We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Kumru"; it has become a great part of a sweet memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kumru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kumru Hotel
Ranked #56 of 1,028 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tehran, Iran
1 review
“"Kumru"; it has become a great part of a sweet memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

when i first find Kumru Hotel in Tripadvisor, i immediately decided to book it because i was going to give up searching for that type of place i was searching for.after that i sent some e- mail to check my questions . the sense of responsibility,patience and positive vibe of dear Mellisa ,made me sure about this decision.it was a little complicated journey for me.my wife and i had decided to meet each other after 5 mounths in a third country and we finally choose HERE at beautiful Istanbul as our 10th private rommantic wedding anniversary destination.and i thnx god because it could be a "7night(mare)s package in hell " with my sensitive & super attentive,hygienic "gorgeous wife".the staff were so friendly and hospitable.the location is excellent.we enjoyed breakfast.the only negative point was the view of terrace to some neighbours' rooftops.thank you Kumru.honestly!you were the best part of this journey to a beautifull city .

Room Tip: "suit that we stayed in was so big
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rezamoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
69
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the standards of the rooms, they were modern, chic and comfortable. Not to mention very clean and fresh. The owners and the staff made us feel very welcome and were happy to give tips and advice on where to eat, what to see etc.

The breakfast buffet was served on the roof top terrace, and it was really nice and well prepared with lots to choose from. Very good value for money alltogether!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlo558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of spending the new year in Istanbul at the Kumru hotel. The hotel itself is amazing. The location is perfect to explore the city. For a first time visitor to Istanbul this type of hotel is perfect, valuable price and great service, specially Melissa, Abdul, Murat never get tired to give you all the useful informations about the city. We will highly recommend this hotel to all of our friends. Thank you very much Melissa & Abdul for looking after us so well! Kati & Esley from London

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week's vacation in Istanbul, and were delighted with our stay at the Hotel Kumru. The owners (Melissa and Abdul) were most welcoming and hospitable, and one of the pleasures of our time there was relaxing in the lobby with them and other guests, with a complimentary glass of hot tea. Abdul and Melissa were always available to assist with tour suggestions or answer any questions, and we were made to feel quite at home. They were so helpful to book a tour ahead online (for guests who requested it) which meant there would not be a long queue upon arrival at that location. It is a small hotel with a lovely ambiance. Our room was spacious and so comfortable (loved the beds, bathrobes and slippers!) The complimentary breakfast on the sun-filled 4th floor was a most delicious start to every day. (More than 32 items, we counted!) It is a short and most pleasant walk from the hotel, through the cobblestone streets and the neighborhood of restaurants, shops, hotels and residences to the plaza. From there, you are at some of the key places in the Sultanahmet: the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia, the Topkapi Palace, and more. We loved being close enough to walk to so much we wanted to see - and then getting on a tram to other areas was very easy to do. Our last day, we had to be at the airport quite early in the morning. The hotel employee on night duty called the taxi service for us, only a five minute drive away - taxis available 24 hours daily, so no concerns with pickup at any time. We highly recommend the Hotel Kumru if you are seeking a boutique hotel in the Sultanahmet area, with personal attention and service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed at the Kumru this past Summer and had a wonderful time. It was the nicest hotel I stayed at during my trip and the only one with working air conditioning. They have an amazing breakfast and are within walking distance of many of Istanbul's most interesting landmarks making it easy to get stated early and go exploring.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I apologise for the late review we stayed at Kumru Hotel 19th October 2013 with our 2 children for 3 nights. The rooms are really well laid out and BIG! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like VIP guests. Abdul was so charming and helpful and Melissa who is all over this business and knows how to run a great hotel. The breakfast here is the best we had in Turkey, fresh pomegranate , delicious yoghurt, fabulous eggs and entertainment of shadows of birds on the rooftop canopy! The breakfast is seriously good! We felt so comfortable in this establishment we returned to stay an extra night after we took a 5 day trip out of Istanbul. Abdul recommended us a fantastic carpet store that was an event in itself. This hotel is small, personable and very safe. The building is old and it does experience small issues like hot water going out BUT everything is fixed with a phone call and i am sure the owners will be making amendments in the low season to provide a better stay because they are proud and motivated. Walking around at night is no problem, there are many restaurants and little stores close by as well as a hamam just 5 minute walk . I feel privileged to have stayed in their hotel and will return to stay again and recommend this place for other travellers. On the noise notes! Istanbul is old and has many residents, life goes on. Yes there is a school but it's not noisy, yes the call to prayer can be heard but take a reality check of where you are. Use the airconditioner or heating to dull noise, play rain music on your iPod or just suck it up and go for a walk in the amazing neighbourhood this Hotel is situated in. There is life all around you and it's wonderful just to walk the winding streets and get lost. Ask to check out the decor in the rooms , Mel has a keen eye for design and colour! thank you so much

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Deary Andy - Thank you for your kind review, we sincerely enjoyed having you and your family here and getting to know you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your remarks are spot on with what we have tried to achieve with the hotel, our location and some of our quirks all these comments will help other travelers be able to decide if we are the right hotel for them. And thank you for noting some of the imperfections as well as these assist us in prioritizing what to work on next. As a note we did get the water heating fixed - after only two years it was developing an issue where it would shut down if it was idle - especially in the evening and as this happened during a holiday week here, we were not able to get it fixed immediately but had to restart it every time we noticed it was out. But all is well now and we are working on a few other projects this winter and hopefully on your next visit there will be additional improvements and upgrades!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We enjoyed staying at Kumru hotel. The best part for me was the personal service we received from Melissa and Abdul. They really want you to enjoy your stay in Istanbul, and their recommendations for restaurants, shops, and sites were on the mark. The location was very good - a short walk to main attractions in the historic part of Istanbul.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry_from_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#15 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#21 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saruhan Hotel
Saruhan Hotel
#13 of 1,028 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumru Hotel

Property: Kumru Hotel
Address: Kardirga Liman CAD Yusufaskin SOK No 6, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,028 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kumru Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kumru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing