We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yeni Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yeni Hostel
Ranked #372 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I don't do reviews so to see me adding a review means a lot. The location of the Yeni Hostel is ideal and easy to find (5~15 minute walk to most things you will see in Istanbul). Upon arrival you will be warmly greeted by the staff (or likely the owner). Have questions about the city, where to eat, what to see, getting tickets they will help you and have things taken care of pronto for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    46
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
24
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ORADEA,ROMANIA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I decided to stay in the old city at the beginning of my trip in Turkey to have better access to sites downtown.
Pros: location, in the heart of Sultanahmet, next a tram station.It was cheap to stay here, 19 euro/night in October.Price/quality was good for me.Friendly receptionists, ready to help with your luggage.There are different rooms, it's better to see it before.Very clean hotel, immaculate shared bathrooms and corridors.Free wifi.Very easy to take a shuttle minibus for airport paying 5 euro in advance.
Don't worry for check-out.This is not yours problem.They will carry your luggage in the communal area without asking.You are free to walk in the city, the check-out is their problem , not your.
Cons: the room wasn't clean every day.I couldn't see any free tea or coffee but those were included in the price.Breakfast was not included, but a tourist has a lot of options around the place.No lift, just a long and difficult staircase.The European toilet was extremely small, just one for every floor.Poor light in the room, it will better to come with your night lamp.Bring an extension cord if you carry electronic gear; two outlets situated very far.Also a map of the area because the staff does not provide .
No aircon, not necessary in October.
Stayed in room 34, last floor.

Room Tip: The best floor is the last.Try to insist for free coffee or tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My lodging criteria for my three-week stay in Istanbul: 1) budget prices; 2) private room; 3) good location. Yeni Hotel/Hostel's price for a single room was less than those in the hostels and the reviews were pretty good, so that's how I selected this lodging.

Glad I did. In the heat of the summer, although there was no a/c, the floor fan kept the room cool enough. I shared WC and shower facilities, and with rare exception, there was no waiting for either.

The rooms in the hotel are pleasantly painted and furnished. Free wifi that was good most of the time. There's a nice outdoor seating area. A comfortable interior lobby with a television. Modest kitchen facilities for doing your own cooking; a refrigerator. Free coffee and tea.

The owners and staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. They work immediately to respond to any concerns.

The location is in a high-tourist area, and that has pros and cons. Pros: The hotel is between two tram stations; easy walking to Sultanahmet Square (with Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, Topkapi, Basilica Cistern), the Spice Bazaar, the Bosphorus. Some cons: The gauntlet of restaurant and shop touts that you've got to pass through every day is a real downer.

It can be difficult to find the place for taxis. Know that Yeni is two doors down from the Maywood Hotel; it's across the lane from Cotton Box store; it's down at the end of the lane from Red River Restaurant.

The Trabzon Restaurant that's about 20 steps from the hotel (go out the hotel door and turn left up the lane) is a reliable, inexpensive restaurant for any of the meals, with friendly, laid-back owner and staff. I found any of its eggplant-based dishes to be their best.

Room Tip: Yeni's a historic hotel; not all rooms are equal. There are different shapes and sizes. So if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Livingrootless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

With few reviews of Yeni Hostel and the low room rate, I did not expect much, besides it’s the cheapest place in Istanbul (versus all my previous stays).

I walked in and got a room facing a construction at the back of the hotel but closing the (sound-proofed) window filtered the noise.

Location was perfect, for people who loves walking, Yeni Hostel is positioned between Sultanahmet and the Galata Bridge and the Bosphorous which are both about 7 – 10 minutes walk away. But if you’re the lazy type, then it’s also between two tram stops – Gulhane and Sirkeci – which are a couple of minutes walk away. Gulhane is the nearest station. From these tram stops, you can take the tram to most tourist sights of Istanbul. Very convenient.

The father and son tandem of Mr. Ahmet and Mustafa manning the reception and helping guests with their luggages is a very welcoming. The father is a charming old man - the son is equally polite, extremely friendly, accommodating and sincerely helpful. The building has no elevator but the staff will insist on carrying your luggages - tip is not tolerated.

The room as expected was basic, the shared 2 toilets and a huge shower room in every floor were clean. The toilet is small but very clean and never run out of toilet papers, whereas the huge shower room (not cubicle) has hot water. Luckily, the 2 single rooms facing each other are both just beside the toilet. Rubber slippers available inside the rooms.

Surprisingly the first room I got was big enough (approx. 12sqm) for a hostel, high ceilings with a cabinet, a big desk and a small couch, single bed was comfortable, towel provided, strong internet inside the room was a bonus.

No breakfast but there are several places neighboring the hostel where you can take a good breakfast, and also down the road along the tram track is a discount supermarket where you can buy foodstuff. Tea and coffee are available free of charge at the cafeteria area at the ground floor.

After 3 nights I got uncomfortable staying in the room (with a number 13 on the door and the key) plus I got sick with a swollen face from gums infection. So I’ve requested a transfer to the room facing it (14) which was accommodated of course. Although 14 was a smaller room without cabinet but with several hooks to hang clothes, smaller desk with chair but with a sink inside the room. Mr. Ahmet even offered me an antibiotic for my swelling gums though I already bought a box.

Don’t expect any luxury, this ain’t the fourseasons or ICs or accors but the treatment of the staff towards their guests is luxurious enough -- priceless.

At EUR19/night for singles - this is a gem for travelers/tourists on a budget. I’ve seen several cram packed hostels in both Taksim and Sultanahmet area with 4 to 10 beds in one room at almost the same price of a single room (shared toilet/shower) at Yeni Hostel. Should you need privacy of your own space at a dorm price, this one is definitely unbeatable….that is, if you can find it. I hope you won’t, only the privileged must. =)

This is a gem. Extremely recommended = for travelers on a budget who aren’t looking for luxury.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front side if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheShoppelifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Single traveller, booked a single room with shared bathroom. Room was modest (cupboard, table, chair, bed) but very clean and nice. It had been recently refurnished and painted, and furniture was also quite new. Towel included, heating working and silent during night. Toilet and a shower were separated along the floor (two toilets and one shower at least in my floor, the fourth) cleaned everyday, hot showers always available, so if you are used and don´t mind shared bathroom accomodations you will find utilities in this hotel just perfect, clean and practical. Staff was really very nice and will always help you in things such as booking a cheap shuttle to airport, offering tea, about the free wifi available.. I found them very nice and trustable indeed. Location is perfect just steps away from the Topkapi Palace or the Galata bridge and you can really walk to everywhere from there. Relation price-quality of the place is excellent and I would booked back there without any doubt in a future trip to Istanbul. I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LTA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

- The room was really small, the view on window was extremely poor, the furniture is old.
But:
- Free Wi-fi available.
- The man at reception was kind, but he didn't speak too much English.
- The location is great!
- It was one of the cheapest option during the period I stayed in Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george2210_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#497 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,028 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#740 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#466 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#537 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#276 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeni Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeni Hostel

Property: Yeni Hostel
Address: Nobethane Cad. Dervisler Sok. No: 12 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Yeni Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeni Hotel has soundproof rooms with free Wi-Fi, just a 5-minute walk from Gulhane Park. Just over a quarter mile from Eminönü Ferryboat Terminal, the hotel organizes car rentals.Yeni Hotel has simply furnished rooms with shared or private bathroom facilities. Some rooms have air conditioning, a wardrobe and a side chair in the sitting area.There is complimentary tea and coffee. There are also many restaurants, cafes and bars around the hostel.At Hotel Yeni, the front desk is open throughout the day and helps with pick up and delivery of guest laundry. The staff also provided information about local attractions. A shuttle service to Atatürk International Airport is also offered (charges apply).Hotel Yeni is a 5-minute walk from Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Gülhane Tram Stop is 257 m away. Fatih is a great choice for travelers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favorite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yeni Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing