We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Quiet as Expected”
Review of Baylosuites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baylosuites
Ranked #60 of 1,260 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed May 27, 2013

There are very many pros and just a few cons. The pros are well documented and so I won't repeat.

We stayed in the 3rd floor suite for six nights. This is very well appointed, and fairly spacious for one couple. There is one very funky, cumbersome aspect to this top floor suite. For some unknown reason, the entry door is set back from the stairs. (the floor plan on the website is not correct) and so you have two entry doors - one into the kitchen, and one into the foyer. So, when you are inside the suite, to get to the kitchen, you have to go through the tiny bedroom, which has two doors that swing into each other, making it a royal hassle to move to and from the kitchen. This could easily be fixed, and make the circulation far better, if the entry door were moved four feet out toward the stairway, just like the other floors. You kind of get used to it, but it really is a silly situation. The Baylo team really should seriously consider moving the door.

Being that this suite is the top floor, it means that the fabulous roof terrace is directly above you. This is great since it is only a short flight up to morning coffee or evening wine. But, if you happen to have partiers in the other three suites in the building who use the terrace at night, or as a smoking lounge, as was the case for part of our stay, and you are can't sleep through this kind of thing, don't choose the top floor. There are signs up on the terrace to be considerate and quiet and all that, but even a mouse could not open the funky terrace door quietly, or climb the echo-y stairs quietly, or slide a metal chair quietly.

The last, and most important, con for us is the grade school that is directly next to Baylo Suites. Unbelievably, we did not see any mention of this fact in any on the TA reviews. Imagine our surprise on Monday morning, our first jet-lagged morning in Istanbul, at 8:30 am the sounds of well over a hundred school children (grades one through six would be my estimate) and their school bus-vans began arriving directly outside the front door to Baylo Suites, and directly outside our bedroom window three floors down. I would call it extremely loud and noisy - probably impossible to sleep through and quite annoying unless you find the sounds of a children's playground soothing. There seemed to be an outdoor playground somewhere at the school that was continuously noisy from 8:30 to around 4:00 or so. We were always up before the 8:30 noise started, but for us the noise really shattered an otherwise peaceful morning, and we were usually out the door for sightseeing shortly thereafter. Most days, we returned home after school was over, and quiet, so we really weren't around all day to hear it. I didn't really want to be there during the day because of the noise.

I would give Baylo Suites five stars if the street was as quiet as expected. It was generally quiet on the street outside at night and in the morning before 8:00 am since it is a residential street for at least a block in both directions.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank STL_traveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baylosuites, Owner at Baylosuites, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that your experience was not as excellent as we would have hoped it to be. Please allow me to explain/shed some light on some of the valuable points you made so that our future guests can also benefit from these explanations:
- Our building is a registered historical asset, therefore we were restrained from moving walls and doorways. We had many discussions with architects during our two years of renovation and the current layout was the best solution we could come up with. There are other factors we also needed to take into account, in addition to the historical nature of the building. I wish we had had the opportunity to discuss our renovation process in person when you were staying with us so we could explain some of these finer points.
- We have decided to restrict the terrace use until 11pm in the evening going forward (winter season it will be even earlier). We simply had never received a complaint about noise from the terrace before last week and we did not want to restrict our guests. Since there are only four apartments, the terrace is very rarely used in the evenings. But, our most important concern is to create as quiet and comfortable an environment as possible - to the extent that it's in our control - so if even a single instance occurs, we feel obligated to adjust our rules.
- Your point about the school located across the street is valid. Looking at our recent reviews, two other travelers mentioned the school in their reviews but it apparently did not bother them as much. Unfortunately, in the current school year, another school was integrated with this one and minivans were required to bring transport these children to it. Otherwise, the school has a much smaller number of kids and no transportation is necessary since it is a local school. Good news is that we were informed that this integration will not continue in the coming year (i.e. no more minivans) and the size of the school will be significantly reduced. Moreover, the school will be closed for the summer holidays from mid-June to mid-September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Baylor suites is an absolute gem in the heart of Galata. About 100 metres from the Galata tower overlooking the harbour, it is an ideal location to explore Istanbul.

We stayed in the top floor apartment. It has a separate bedroom, living room and kitchen. The apartments are really well appointed. There is an excellent kitchen, stocked with provisions for your first day although they lasted a few more for us. The bathroom is lovely, great shower, plenty of space to keep your toiletries, and towels. The apartment has good air conditioning too. Nothing was lacking.

The assistance we had from Zeynep, Deanne, and Zenep's mother was fabulous. I was very unwell on one day of our trip and they went out of there way to find a doctor, locate a good hospital if required, and offered to get medicine if we need it. Fortunately none of this was required, but the extra effort was so greatly appreciated.

Nearby there is a good supermarket, fruit stores, good baklava, everything you need for breakfast and a snack. We didn't cook other meals, why when there are so many choices in Istanbul.

Above the top floor apartment there is a terrace which has great views of the old city, spice market and mosques. They have wine and beer available to drink on the terrace, with an honour system in place. Another very nice touch.

If you have trouble with stairs this is not the place for you, firstly the apartment is in an old, beautiful building and there are tight stairs to go up and down. More importantly, Galata is very hilly, and much of the time you are either walking up or down. This adds to the charm and beauty of the place, but be aware of this before you book.

There can be some street noise, particularly on Saturday night. It did not bother us, and other than Saturday it was quiet.

This is a wonderful place to stay, incredibly friendly and helpful service, beautifully renovated apartments, and a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitzroytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had an excellent efficient communication with Zeynep for our reservation options. We were travelling to the Mediterranean coast before our reserved stay as Baylosuites, and they could accommodate a couple of our suitcases before our stay. We were travelling in family of parents and two young teenagers. Everything, and I mean everything surpassed our expectations. We stayed in the 3rd floor suite, and were blessed by the magnificent roof few stairs above (on the other side we had to climb 3 flights to get up to the flat). In the suite, there are 2 rooms, one smallish room with queen size bed, and a wider living room with the sofabed, which we eventually left it as a bed for our entire stay. There is an elegant modern décor sofa by the windows, with no view less than the grand Sulaimanieh Mosque itself! Elegant bathroom with excellent natural toiletries in its areas.

A full modern kitchen with smartly prepared everything, yes Everything, you need! They could put less stuff which might pass unnoticed, and could also put more stuff which prove of little use (like putting a coffee machine with no coffee for a short term visitor), but that was not the case. All what you can think of as useful in a kitchen was elegantly there.

We were greeted on arrival by Zeynep, with her natural hearty hospitality and welcome orientation. I had to meet an Istanbuli friend shortly, and could not find a better present to take with me than an elegant book about Aya Sofiya history and development in the antique bookshop owned and operated by Zeynep mother in the ground floor. The book was a new print but its elegant paintings were copied from original lithographs owned by the mother, who was very helpful in recommending the right present. Zeynep helped to get the taxi, and spent some time to make sure of the address of the restaurant we were going to, and convey those to the driver

The owner family were soon to travel for a family vacation early the following morning, but we kept receiving the excellent kind attention by their colleagues. Esra and other staff were always keen to offer help in every possible, kind, yet professional way. In a couple of instances, we were quietly enjoying the incredible scene on the rooftop terrace, and felt some staff is coming to make the daily arrangement of the place, but withdrew very quietly till we had our time there. The in-house assistant would come courteously to help my wife in rooms touch-up when needed

The building renovation was carried out to be a green building according to a US specialized agency (sorry forgot the name, and Zeynep explained how that could be achieved with so many details that can be easily overlooked by the casual observer, including percentage of plantations, wall thickness, brick type etc.. The outcome is the wonderful building we see today.

Location is on the slope of the hill between Galata Tower and Galata Bridge, so moving around included always some ascent and descent, but this did not bother us at all. The beauty of the place and its surroundings is very worth the little effort. All conveniences are an easy walk from the building.

There are some places you pass by and love, and love to get back, and this is one of them. I miss my morning coffee on that table on the beautiful roof of baylosuites

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyecairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here with our two children and were delighted to have found the place. The apartments have been thoughtfully renovated so you have a sense of the old building while enjoying quality fittings including great showers. The location is very convenient - you can walk down to and across the Galata bridge to the main attractions. The rooftop garden gives you a sense of being in the city while you can relax with a drink and a game of backgammon. It's a sign of their service that the 'honesty bar' wine was only a few pennies more than you'd pay in the supermarket. True, there is the school in the mornings of weekdays, but this is not a city one visits to have a lie-in and the sounds of children going to school make you feel like a local resident! Most important of all were the staff who were a delight - Zeynep and her team went out of their way to accommodate our needs. They were always so cheery and happy to see us, and gave honest advice and offered little extra services - ordering taxis, looking things up about events, etc. We went to the islands for a break from the city but we left their early to return to Baylosuites! Top marks to Baylosuites!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vik b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I almost don't want to write this review for selfish reasons. I plan to return to Istanbul and I DON'T want it to be impossible to book or the rates go up due to the positive reviews!!! My friends and I booked a 2 bedroom apartment which was perfect for our needs. The location perfectly central to walking anywhere or taking transportation. We didn't want to stay in the center of the tourist center and this was perfect. Just below the Galata Tower and a few blocks from the wonderful shopping/dining street of Istiklal Cd. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds. A great shower and the furniture modern and simple. (just our style). Zeynep, her mom Selmin and their colleague Esra couldn't have been more hospitable and professional. They made us feel right at home. As a welcome, they had provided some basic needs such as coffee, bread, jam and wine in our kitchen. Any questions or needs we had they would have the answers and if they didn't know the answer right away they would have an answer for me within minutes if not a few hours. We stayed in Istanbul for 6 nights and I have to say lealving Baylosuites was one of the reasons I was sad leaving this beautiful city. And to top it off, if you go to the top roof top patio, the almost 180 view is just amazing. The only things one needs to be aware of is there is no elevator so if you are in the 3rd or 4th floor this could be strenuous if you don't do well with steps. Zeynep and Selmin, thank you again and I hope to see you in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: If you don't do stairs very well, then ask for the 1st or 2nd floor rooms as there is no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pmarks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Firstly I would like to apologise to the lovely Zeynep hanim and her mum Selmin hanim for taking so long to post this review.

We (husband, myself + 2 children - 7yrs and 7mths) stayed at Baylosuites from 6 July - 13 July finishing off a wonderful 6 weeks traveling around Turkey. We arrived in rather a dramatic fashion after having problems with the car rental company to find Selmin hanim (Zeynep was away when we first arrived) calm and sympathetic and ever so helpful.

When we walked into our gorgeous apartment we instantly fell in love. It was even more beautiful than the photos on the website and spotlessly clean. Selmin hanim helped arrange food to be delivered to our suite even though it was late and made us feel very welcome.

We stayed on the 2nd floor and it was perfect for our needs. From the lovely products in the bathroom to the comfortable bed it was perfect in every way! In the morning we found that the fridge had been stocked with enough to have a light breakfast! Everything had been thought of!! We sat every morning in the kitchen having our breakfast overlooking the street and beautiful beautiful buildings. The apartment has a luxurious feel. My husband really enjoyed the sonos system and as well as the large flat screen tv. The furnishings are beautiful and the apartment feel light and airy.

We were very lucky as, from our second night, we were the only residents in the building and it made us feel even more special. I was a bit worried on our first day exploring when we discovered there was going to be a jazz concert up the road that evening (though I do love jazz) but i have to say we didnt hear a thing it was sooo peaceful and we enjoyed quiet nights every evening.

The entire area is beautiful. We wandered the streets every evening with our 2 children and felt completely safe the entire time. The suites are so close to so many wonderful restaurants and cafes and there is even a jazz bar just up the street. You can walk to istikal street which is alive day and night and just the most amazing place to see. We had no problem getting around to the ferries or to the trams and found it is simply the most perfect location to explore Istanbul. The suites are situated on a hill which lead up to the galata tower but we just found it even more exciting and a bit of exercise.

We met Zeynep a couple of days after we arrived and found her to be just as lovely as her mother. I cannot stress enough how helpful, kind, courteous and professional the service is.

I had seen a restaurant reviewed in a travel book and had emailed to book, before we left for our holiday, but was told they would be closed during our stay. The restaurant happened to be across the road from the suites and were friends of Selmin hanim, who after speaking with the owners, managed to get us a reservation the night before they closed for their holidays! Wow! We were completely blown away, as we are from Australia we may never have had that opportunity again so it just an extra special gesture.

On our last morning we decided to have breakfast on the roof terrace and were provided a selection of pastries to enjoy. It was a final gesture of hospitality that sealed our perfect stay.

I have absolutely nothing negative to say other than we were very sad to leave!! We will without hesitation stay at Baylosuites again next time we are in Istanbul.

Thank you again Zeynep and Selmin!!!! Wonderful!
Duarte family xx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussietraveller062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Even before our arrival to the Hotel we had an excellent feeling about our stay : Zeynep responded to all our questions and queries without any delay and even proposed the car seat for the pick up for our little girl . During our stay the same attention was given to us and each time we needed something we received the service of a 5 star hotel ! The appartement is very well decorated; the terrace to which all the residents have access is beautiful. The kitchen is fully equiped and even for additional items Zeynep and her team arranged it for us (highchair for the meals of our girl) The location is also perfect as you can walk to Sultanahmet (around 45 minutes with a toddler) and the neighbourhood (Galata Tower) is really nice. We could do all our shopping in a supermarket which was not too far (Carrefour) and we had a shops next to our location. We will definetely recommend this hotel to our friends who will visit Istanbul. And if we return to Istanbul we will visit Zeynep and her team again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 998AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#875 of 1,178 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#71 of 1,178 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,178 in Istanbul
669 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#104 of 1,178 in Istanbul
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baylosuites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baylosuites

Address: Galata Kulesi Sokak, No. 24 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,260 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $73 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baylosuites offers serviced apartments with design furniture, modern amenities and state of the art technology, in the heart of Istanbul, just a few steps from the Galata Tower. The apartments combine modern elements with historical character. There is a common terrace in the building with magnificent views. The building is a restored historical building that has been awarded a LEED silver certificate by the US Green Building Council for its environmentally responsible features. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing