We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lifetime goal achieved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kumru Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kumru Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,025 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lifetime goal achieved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I apologise for the late review we stayed at Kumru Hotel 19th October 2013 with our 2 children for 3 nights. The rooms are really well laid out and BIG! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like VIP guests. Abdul was so charming and helpful and Melissa who is all over this business and knows how to run a great hotel. The breakfast here is the best we had in Turkey, fresh pomegranate , delicious yoghurt, fabulous eggs and entertainment of shadows of birds on the rooftop canopy! The breakfast is seriously good! We felt so comfortable in this establishment we returned to stay an extra night after we took a 5 day trip out of Istanbul. Abdul recommended us a fantastic carpet store that was an event in itself. This hotel is small, personable and very safe. The building is old and it does experience small issues like hot water going out BUT everything is fixed with a phone call and i am sure the owners will be making amendments in the low season to provide a better stay because they are proud and motivated. Walking around at night is no problem, there are many restaurants and little stores close by as well as a hamam just 5 minute walk . I feel privileged to have stayed in their hotel and will return to stay again and recommend this place for other travellers. On the noise notes! Istanbul is old and has many residents, life goes on. Yes there is a school but it's not noisy, yes the call to prayer can be heard but take a reality check of where you are. Use the airconditioner or heating to dull noise, play rain music on your iPod or just suck it up and go for a walk in the amazing neighbourhood this Hotel is situated in. There is life all around you and it's wonderful just to walk the winding streets and get lost. Ask to check out the decor in the rooms , Mel has a keen eye for design and colour! thank you so much

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Deary Andy - Thank you for your kind review, we sincerely enjoyed having you and your family here and getting to know you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your remarks are spot on with what we have tried to achieve with the hotel, our location and some of our quirks all these comments will help other travelers be able to decide if we are the right hotel for them. And thank you for noting some of the imperfections as well as these assist us in prioritizing what to work on next. As a note we did get the water heating fixed - after only two years it was developing an issue where it would shut down if it was idle - especially in the evening and as this happened during a holiday week here, we were not able to get it fixed immediately but had to restart it every time we noticed it was out. But all is well now and we are working on a few other projects this winter and hopefully on your next visit there will be additional improvements and upgrades!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
68
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We enjoyed staying at Kumru hotel. The best part for me was the personal service we received from Melissa and Abdul. They really want you to enjoy your stay in Istanbul, and their recommendations for restaurants, shops, and sites were on the mark. The location was very good - a short walk to main attractions in the historic part of Istanbul.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry_from_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel has a good side: excellent location, the room is well decorated and the owners are nice. But the bad side is bigger. We had to change our room because it was near the breakfast terrace, so much noise we could't sleep. The second one was faced to a school, the same problem, too much noise since early morning. So 4 nights without a good sleep. The bathroom toilet was not cleaned in both rooms. It was hard to take a bath due to the water low pressure and trying not to wet the floor was a big task. Breakfast was average but considering it was summer and hot, serving food in a terrace without conditioned air it's not a good idea. Overall a poor but expensive experience. This not a 4 star hotel in any country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anabela77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer - We are grateful for all types of reviews, as they help customers better choose hotels that are more suited to their needs. To clarifying some of your excellent points and better understand the issues you had, I did want to make one small correction. According to our records, you stayed with us in Sept 2012 not Sept 2013. We believe this is important so readers can understand why there is difference in our recollections of events, as over a year has passed since your stay. Perhaps, you had simply forgotten a few facts, which is totally understandable after the amount of time that has passed. I clearly remember your stay because of the numerous and unusual requests you had made and that we gave 110% percent to accommodate your requests. When you made your reservation you were so kind to provide us with a note prior to your stay requesting a quiet room. We were so anxious to accommodate you that we upgraded you to a suite room on our top floor. We chose this room specifically for you as it is the only room on this floor and there is no foot traffic from other customers at night when one typically is sleeping. We unfortunately had not anticipated the fact (as you described when you were here) that you really wanted the room quiet throughout the morning hours due to sleep issues. You relayed to us that you did not typically sleep until late at night and needed the room quiet in the morning, as well. We moved another guest to another room (we were full that weekend), in order to accommodate you on a different floor (still in a suite) away from the terrace where there is some noise in the hallway as customers go to breakfast (after 8:00 am). The second morning, you complained that you still could not sleep in the morning because of the noise from the school behind us. Given it was the first week of school, we do agree it was a little louder than usual. Being in a large metropolitan city, we have little control over normal, day time outside noises. In your review, you remember not being able to sleep for four entire nights. Again to be accurate, our records indicate that you stayed on a weekend so on two of the mornings, with no school we are not sure what caused your sleep problem for two of the four nights. Most customers like our location as the street in front and the school in back are comparatively quite for Istanbul at night and they are typically up between 8:00 a.m.and 9:00a.m. to begin sight seeing so daytime noises are not an issue. We do agree that neither we nor many other small hotels in the Old Town area are conducive to daytime sleeping if you are very noise sensitive and would recommend a property well away from the centre if this is the case for a visitor. Most customers that are more sensitive tend to arrive prepared with air plugs etc as they have done some research in advance and know that no hotel can accommodate any and all idiosyncrasies. We have relayed our concerns about the accuracy of your review to the Trip Advisor staff. Perhaps in your future travels, it may be best to stay in a quieter, non-metropolitan setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. It was great value and I can't think of any reason to stay elsewhere if I visit Istanbul again. Good location for reaching all the sights. Clean, modern rooms in very good shape with nice gifts of bathroom accessories, sewing kits etc. Good to have a native English speaker (the owner) to ask for directions! Very nice breakfast with a local feel. Only downside with the breakfast was the generous usage of olive oil on the cooked stuff (I'm Swedish and this will probably only bother people who aren't used to eating heavy, cooked food for breakfast).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Take good earplugs with you. No sound proof windows, so every day be sure get uo at 6, because of crazy sound from mosque inviting to pray. Breakfast ok, but also overrated by other people who have never seen better hotels. WiFi was great, free drinking water in bottles. Breakfast till 10, no late sleep in. We had leakage in the bathroom and it was for few days even if we informed them. Also 2 evenings no hot water. I say average.

Room Tip: there is only one room on the 4th floor so it is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JurM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Located in a quiet area but just a few minutes walk uphill to the main sights of istanbul. Room was small but cosy, very comfy bed and pillows.Nice touches in the room included bathrobes, slippers, water and lovely local soap. Bathroom was small with a few minor touches needed such as loose towel rails, parts missing on the toilet flush, a very low shower head that would be no good for anyone very tall and cracks in the marble. These minor niggles were totally forgotten when we went up to the terrace for breakfast though!! The choice was huge, a real mezze of turkish dishes and everything was delicious plus the service was excellent.
The owners of the hotel were perfect hosts, offering advice on restaurants and letting us use their computer to book Hagia sofia tickets.
Area around the hotel is quiet but quite a few good places to eat. No street noise at night but don't expect a lie in as you will be woken by the call to prayer at sunrise but this just added to the Istanbul experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The room was nice and clean (if a teeny tiny bit run down in spots), but the best part of the hotel is the owner. I know it sounds terrible to say that we liked that the owner was a native English speaker, but after lots of difficult translations at other hotels, it was just really nice to be able to express complicated concepts ("I want a restaurant like X, Y, and Z, but I'd like to stay in a particular price range") and get the right answer. She was incredibly helpful and the rest of the staff were lovely as well. Since we were there for >3 nights, she upgraded us to a suite at no charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,112 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 1,618 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#85 of 1,112 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#35 of 1,112 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,112 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,742 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#12 of 1,025 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saruhan Hotel
Saruhan Hotel
#15 of 1,025 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumru Hotel

Property: Kumru Hotel
Address: Kuecuekayasofya Mah. Kadirga Limani Cad. No 6 Yusufaskin Sok Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,025 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kumru Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kumru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing