We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy”
Review of Kumru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kumru Hotel
Ranked #59 of 1,087 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel and the room were good, the breakfast excellent but the neighbourghood was noisy and pretty far from tramway (10 minutes fast walk on an uphill). The stuff and the owners were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Brilliant, beautiful little hotel five to ten minutes walk from blue mosque etc.

The rooms are bright and spacious and beautifully decorated.

Breakfast on the rooftop is a beautiful way to start the day, and they have the best fresh orange juice I've ever had.

Without a doubt the best thing about the hotel is the two owners, Melissa and Abdul, who are so friendly and helpful. Lovely people always happy to have a chat, and they recommended some great places to eat and things to do.

So lovely, would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the Kumru hotel for a couple of nights after encountering some difficulties with our previous accommodation. We were so fortunate that Kumru was available at the last minute!

The place was a great find. Location was excellent- in a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle, but very close to all the tourist attractions. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was modern and spacious. The breakfast was excellent, and there was surprisingly a great variety of food every morning. The service was also excellent. The owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming and were very helpful. No doubt we will stay here again.

The airport transfer was also very convenient, and great value, especially compared to what is offered by other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tat1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We opted to stay at the Kumru after we read the reviews on Tripadvisor. We stayed our first 3 nights in Istanbul and then after travelling around Turkey decided to stay our last 3 nights as well. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived back after our travels. The hotel is in a really quiet location and with comfortable beds we had no problems sleeping. Rooms are a good size, and there are family suites. Also opening windows, so lots of fresh air. Turkish breakfast on the balcony included good choices of fruit, cheese, meats, eggs, breads and of course cucumber. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boytts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel Kumru was a great choice for a stay in Istanbul for many reasons. First of all, the owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful and really make you feel at home, offering great advice and tips on what to see and how to get there. The hotel itself is attractive and the rooms very comfortable, modern and stylish. Hotel Kumru is in a great location within Sultanahmet - very close to all the sights but in a slightly quieter area allowing you to get away from the hustle and bustle. We also particularly loved the breakfast served on the roof terrace - such a great selection that I started looking forward to it as soon as I woke up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yrjs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My family(wife and 2 small childs age 1 and 5) and I stayed at Kumru hotel for 4 days and 5 nights. The hospitality provided by Melissa and Abdurrahman was great, Melisssa was even so kind to take us the hill that goes to the Blue Mosque area. It saved us a lot of energy, what with carrying baby cars and 2 little rowdy kids :)
For American living in Turkey, Melissa's knowledge was also very good, we asked for many advice on what to see, where to go and eat, etc. I thank her for that.
As for the hotel itself, the room was large for the price we received, considering everything else in this city seems expensive, so I was quite happy. The thought of staying in cramped hotel was not appealing somehow. Breakfast was very good IMHO, my kids loved the sausages and the OJ is really fresh!
Just one small item to improve in my opinion is the room cleaning (including cup cleaning, changing bedspreads, etc.) Also the floor in the bathroom was slippery, putting a curtain around the bathtub or shower might be a good idea, IMHO. We had to be careful around this area when the kids were around.
So overall this is good value hotel for the price, I enjoyed it a lot. If I go back to Turkey (seems like when, not if somehow :P), I won't hesitate to stay here again.

Wisnu and Makiko

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b4ikinkun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for all of your comments, the complimentary as well as the constructive ones. We have recently added a shuttle service to the hippodrome for customers who, for whatever reason, do not want to navigate the hill from our hotel to the main sites so we were happy to have you as our first guests that could enjoy this added service.

Thank you as well for the constructive comments about the rooms especially the level of cleanliness as we do pride ourselves on having a very clean hotel but we think with some recent staff additions we have a training issue and are already working to resolve this - so on your next stay we hope to fully meet all your expectations of us. We are gratified that you would consider us again for your next stay and we look forward to having you come back!

Kind Regards
M. Tzourakis
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently stayed at Kumru and it was great! They were very helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to go. The location was super, we could walk to all the attractions. The room was excellent and Abdul had apple tea delivered to our room in the evening, a nice treat. Initially we were going to have to change rooms for the last night but Melissa managed to accommodate us so we could stay in the same room. The morning of our departure our transport to the hotel was late and Melissa got out of bed at 5am to bring my kids and I to the airport now that is what you call a real hostess. Great owners, great hotel, great location!

Room Tip: Family room is great since it is on a floor by itself so if you have loud kids, as we do, go with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#226 of 1,163 in Istanbul
168 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,087 in Istanbul
594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#741 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,112 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
561 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumru Hotel

Address: Kardirga Liman CAD Yusufaskin SOK No 6, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 1,087 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $33 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kumru Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kumru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing