We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talat, hospitality from the heart”
Review of Green House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green House
Ranked #19 of 1,203 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Talat, hospitality from the heart”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Talat, the owner, is a very fine person, the quintessence of turkish hospitality, friendly and helpful: he extra bought for me a scale to wage my luggage for the airport and he called for me the rental car service, so I should not bring back my car to the pickup location through the caotic Istanbul's trafic. My family and I feel very good in his hostel, a wonderful atmosphere. The locationi is great and walkable to Taksim or the main shopping street.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green House i, Owner at Green House, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Stefano,
thank you for your kind words,
We do our best to make sure our guests have great time in the amazing Istanbul.
We help to arrange sightseeing, tours outside of the city to Cappadocia, Pamukkale, Canakkale and many other places, we can help you if you need to rent a car, find a good place to eat and many many other things. Because we host people from all over the World and we want everybody to feel in Green House Hostel like at home.
Kind regards,
Talat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    49
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
23
89
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aktau, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

There were 3 days in Istanbul. Review chose the Green House. I recommend this place: rooms are simple, clean, has everything you need for living. In practice, we only stayed overnight. They lived in a two bedroom apartment. Where children were running and jumping. The owner Talat hostel like a Hollywood hero - a handsome man with a dazzling smile, courteous and helpful. It helped us with the definition of the routes of movement, provided the transport card, with which we are well saved travel expenses. The hotel is a five minute walk from Taksim Square and Istiklal Street. In terms of transport accessibility is very ideal.

Room Tip: apartment on the 1 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kulyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green House i, Owner at Green House, responded to this review, February 14, 2017
Dear KUlyash Thanks a lot for your Review:)
and hope your Children are fine too.
i think i am goıng to be model in germany:))
hope to see you again
Have a great day
Talat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The guy who runs this place (and sleeps on the sofa at night), is really friendly! He showed me every little part of the hostel when I first got there. He offered me a coffee and made me feel like I was a "guest", even though I was only going to be there for one night. This is big as a lot of hostels treat you like a scummy backpacker.

I liked the rooms: there was good distance from one set of bunk-beds to the other side and the ceiling was high, which gave the sense of space. I liked the picnic tables outside the hostel. The hostel is also close to a cheap supermarket as well as inexpensive places to grab a doner. It's walking distance to Taksim Square and the area is more down to earth than the obnoxious Old City where you are accosted left and right by people on the street.

Downsides of the hostel are that there aren't enough bathrooms for everyone and the toilet is in the same room as the shower, which makes everything wet and gross. It was also a bit weird that the staff needed to sleep on the sofa because they had nowhere else to go. :(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green House i, Owner at Green House, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Christopher,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Green House Hostel, my team and I are happy to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality during your stays.
It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Talat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was great!Hostel looks very properly,more than i expected.Rooms are clean which is very important.Air-conditioned,with breakfast.Atmosphere is wonderful,it's so warm,people are friendly,always ready to help.That make the difference from any other hotel where i have been.
Hotel it's in a very good location in Istanbul,near to Taksim square.Environs is very safe and pleasant.And something which is very important,it's safe,because every guest has his own locker in room and the reception is open 00-24,with cameras.That was the thing that really surprised me and welcomed me.And for sure i am coming back to Green House hostel!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are very colorful and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovana17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green House i, Front Office Manager at Green House, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Jovana,
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay - I'm excited to hear you enjoyed us so much.
It's also great to read our location and security measures made your own experience even better!. Thank you again for your recommendation and high ratings and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Istanbul!
Best regards,
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beograd
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was 10 days here and it was really nice...Rooms are very clean, bright and spacious....Peple who stay here are very friendly...and people who work here too..always asking do you need somthing....you can really ask them for everything.... I was in one other hostel in Istanbul for New year, but it was not so good...This hostel is very nice...it is in center of town...very near Taxim, which is very important....
Here i met so many interesting people...so certainly i will come back soon...:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent a few nights in 4 bed room. The room itself was good and the en suite bathroom was good too.

The staff made the place worth it though. Talat and Anna were always asking if we needed anything and were really helpful, and you could always find people just chilling out front. The small lady who would come into our room and clean while we were all half asleep was a total legend though. She made the place what it is. We even got to see her climb out the window of our room on the 3rd floor to get her laundry. What more do you want??

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adnan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Honestly speaking, these people are super friendly. For me, it was an unexpectedly amazing stay over in that unknown. I went to travel 14 European countries and Istanbul was my final destination. The end always ends well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Zohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#14 of 1,203 in Istanbul
266 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,203 in Istanbul
736 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,203 in Istanbul
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,203 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Juliet Rooms & Kitchen
#18 of 1,203 in Istanbul
103 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Lighthouse
Cheers Lighthouse
#5 of 1,203 in Istanbul
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House

Property: Green House
Address: Inonu Mahallesi, Cumhuriyet Caddesi, Papa Roncalli Sokak No: 15 | Elmadag, Taksim, Sisli, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,203 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner every year since 2013 … what makes us so successful? Top location – right in the city’s centre. Taksim Area, which is the heart of the entertainment and social life of Istanbul but we are just a few streets back from the hustle and bustle ensuring you still get a good nights sleep! A great yet cheap hostel nestled in the centre of Istanbul. Great value accommodation in a central location for travellers to Istanbul on a budget. The ideal starting point for sightseeing, shopping and nightlife! Hostel nearest to Havatas Airport Shuttle Bus! Subway, ferry, train, taxi station, trams and buses all are close by and easy to use. We are happy to give you directions wherever you want to go. Most of the city’s main attractions such as Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazar, Bosphorus, Dolmabahce Palace, Galata Tower and the famous Istiklal Avenue are in walking distance or short trip with public transport. Istanbul Conference Centre is just 5 minutes away from the hostel. Groups and Walk-ins are welcomed! Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel is located in a historic building, which means no elevator however we have a variety of rooms available to suit every traveler. We have 6 person mixed/female dormitories and if you are a family or a couple in need of a night to yourselves we also have plenty private rooms available Our rooms are spacious, decorated in light colours-equipped with an air conditioner (real air conditioning, not just a fan) and central heating system, WiFi that works in the rooms and specially designed wooden bunk beds which never squeak and are very comfortable. All rooms have private showers so that you don’t have to wander the halls in a towel and hot water is available 24 hours a day. Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel hostel is where comfort and warmth meets vibrant energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing