We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place in istanbul”
Review of Green House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green House
Ranked #16 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best place in istanbul”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

it is really the best hostel in istanbul with very good prices and very near to taksim,,,it is a must go when in istanbul either for business trip or just a vacancy with very good people,,,it is really comfortable with a very good value

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fahd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    49
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
23
89
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked for our first two nights in Istanbul at the Green House, and arrived with much excitement. But not only didn't they have our booking (which we booked for in Feb and got email confirmation for), but they also weren't willing for us to pay the rate that was advertised on the website through which we booked. They said it was a mistake - but was not willing to take any responsibility and didn't apoliogise once. We felt very unwelcome and that it was our mistake somehow. I know mistakes happen, but surely the customer should be important and at least made feel welcome. The owner was quite unreasonable and we had to really stand our ground before he was willing to give us a slight discount. There also wasn't space for both of us that night and so we had to share a single bed in a mixed dorm.

All in all, it is a tidy and clean hostel - with free internet and good basic breakfast. Very small though. But after that we choose to not stay another night and we left at 9am.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanineCapeTown_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green House i, Owner at Green House, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guests,
We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay, We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately in this case we failed. We didn't receive your reservation and at the same time it was not confirmed anyhow by us, this is why we didn't have enough space to offer you separate accommodation.
We have built a reputation for excellent service and hope you can give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.
Kind regards,
Talat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the best best thing is the very good attention Talat gave to us. Everything we needed he attended. I was with my parents whom never been in hostels, only hotels. So they've got scared for normal hostel things like shared toilets and other stuff. Than Talat helped us a lot in this case, giving us a private apartment in front of the hostel and treating like hotel. The hostel is good for backpackers and is getting better for even more kind of travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liolopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat-Ono, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's a comfortable hostel with low-prices and good-value. It's location is about 10 min walk from Taksim sqr., where you can find many option of public transportaion (the tram to the Aya-sofia or buses to the Sabhia-Gokchen air-port) or the Istiklal street.
It is clean, in a quiet neighborhood, with many facilities around.
Breakfast is included, and though it is very basic, it is still very nice to start your day with "chay" (tea) and some food (anyway - you can easily find your breakfast in the city and not spending much money).
The stuff is freindly and informative.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itamar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green House i, Owner at Green House, responded to this review, February 14, 2017
Dear itimar Thank you a lot For your recomandation we are happy that you liked our hostel
hope to see you again
Have a wonderful day
Talat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked for 3 nights, just ready reviews and almost all of it were positive! And we were not disappointed (not even a bit!) We reached there around 2am, Bella was so nice & very accommodating, upgrading us to family room, even if we only booked for double room. She was soooo nice! And also in the morning, we met Talat, who we spoke to before coming to Istanbul! He was equally nice, telling us about the way & all the things we need to know. The place was so clean, you wouldn't need to worry that it's a hostel or something. The place is amazingly located in Taksim where everything is near and accessible. Seriously, we didn't even need tour guide for anything (except for Talat's tips :)) I would definitely recommend this hotel...

Room Tip: there is no pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelle705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

at first i was very worried about going to a hostel...but from the first day i stayed at the hostel i knew that it was a very clean and it has the atmosphere to get to know people,talat helped me alot to travel in istanbul...by the way this hostel has a very important location in taksim,you want to spend some good time and meet people!!you should pay the green hostel a visit,and you get to save some money..Thank you Green hostel...

Room Tip: My advice is any bed in the green hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bassam i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very nice hostel. Clean and attractive. In a very convenient location. And for hikers and those who come to work or study. In a few minutes you can get to any transport. Do not spend a lot of money to live in apartments. In Istanbul, you will find where to spend it later. So if you do not look for enthusiasm and gold, the hostel for you. Dear visitors we need a place for secure, comfortable and economical lodging. Istanbul is a city of dreams. Year-round in the history of color. Enjoy the city and live in such wonderful places like this hostel. In the beginning, read the information about the hotel. This hostel in which 6 rooms, kitchen, living room and a place to rest. And do not look at hostole mistakenly elevators, jacuzzi and sauna.)))) Green hostel - for a comfortable and pleasant accommodation.!!!! And not a hotel five stars. And look at least valuable for hotels, hostels and luxury hotels. And choices. Luxury holidays in the room if you do not need the city. Or decent housing and many interesting hours and days in the city bustling with joy.!!!

Room Tip: If you want to save, you need to stay in the room for girls or a mix room. Very comfortable and dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Konak Hotel
Konak Hotel
#299 of 1,141 in Istanbul
393 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,495 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#9 of 1,200 in Istanbul
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,200 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,200 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Juliet Rooms & Kitchen
#19 of 1,200 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House

Property: Green House
Address: Inonu Mahallesi, Cumhuriyet Caddesi, Papa Roncalli Sokak No: 15 | Elmadag, Taksim, Sisli, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner every year since 2013 … what makes us so successful? Top location – right in the city’s centre. Taksim Area, which is the heart of the entertainment and social life of Istanbul but we are just a few streets back from the hustle and bustle ensuring you still get a good nights sleep! A great yet cheap hostel nestled in the centre of Istanbul. Great value accommodation in a central location for travellers to Istanbul on a budget. The ideal starting point for sightseeing, shopping and nightlife! Hostel nearest to Havatas Airport Shuttle Bus! Subway, ferry, train, taxi station, trams and buses all are close by and easy to use. We are happy to give you directions wherever you want to go. Most of the city’s main attractions such as Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazar, Bosphorus, Dolmabahce Palace, Galata Tower and the famous Istiklal Avenue are in walking distance or short trip with public transport. Istanbul Conference Centre is just 5 minutes away from the hostel. Groups and Walk-ins are welcomed! Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel is located in a historic building, which means no elevator however we have a variety of rooms available to suit every traveler. We have 6 person mixed/female dormitories and if you are a family or a couple in need of a night to yourselves we also have plenty private rooms available Our rooms are spacious, decorated in light colours-equipped with an air conditioner (real air conditioning, not just a fan) and central heating system, WiFi that works in the rooms and specially designed wooden bunk beds which never squeak and are very comfortable. All rooms have private showers so that you don’t have to wander the halls in a towel and hot water is available 24 hours a day. Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel hostel is where comfort and warmth meets vibrant energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing