We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with friendly service. A definite yes!”
Review of Kumru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kumru Hotel
Ranked #58 of 1,051 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with friendly service. A definite yes!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I enjoyed staying in the hotel for a number of reasons:

* Location: a 5-10 minute walk to the main attractions; tram to get around the city; lots of places to eat.
* Service: Prompt e-mail responses to all of my questions, including about a cooking school (thanks Melissa for your patience!); great recommendations for near-by restaurants; friendly staff; option to have a taxi pick me up at the airport (which was important for me as a solo female traveler);
* Hotel: Quiet, super clean rooms with modern design; comfortable beds; good breakfast.

The bottom line is a definite yes!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucernaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
70
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

First time visit to Istanbul and this was a great choice for hotel! It's only about a 10 minute walk to many of the main attractions like the Blue Mosque, Hagiya Sophia, and Basilica Cistern. And if you need to get anywhere else via tram, the Sultanahmet stop is in the same area as well. A tasty breakfast every morning is included. The only caveat is if you're staying in your room later into the morning on a weekday, the noise from the children playing outside and the school can get annoying.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drizellaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't be happier with our selection of Kumru Hotel, on our recent trip to Istanbul. Our family was celebrating a special birthday for my husband, with a surprise visit from our 3 stateside, adult children. Melissa was extremely helpful in aiding this surprise and coordinating plans with our children. She helped suggest great restaurants, with options for those suffering from jet lag (eg. close by and casual places). We had rooms on the same floor, so it felt like home. The size of our double room was fine for us parents, while the triple/quad room was perfect for the "kids".

The location of this hotel is really great for walking to all the amazing sights in Sultanahmet. It is a bit hilly, but that helped work off some of those calories taken in from all the wonderful food Turkey has to offer.

The Kumru breakfasts were always yummy, with lots of selection. We especially enjoyed the fresh squeezed orange juice and the nice filtered coffee.

All the staff (especially owners Melissa and husband Abdul) were very helpful. One night Abdul even drove us to dinner, when it was raining.

We think anyone would find Kumru's hospitality enjoyable for a lovely visit to Istanbul!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank charles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

when i first find Kumru Hotel in Tripadvisor, i immediately decided to book it because i was going to give up searching for that type of place i was searching for.after that i sent some e- mail to check my questions . the sense of responsibility,patience and positive vibe of dear Mellisa ,made me sure about this decision.it was a little complicated journey for me.my wife and i had decided to meet each other after 5 mounths in a third country and we finally choose HERE at beautiful Istanbul as our 10th private rommantic wedding anniversary destination.and i thnx god because it could be a "7night(mare)s package in hell " with my sensitive & super attentive,hygienic "gorgeous wife".the staff were so friendly and hospitable.the location is excellent.we enjoyed breakfast.the only negative point was the view of terrace to some neighbours' rooftops.thank you Kumru.honestly!you were the best part of this journey to a beautifull city .

Room Tip: "suit that we stayed in was so big
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rezamoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the standards of the rooms, they were modern, chic and comfortable. Not to mention very clean and fresh. The owners and the staff made us feel very welcome and were happy to give tips and advice on where to eat, what to see etc.

The breakfast buffet was served on the roof top terrace, and it was really nice and well prepared with lots to choose from. Very good value for money alltogether!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlo558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of spending the new year in Istanbul at the Kumru hotel. The hotel itself is amazing. The location is perfect to explore the city. For a first time visitor to Istanbul this type of hotel is perfect, valuable price and great service, specially Melissa, Abdul, Murat never get tired to give you all the useful informations about the city. We will highly recommend this hotel to all of our friends. Thank you very much Melissa & Abdul for looking after us so well! Kati & Esley from London

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week's vacation in Istanbul, and were delighted with our stay at the Hotel Kumru. The owners (Melissa and Abdul) were most welcoming and hospitable, and one of the pleasures of our time there was relaxing in the lobby with them and other guests, with a complimentary glass of hot tea. Abdul and Melissa were always available to assist with tour suggestions or answer any questions, and we were made to feel quite at home. They were so helpful to book a tour ahead online (for guests who requested it) which meant there would not be a long queue upon arrival at that location. It is a small hotel with a lovely ambiance. Our room was spacious and so comfortable (loved the beds, bathrobes and slippers!) The complimentary breakfast on the sun-filled 4th floor was a most delicious start to every day. (More than 32 items, we counted!) It is a short and most pleasant walk from the hotel, through the cobblestone streets and the neighborhood of restaurants, shops, hotels and residences to the plaza. From there, you are at some of the key places in the Sultanahmet: the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia, the Topkapi Palace, and more. We loved being close enough to walk to so much we wanted to see - and then getting on a tram to other areas was very easy to do. Our last day, we had to be at the airport quite early in the morning. The hotel employee on night duty called the taxi service for us, only a five minute drive away - taxis available 24 hours daily, so no concerns with pickup at any time. We highly recommend the Hotel Kumru if you are seeking a boutique hotel in the Sultanahmet area, with personal attention and service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,150 in Istanbul
756 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#629 of 1,150 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,150 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumru Hotel

Property: Kumru Hotel
Address: Kardirga Liman CAD Yusufaskin SOK No 6, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,051 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kumru Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Kumru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing