We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice prices”
Review of YenI Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YenI Hotel
Ranked #450 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Its situated in small street in heart of the old city, great location for sightseeing at fair price.
There is a very nice restaurant "CAN Cafe and restaurant" which offers very nice priced meals. Combined, you can save much overall, if you are looking for simple hostel and friendly prices. Wi-Fi is also included.

Room Tip: Ask what do you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VojinSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 122 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

My second stay in Yeni Hostel was in November 2012, when I've finished my trip in Middle East , Turkey and Greece.Very uncomfortable my first room, no 13, too noisy.Finally , after two nights it was possible to change with my old room no 34, last floor.Clean hostel, fantastic location .The manager and his son were polite, no complains.
Some negative points:no cleaning in room, no free coffee or tea.My room was not cleaned for 4 days.
An old uncle working inside the hostel was too interested for women, especially for me.May be it was a problem with my European sensibility but I was not very happy to be touched by him. It was difficult to explain to a rough old man my pretensions.His attention created some stress for me.
I was in Istanbul for a trip not for a flirtation.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room no 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This property is simple, clean and well priced with a fantastic location for accessing the big tourist sites: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Bazaar, Galata Bridge. It is very close to Sirkeci railway station and when we arrived at 7am from the overnight train from Sofia (which was a bus from the border at Kapikule) the staff were very welcoming. The only minor issue was the noise from the echoey hallways (expected from a lovely old building) and street, although our sleep wasn't overly affected by it. Look into getting an Istanbulcard travel card if you'll be travelling over the Gelata bridge a lot on the trams or using the Bosphorus ferries.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

DONT WASTING your time TO SEARCH ANY OTHER PLACE WITH THE SAME PRICE.

I gonna describe Yeni Hostel as follows:
1--Location, location and location.
2--FRIENDLY STAFF( Specially Dear MUSTAFA)
3--Perfect price

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hossein M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I don't do reviews so to see me adding a review means a lot. The location of the Yeni Hostel is ideal and easy to find (5~15 minute walk to most things you will see in Istanbul). Upon arrival you will be warmly greeted by the staff (or likely the owner). Have questions about the city, where to eat, what to see, getting tickets they will help you and have things taken care of pronto for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I decided to stay in the old city at the beginning of my trip in Turkey to have better access to sites downtown.
Pros: location, in the heart of Sultanahmet, next a tram station.It was cheap to stay here, 19 euro/night in October.Price/quality was good for me.Friendly receptionists, ready to help with your luggage.There are different rooms, it's better to see it before.Very clean hotel, immaculate shared bathrooms and corridors.Free wifi.Very easy to take a shuttle minibus for airport paying 5 euro in advance.
Don't worry for check-out.This is not yours problem.They will carry your luggage in the communal area without asking.You are free to walk in the city, the check-out is their problem , not your.
Cons: the room wasn't clean every day.I couldn't see any free tea or coffee but those were included in the price.Breakfast was not included, but a tourist has a lot of options around the place.No lift, just a long and difficult staircase.The European toilet was extremely small, just one for every floor.Poor light in the room, it will better to come with your night lamp.Bring an extension cord if you carry electronic gear; two outlets situated very far.Also a map of the area because the staff does not provide .
No aircon, not necessary in October.
Stayed in room 34, last floor.

Room Tip: The best floor is the last.Try to insist for free coffee or tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My lodging criteria for my three-week stay in Istanbul: 1) budget prices; 2) private room; 3) good location. Yeni Hotel/Hostel's price for a single room was less than those in the hostels and the reviews were pretty good, so that's how I selected this lodging.

Glad I did. In the heat of the summer, although there was no a/c, the floor fan kept the room cool enough. I shared WC and shower facilities, and with rare exception, there was no waiting for either.

The rooms in the hotel are pleasantly painted and furnished. Free wifi that was good most of the time. There's a nice outdoor seating area. A comfortable interior lobby with a television. Modest kitchen facilities for doing your own cooking; a refrigerator. Free coffee and tea.

The owners and staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. They work immediately to respond to any concerns.

The location is in a high-tourist area, and that has pros and cons. Pros: The hotel is between two tram stations; easy walking to Sultanahmet Square (with Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, Topkapi, Basilica Cistern), the Spice Bazaar, the Bosphorus. Some cons: The gauntlet of restaurant and shop touts that you've got to pass through every day is a real downer.

It can be difficult to find the place for taxis. Know that Yeni is two doors down from the Maywood Hotel; it's across the lane from Cotton Box store; it's down at the end of the lane from Red River Restaurant.

The Trabzon Restaurant that's about 20 steps from the hotel (go out the hotel door and turn left up the lane) is a reliable, inexpensive restaurant for any of the meals, with friendly, laid-back owner and staff. I found any of its eggplant-based dishes to be their best.

Room Tip: Yeni's a historic hotel; not all rooms are equal. There are different shapes and sizes. So if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Livingrootless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#567 of 1,163 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#593 of 1,163 in Istanbul
16 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#488 of 1,163 in Istanbul
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#499 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#740 of 1,163 in Istanbul
67 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#319 of 1,163 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YenI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YenI Hotel

Address: Nobethane Cad. Dervisler Sok. No: 12 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $16 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — YenI Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeni Hotel has soundproof rooms with free Wi-Fi, just a 5-minute walk from Gulhane Park. Just over a quarter mile from Eminönü Ferryboat Terminal, the hotel organizes car rentals.Yeni Hotel has simply furnished rooms with shared or private bathroom facilities. Some rooms have air conditioning, a wardrobe and a side chair in the sitting area.There is complimentary tea and coffee. There are also many restaurants, cafes and bars around the hostel.At Hotel Yeni, the front desk is open throughout the day and helps with pick up and delivery of guest laundry. The staff also provided information about local attractions. A shuttle service to Atatürk International Airport is also offered (charges apply).Hotel Yeni is a 5-minute walk from Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Gülhane Tram Stop is 257 m away. Fatih is a great choice for travelers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favorite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your YenI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing