We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful stay with great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kumru Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kumru Hotel to your Saves list
Kumru Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kardirga Liman CAD Yusufaskin SOK No 6, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey (Sultanahmet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 1,014 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay with great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at Kumru Hotel for 5 nights in October 2012 and enjoyed every moment. We were given the large room on the top floor and it was perfect - comfortable bed, large and clean bathroom, plus a place to sit and relax. The room was tidied every day and we were given clean towels halfway through our stay. Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace and there was a lot of choice of food, teas, juices and coffee. We felt set up for the rest of the day every morning.

The hotel is in a more residential area of Istanbul and some parts are slightly more run down, but it was incredibly welcoming and entirely safe. There were often children playing outside and we went to the local deli to get our turkish delight and bakalava, which was lovely. It is also extremely close to major sights such as The Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia (only a 2 minute walk). We walked to most places in Istanbul and there are plenty of restaurants and bars close to Kumru Hotel, but it was extremely quick to get across the bridge to the bars and nightlife of Beyoglu just by jumping on the tram (about 10/15 minutes) for a change. The Grand Bazaar, river front and boats to catch trips up the Bosphorus are also only a walk away.

The hosts at Kumru Hotel were perfect - making us feel at home without being over-bearing and offering plenty of useful information. They also suggested we use their computer to buy and print out tickets for Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace which saved us from some very long queues!

I would not hesitate to go to Istanbul again as it was an amazing city and when I do return I will definitely stay at Kumru Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
68
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Kumru is a relatively new hotel working hard to be fantastic.
It's in a neighborhood that really feels like a "neighborhood" rather than a tourist area. It felt very safe, it was easy to walk to restaurants and markets, and it was great to be away from the most touristy areas.
Our room overlooked a high school, which I found interesting, but is something to consider if school noises were not part of your vacation plans. Night times were very quiet.
The rooms are large and gorgeous, but a little fine-tuning is still needed -- several of our bathroom fixtures were loose and it was impossible to get a non-scalding temperature in the shower. (But the tub had a shower too, and it worked fine.)
Breakfast was quite good, and staff were attentive and helpful, and best of all did not try to upsell a bunch of tours and stuff.
Cab drivers cannot find this place for some reason, so give the cab driver the hotel phone number!
I would indeed come here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are overwhelmed with how kind our customers are given that we still have a few things to work out. I am happy to say that we did finally get the free standing showers in the suites fixed so the temperature controls now work (apparently when you mix up the cold and hot water lines the control does not work) and we have also replaced all of the bathroom accessories as they were all falling off or going sideways (after less than a year). We have been aware of this issue but now that we have slowed down we have been able to get the right workmen here to redo/fix these issues. Thanks again for your comments and hopefully if you return you will see us improved.

We appreciate your other kind words and glad our service in other areas made up for any inconveniences you may have experienced.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend in Istanbul after a working week in the city. Coming from London, this was like being able to reach all the main tourist sites in the centre of a city, whilst staying in the quiet seclusion of somewhere like Brighton, complete with sea-view from the terrace. The hosts, Melissa and Abdul, are both charming and helpful and answered all of my piffling questions with a mixture of local knowledge and grace. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosenza, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's a little hotel, in the middle of Sultanahmet, very close to everything you would like to visit.
It's only few rooms, a bit small but very comfortable and very well designed (we are architect).
The owners are very very kindly and friendly, they recommended where to eat, where to go (this time we were more than unorganized, because we escaped from work and stayed in Istanbul just 4 days, too less everyone said) and everything was perfect!
There is a top terrace were to enjoy the breakfast and look at the wonderful panoramic view of Istanbul.. so your day starts in the better way ;)
Price are very low, compared to the standard of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbuona_forketta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouyn-Noranda, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the Kumru hotel for 12 days. At first I choose the hotel for it's modern colourful decor but shortly found that behind this was a wonderful couple, Melissa and Abdul, who, with their fantastic staff made my holiday unforgettable. Months before I left for Istanbul, Melissa nicely answered all my questions (emails) I adressed her. As, during my stay, everyone was there helping me whenever I needed it. The rooms are a five star quality. The Wifi functioned well and the breakfast had a good variety even for a long stay.
The hotel is at walking distance from the main attractions but in a calm district which is much appreciated after a day in the Istanbul crowd.
With no doubt I shall return!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the Kumru hotel as a solo female traveler, and loved it. The owners are so welcoming. Melissa is a world traveler herself, and was helpful with advice for how to navigate Istanbul on my own. Aburrahman and Melissa both were so responsive to questions regarding itinerary order (how to avoid crowds), good restaurants tips, etc. Breakfast is a feast of choices, all on a roof-top terrace, and the hotel has refreshingly modern decor. The whole staff is so friendly, safe area, close to all the major sites. Loved it and would definitely return.

Room Tip: My room was next to the elevator, so I did hear the soft bell when guests were going up for breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifefullcolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. Having been a solo traveler I have a real affinity for our solos and try to provide as much support as required - Istanbul is a great city to explore whether on your own or with others and we hope to provide some added value with tips and suggestions when requested.

Thanks also for your feedback on the elevator noise. It has been an annoyance but after some persistence we have gotten our maintenance guy to shut off the bell so it will not bother guests any longer - especially in the morning as staff are bringing food up to the terrace.

We so enjoyed having you stay and hope you will return to Kumru hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Kumru for six nights total. It was great. Melissa and Abdul are the best, so helpful in every way. Melissa was helpful even before we arrived, giving lots of useful information as we planned our trip. The whole staff at Kumru is great. The room was comfortable as was the bed. We did not find it noisy at all. We really enjoyed the neighborhood. It was very comfortable to be there and it is an easy walk to many of the important sights and to the tramline. The breakfast was very nice it always included fresh fruits, cheeses, cereals, and hot options. We enjoyed sitting on the roof terrace every morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#18 of 1,014 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#12 of 1,014 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sufi Apart Hotel
Sufi Apart Hotel
#120 of 1,014 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
ottopera Hotel
ottopera Hotel
#5 of 1,014 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saruhan Hotel
Saruhan Hotel
#15 of 1,014 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Sultanahmet
Med Cezir Hotel
Med Cezir Hotel
#11 of 1,014 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumru Hotel

Property: Kumru Hotel
Address: Kardirga Liman CAD Yusufaskin SOK No 6, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,014 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kumru Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kumru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing