the only thing I really didn't like in the hostel, and why my service-points are bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Clean and cheap stay for Istanbul, great location in Istanbul Sultanahmet area, with lots of sights within walking distance. Construction ongoing near hostel, so earplugs might be an idea. Private rooms, hot showers all day everyday. Near to the Tram stops also. Ideal for backpackers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzyshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hostel provide rare single rm with resonable price in Istanbul Sultanahmet area, location is near perfect, few mins walking distance from Aya sofia, blue mosque and stone throwing distance to the ferry where can go a lot of major locations of Istanbul, both Euro and Asian side.
But....... Right now a infrastructure construction site is next to it and it's 24hrs working!!! My 1st night was f**ked by the construction site, 2nd day I just requestes to a non construction site face rm and it is much more better. It is said the construction work will last until end Sep at least, so make sure your rm doesn't face it during this period.
Another shortage is the father of the hostel owner doesn't speak much English so communication with him got some problem.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#497 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,028 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#740 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#466 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#537 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#276 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeni Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeni Hostel

Property: Yeni Hostel
Address: Nobethane Cad. Dervisler Sok. No: 12 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Yeni Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeni Hotel has soundproof rooms with free Wi-Fi, just a 5-minute walk from Gulhane Park. Just over a quarter mile from Eminönü Ferryboat Terminal, the hotel organizes car rentals.Yeni Hotel has simply furnished rooms with shared or private bathroom facilities. Some rooms have air conditioning, a wardrobe and a side chair in the sitting area.There is complimentary tea and coffee. There are also many restaurants, cafes and bars around the hostel.At Hotel Yeni, the front desk is open throughout the day and helps with pick up and delivery of guest laundry. The staff also provided information about local attractions. A shuttle service to Atatürk International Airport is also offered (charges apply).Hotel Yeni is a 5-minute walk from Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Gülhane Tram Stop is 257 m away. Fatih is a great choice for travelers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favorite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yeni Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing