We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel on Golden Horn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel on Golden Horn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Location is excellent. I like the fact that the hotel is not in a tourist area. It's very central, views are spectacular, and once you get your bearings, it's easy to navigate.
Our room was great, with a view of the Golden Horn.
Staff, especially Aca at the front desk, couldn't do enough for us.
We'll be back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    113
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
102
306
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed 4 nights recently in the HHK hotel. We were very grateful to have a complimentary taxi pick up from the airport which made arriving very easy. As it was a holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary, the staff very kindly upgraded us for our last 2 nights to a bigger room with a beautiful view. We found all the staff extremely polite and helpful. Although the hotel is situated in a run down part of the city, we had no problems walking the short distance to all the wonderful sights. The hotel is a beautifully restored building with lots of character and has wonderful views of the Golden Horn and the Bosphorus. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Golden Horn are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 62JoanneB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights during April in this wonderful old wooden house with one of the best views on Golden Horn and Bosporus in town. The rooms are well fitted, clean and very comfortable. The ladies at the reception were extraordinary kind and helpful, as well as the other staff members.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

coming to the hotel by metro in the evening we were warmly welcomed by the girl at the desk. We got a welcome drink and a lot of information material including map together with tips for touristic attractions.

In principle it is easy to get there by metro but the change from the tram T1 to Metro M2 is a bit different as the maps are showing. You have to walk about 5 minutes from Aksaray south to Yenicapi. Friendly people at the tram stop showed us the way. The stop then on the very new bridge at halic station is right on the middle over the golden horn with tremendous views. For finally getting to the hotel in the south direction we had to cross a main street with much traffic which is a bit stress packed with luggage. Then a few meters left from the bridge is a street and a good lighted sign to the HHK hotel. A minute up the hill round a curve and there it is. The last buildings before reaching the HHK are in a really bad condition but the hotel building itself is like a diamond after that other buildings. The hotel is well secured with video cameras.

We had to ring and were immediately welcomed. My room was very well equipped and looks like a luxury room with a small table and nice stucco everywhere. The bed is perfectly suspended. The bath with a shower is modern with all you need. A large flatscreen was also in the room but I had only 4 nights and preferred to visit Istanbul than to hang up at the TV. And very best of the hotel is the view from the roof top over the golden horn by drinking a beer and relaxing from a long walking day.

Near the hotel down the hill and then left we found a good and cheap snack bar which was enough for the late first evening.

For the way back to airport we decided to book a taxi transfer at the hotel desk. It was cheap with 30Euro and avoided us from crossing the main road with luggage and the way from the Metro to the Tram. It was a large car for us 3 and the driver was very good. Comparing the way by metro / tram with the taxi solution I would say that both are Ok, but the taxi is faster than I thought in before and is more secured but without any adventure.

The whole stay in Istanbul was very fine. We appreciated the very modern metros and trams there but with this location for staying, the way to the attractions in the sultan achmet part can be done by walking through impressing market streets a basars. The asia side can be reached by the new marmara metro under the halic or better by ship. We tried both. Every transport is cheap with about one euro for one trip and the waiting time to the next metro / tram is short also in the evening. We had to buy 3 different chips for the normal tram and metro, the marmara metro and the ferry boat to Üsküdar. But there are always helping service people at the stations. The service is ideal in Istanbul trams and much better than in my home hometown Bremen in Germany.

Enjoy!
Peter

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed here for just one night in April 2014 and had a lovely stay. Upon check-out, the staff went above and beyond in assisting me with finding the location of my friend's apartment where I needed to go - while giving me excellent and unbiased tips for the remainder of my stay in Istanbul and the rest of Turkey. Great people, and a fantastic view over breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We visit Istanbul with my wife for our honey moon. It was the best experience ever! The rooms were very beautiful and clean. We asked for a room with a view and we had a very nice and beautify suite.
In my opinion although the hotel is in the old area of Fatih is top notch opportunity for real "travellers" and not tourist to experience Istanbul. The hotel is in the best spot as you can take the metro and the tram and within 15-20 min you are everywhere. My recommendation is to walk uphill around the area of the hotel towards suleymaniye camii. You can buy in the street that is parallel to the Mosque incredible handmade silver traditional craft works and carpets in the 1/3 price of that of Grand Bazaar which i also visit and in my humble opinion does not worth to buy anything. You can find more authentic and cheap things in the old and poor streets where hard working people live. So take advantage of the opportunity that this hotel offers!
The hamam and the sauna were incredible! You just ask it from the people of the hotel and you can relax alone with your spouse:) The facilities are really well organised.
Breakfast was delicious, traditional and in abundance! Also the restaurant food was unbelievable with excellent room service!
Listen to the Mrs. Lutfiye about her proposals for the traditional hamam (10 min form the hotel-unbeliavable experience) and the restaurant she will propose you in Galata bridge to eat fish! Originated from Greece and knowing about fish i honestly can say that not only they serve the best fish but they know how to make you feel special.
I thank everybody of the personel for their help of making me and my wife feeling beautiful, respected and special. We will remember this trip forever until we visit you next time. For any more info about istanbul for more curious travellers feel free to ask!

Room Tip: If you want a room with view just ask in advance. Some rooms are in the lower lever and you might no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeKopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you want to stay in an excellent location close to all the major sights and public transport links, with an incredible view and extremely friendly and helpful staff then this is the place. The hotel is in an historic area with real local character, the immediate vicinity may be run down but is friendly and authentic. The hotel is very close to the relatively tranquil and beautiful Süleymaniye mosque. All the must see sights are within a healthy waking distance and navigating the back streets is a test of map reading but rewarding. The city is a veritable shopping paradise, take an empty suitcase!

The hotel staff were super friendly and helpful in giving excellent advice and booking activities and restaurants. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is a fine old building which has been recently restored and our room was comfortable and had character. The choice at breakfast was not vast but still more than adequate and satisfying. We would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLRHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#48 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#96 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel

Property: Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Address: Demirtas Mah.Hayriye Hanim Sok.No:19. | Suleymaniye, Istanbul 34116, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HHK Hotel Hayriye Hanim Konagi was built in 1850 and it is an original Ottoman mansion house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing