We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, helpful staff and a cozy feeling to it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old City Esma Hostel

Old City Esma Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old City Esma Hostel
Ranked #386 of 1,175 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, helpful staff and a cozy feeling to it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Since we had only three days in Istanbul and therefore were looking for the perfect location, we decided in favor of the Old City Esma Hostel. We couldn’t believe our eyes when Yavuz (all the staff members are very friendly & helpful) showed us our double room with a private terrace and a view over the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia! ;-) It is certainly not the most luxurious hotel but if you look for a cozy atmosphere with great staff and the perfect location, you’re at the right place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph CH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

There are two thıngs that really made me love old cıty esma hostel. fırstly, the staff are so kınd and helpful. they make you feel at home and help wıth any questıons..thıs also ıncludes helpıng out wıth all tours around Turkey and makıng sure you get cheaper prıces and arent rıpped off. I had an amazıng 4 days there and cant waıt to go back. Breaky ıs also ıncluded whıch ıs Turkısh and fıllıng. Secondly, theır open roof terrace ıs fun and gıves you a beautıful vıew!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaC684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changsha, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Location is excellent. Few meters from the tramway station- Sultanahmet, and near the McDonalds, you may easily find it. You can walk to the main mosques, palaces and museums. The decoration of the hostel is very fascinating. Very Turkish.
The beds in the dorm were hard as rock, and the A/C didn't work in the dorm so they had an electronic fan instead. The breakfast was poor--just bread and jam, boiled eggs. cucumbers, tomatoes, olives, and the juice tasted weird, you may try tea or coffee. Anyway, it's a good budget hostel for its price.

Room Tip: You may try the rooms on the 2nd floor coz I heard that the rooms on 3rd floor were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hostel is very centrally located in Sultanahmet, on the Metro line with the station just a minutes walk away. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Near McDonalds and Starbucks. Good travel agent across the road. Just a short walk to the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia. The staff are super friendly and helpful with good English. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are very clean. There is a nice terrace bar on the roof. We stayed there 3 times over 2 weeks and were remembered each time as if we were part of their family. The only downsides are that it can be a bit noisy at the front rooms (we liked to keep the windows open) and there is no lift, but at this price, location and friendly staff, you could not do better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davisneil11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hello,
We spent only one night at this hostel because we arrived late and it was fully booked.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean and the furnitures of good quality.
Very good location.
Nice decoration.
With air condioner.
You can find something better with the same price (we were 2 in a room made for 6 people, we payed 50 euros for both) but we were tired and just wanted to have a place quickly with a reasonable price.
My only criticizm for this kind of hotels is that the number of toilets/showers is not enough for such a big number of people: a bathroom (1shower+1toilet+1washbowl) for the second floor, shared by 3 rooms at least (with many people in each room) and 2 bathrooms in the first floor.
The staff is very kind and can speak English ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

PROS: Great location for seeing the sights, right on a tram stop, friendly staff. Updated furniture and fixtures. Beautiful new tile in the corridors and bathrooms. Clean rooms and the best pillows I've had in a long time.

CONS: The shared bathrooms are newly renovated and have the potential to be really nice, however, they are always hot and steamy due to poor ventilation, and the floors are always covered in puddles of water. There are only two small hooks to hang your things on. Generally these hooks are on the doors, far away from the shower stall. One of the shared bathrooms on the floor we stayed on had a broken shower door (off the rails and open) and the other doesn't have a bracket to hang the shower head.

Breakfast is only melon, tomato, cucumber, olives, bread and spreads, hardboiled eggs, tea and juice. No cheese, salami, yogurt, gozleme, etc. Not sure if this is standard for other Istanbul hostels, but it seemed a bit lacking compared to every other place I've been around the country. The terrace is nice, but there are only two umbrellas, so you may be eating breakfast in the hot sun.

SUMMARY: At this price and location (30TL per person for the dorm), the drawbacks aren't too serious, but I wouldn't want to stay more than a night or two. Installing more powerful ventilation fans in the bathrooms and adding some hooks, upgrading breakfast and putting more umbrellas on the terrace would make a world of difference.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

The hostel is soo cosy and the staff is amazing! They also have a rooftop terrace with a fantastic view.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peho3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#355 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#156 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#129 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#230 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Esma Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Esma Hostel

Property: Old City Esma Hostel
Address: Divanyolu Cad No 17, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 1,175 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Hotel Class:2 star — Old City Esma Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing