We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kumru Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$216
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$399
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$138
$104
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Midtown Hotel(Istanbul)
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$157
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
WOW Airport Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$67
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
142
31
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
31
4
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 178 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel Kumru was a great choice for a stay in Istanbul for many reasons. First of all, the owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful and really make you feel at home, offering great advice and tips on what to see and how to get there. The hotel itself is attractive and the rooms very comfortable, modern and stylish. Hotel Kumru is in a great location within Sultanahmet - very close to all the sights but in a slightly quieter area allowing you to get away from the hustle and bustle. We also particularly loved the breakfast served on the roof terrace - such a great selection that I started looking forward to it as soon as I woke up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yrjs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My family(wife and 2 small childs age 1 and 5) and I stayed at Kumru hotel for 4 days and 5 nights. The hospitality provided by Melissa and Abdurrahman was great, Melisssa was even so kind to take us the hill that goes to the Blue Mosque area. It saved us a lot of energy, what with carrying baby cars and 2 little rowdy kids :)
For American living in Turkey, Melissa's knowledge was also very good, we asked for many advice on what to see, where to go and eat, etc. I thank her for that.
As for the hotel itself, the room was large for the price we received, considering everything else in this city seems expensive, so I was quite happy. The thought of staying in cramped hotel was not appealing somehow. Breakfast was very good IMHO, my kids loved the sausages and the OJ is really fresh!
Just one small item to improve in my opinion is the room cleaning (including cup cleaning, changing bedspreads, etc.) Also the floor in the bathroom was slippery, putting a curtain around the bathtub or shower might be a good idea, IMHO. We had to be careful around this area when the kids were around.
So overall this is good value hotel for the price, I enjoyed it a lot. If I go back to Turkey (seems like when, not if somehow :P), I won't hesitate to stay here again.

Wisnu and Makiko

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b4ikinkun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for all of your comments, the complimentary as well as the constructive ones. We have recently added a shuttle service to the hippodrome for customers who, for whatever reason, do not want to navigate the hill from our hotel to the main sites so we were happy to have you as our first guests that could enjoy this added service.

Thank you as well for the constructive comments about the rooms especially the level of cleanliness as we do pride ourselves on having a very clean hotel but we think with some recent staff additions we have a training issue and are already working to resolve this - so on your next stay we hope to fully meet all your expectations of us. We are gratified that you would consider us again for your next stay and we look forward to having you come back!

Kind Regards
M. Tzourakis
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently stayed at Kumru and it was great! They were very helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to go. The location was super, we could walk to all the attractions. The room was excellent and Abdul had apple tea delivered to our room in the evening, a nice treat. Initially we were going to have to change rooms for the last night but Melissa managed to accommodate us so we could stay in the same room. The morning of our departure our transport to the hotel was late and Melissa got out of bed at 5am to bring my kids and I to the airport now that is what you call a real hostess. Great owners, great hotel, great location!

Room Tip: Family room is great since it is on a floor by itself so if you have loud kids, as we do, go with the family room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My family & I stayed here 8 nights, occupying all 3 rooms on third floor, 1 Deluxe Suite & 2 Standard Rooms. Given the length of stay & the number of rooms Melissa negotiated a very fair, discounted price with us... excellent value.

As mentioned repeatedly, Melissa & Abdurrahman are outstanding hosts! It would be hard to find more helpful, proactive, hands-on owners anywhere in Istanbul! The level of service, involvement, thoughtfulness & cheerful willingness to do everything possible... From arranging airport transfers, offering foreign exchange, to recommending restaurants, to calling endless taxi cabs, to ordering in dinner, accompanying us to the Bazaars, even shipping stuff to us back home... They are just wonderful people! There is also a small, very smiley bunch of other staff, who seem determined to overcome the language barrier, with sheer enthusiasm. Special mention to the very kind, warm Breakfast lady.

The Kumru is a refreshingly modern Hotel in traditional Sultanahmet & Melissa’s flair for design & perfectionism was apparent in all the Rooms & fixtures. All three rooms were a fair size for Europe, with the Suite being truly large (& lovely). My group had only 2 people occupying the Suite & one each in the Standard Rooms, which really allowed us a lot of space. There was a lot of natural light, with floor-to-ceiling glass doors, but no windows. The Beds were heavenly; there has obviously been no skimping of costs in providing comfort. The linen & bath towels always fresh, crisp & clean. All rooms had small seating areas, with lovely, comfy armchairs in the Deluxe Suite. The Rooms were fitted with all the required mod-cons, including a flat screen TV, an efficient, noiseless AC, a small, stocked mini bar, a hair dryer & a handy coffee maker. We did have glitches with some of the appliances, but these were fixed almost instantly. This can easily be avoided by a quick check of the appliances & fixtures before a guest checks-in. The Wi Fi was included in the room rate & very reliable. It is true, as mentioned in another review, that the TV featured over 900 channels, but the English language channels were very, very few. This is, however, true of a lot of small Hotels in Europe. The Standard Bathrooms were slightly compact, but the luxurious Suite bathroom was huge, all with gallons of hot water. Perhaps Kumru should consider lowering the height of the bathroom mirrors & towel hooks for us smaller sized mortals. My other suggestion would be to add a little more light to the bathrooms & install mirrors in all the rooms. We loved that the Hotel offered bathrobes & slippers, rarely seen in this grade of Hotel... a great touch. The Housekeeping was a hit or miss, which was a little bewildering. Much above average in my Room, much below average in the Suite. The public areas were spectacularly clean, though! The lobby was especially striking, aesthetic, intimate, yet classy. And the tiny elevator was a blessing.

Breakfast was modest, with emphasis on Turkish cuisine (& several varieties of cheese), but all the food was absolutely fresh & served in a cheery, colourful, rooftop setting. A ‘hot station’, with eggs made to order & such would be a perfect addition. I believe that booking a Suite room entitles you to breakfast in bed.

If you’re looking for an insulated experience, this is not it. The Kumru is a ‘slice of life’ Hotel, bang in the middle of the very charming, but fast fading residential face of Sultanahmet. You will see & hear children going off to school, women chatting & going about chores, vendors loudly selling their wares, children laughing... it was actually fun to watch a group of girls (competently) playing football in the street. The Suite faced a school ground, but was surprisingly quiet, with pleasant views. The Standard Rooms were certainly noisier & faced the narrow street & the residential buildings across... beware that if the curtains aren’t drawn, privacy is slightly compromised here. Being on the third floor, which we requested for, has its pros & cons. You’re slightly away from the street, but right underneath the Breakfast area, which may lead to some noise in the Standard Rooms. There is a small general store just down the road, some bakeries a little further off & the Cesme Restaurant (which our hosts recommended), lovely for a first, meaty meal. There are not too many restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but Melissa will happily order food in for you... we had Chinese food one night, pizza another night.

The one obvious flip side is the location, difficult for my parents, both over 60. It is true that the Kumru is 10 minutes walking from the Blue Mosque, but it is 10 *uphill* minutes, another 2 minutes to Aya Sofya & the Topkapi & a considerable distance from the Grand Bazaar. The shortest road up, which is also the very steepest, is through the Courtyard of the serene Sokullu Mehmet Pasha Mosque. The other, longer road is less steeply inclined & goes past a lovely fresh produce Market on Wednesdays. I did hear some talk of introducing a car / shuttle service to the top of the Hill.

With a reliable shuttle, a slightly more elaborate breakfast, on par housekeeping... just a little tweaking, I imagine that the Kumru would be hard to nudge off the top spot on TA.

Room Tip: Get the Suite
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aarya_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were a group of 19 people, 11 adults and 8 kids. We stayed at Kumru for 3 nights in June. I must say for a new hotel, the hospitality was above and beyond. We had pretty much all the rooms in the hotel and Melissa, Abdul and their staff (and son) took care of us like family. They tended to every single one of our requests and made us feel at home. The breakfasts on the terrace were wonderful, their recommendations on places to go were great and the rooms was lovely, spacious and perfect for families. We were within minutes of Hagia Sofia, Blue mosque and the markets.
On behalf of all 19 of us, thanks once again for making our reunion trip so memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews