We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galata La Bella Hotel
Ranked #390 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
“Great hotel for sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great value thanks to their staff, location and facilities. I stayed 3 days, and the cleanliness was excellent. I want to give a special 10+ for their pleasant staff. Next time I'll choose this hotel with no doubts or searches.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlegChisinau_Moldova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    99
    35
    14
    6
See reviews for
37
100
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

1. The number one thing about this hotel is its cleanliness. The rooms are modern and well kept (apparently they were recently renovated). The bathroom is excellent as well and the shower has warm water with incredible water pressure (if you're in to that). I stayed in the standard double room. There was plenty of room for my wife and I. I think the single room may be a bit small for 2 people though. Having a nice hotel to come back to is important after full days exploring the city.

2. In addition to breakfast every morning there is always hot tea, juice, water, and fruit in the downstairs lobby throughout the day and night if you get hungry or a craving for Turkish tea. Also if you have a flight our tour that leaves early in the morning before the official start of breakfast, the staff will prepare some breakfast for you prior to your departure.

3. The location is fantastic. If you want to be surrounded by tourists and peddlers, stay in Sultahahment. The location of the hotel (Karakoy/Galata Tower) is ideal. 15 - 20 minute walk to Blue Mosque/Aya/Topkapi and the Bazaar. Also 15 - 20 minute walk to Taksim square. A few minutes walk to the restaurants under Galata Bridge. A few minutes walk to the Karakoy tram (10 minute ride to historic sites in Sultanahmet) or the Tunel tram to Taksim Square.

4. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Will arrange tours and transport if requested.

5. If you stay 3 or more nights the hotel will arrange free transfer from the airport to the hotel upon your arrival.

5. The rooftop restaurant and bar. It was a little cold during my visit but the terrace was covered and heated. The views are fantastic. I imagine the ambiance is even better when the weather is warmer and the terrace is open.

Cons:
1. This is not a 5 star, so if you want someone waiting on you hand and foot, you will not get this here. But you will get great Turkish Hospitality here. Also if you want to be right next door to the historic sites, you will be disappointed by having to walk or take a tram to Sultanahmet. If you want a clean hotel, with a great location, and helpful staff this is a great place to stay.

2. Only superior rooms on the 6th floor have good window views.

Room Tip: If you stay 3 or more nights the hotel will arrange free transfer from the airport to the hotel upon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Galata La Bella Hotel was a surprise. Hard to find in the maze of streets where it is, but inside there, it surpassed all my expectations.

Modern, newly renovated I would say, it had trendy decorated rooms. The hotel is very clean and pleasant.
But the best is the staff's attention that strives to make you feel at home, like in family, rather than in a hotel.

The location could not be better. A couple of tram stops from the historic city center and the Grand Bazaar and one stop from the main shopping street in Istanbul. The restaurant on the top floor terrace has a stunning view of the city of Istanbul! Simply wonderful!

I will never forget the help given by the staff to visit the city; especially Fatih Erturk and Yunus Macur. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kubasvensken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yorker
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had a long weekend here with a friend of mine. Overall, our stay was fantastic. The location is close to everything you need to see, and the staff was fantastic. From the moment we walked in the door, everyone made us feel very welcome, and that continued throughout the trip. The hotel is a little hard to find at first (so be careful of that if you take a cab from the airport), but it's in a great location that is close to everything. I recommend having a meal on the rooftop bar/restaurant and talking with the staff. The breakfast is also very filling, and they keep everything well organized. The rooms are a little small, but it's not bad if you consider European standards.
The best part of the stay is definitely the staff. They are all very kind, and they are very interested in making your stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISTANBUL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a good week in Istanbul. Also thanks to Galata La Bella Hotel. It's a nice hotel with a friendly staff who are always available when you have questions.

The room was good. Not that big, but everything was in. For Northern Europeans the beds are a bit small, but you get used to it. The shower - always important - was okay. The first days it took a while before the water was really comfortable warm. But later it was okay.

Breakfast is in the lobby. That's special, but it also makes that you have a nice contact with all the staff. The restaurant upstairs has a nice view over a part of the Bosporus, piece of the Galata bridge en the famous mosks. The food was good and tasteful. There were six persons serving seven guest. That's a bit too much we think. It also makes that the coordination of serving was not that good. You can compare the prices in the restaurant and bar with other places in town.

The rooms a very clean and especially the two women who every day clean your room deserves a big compliment.

From the hotel you're nearby all the things you want to visit. Especially because all the ferries are nearby, so you also can very easily travel to the Asians parts of the city. The hotel is in a narrow street with empty buildings aside. So it's not located in a very pleasant environment. But it takes only a few steps and it's much better. Tünel, the old underground starts a few steps from the hotel entrance. From there you easily arrive at the beginning of the big shopping street which brigs you to Taksim square.

We leave tomorrow, so the final still has to come. But we feel confident enough to send this recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

As soon as i open the door to get the front dest i saw 2 member of the hotel manager Imara and his assistant Yunus received me very warmly and over my expectation i spent 4 night there all crew of the hotel were very help full and friendly , Yunus and Imara help me a lot guide me to tours and always ready with smile to answer my questions , it is very close to down town and Taksim , i recommend whenever visit istanbul stay in Galata La Bella Hotel .

Room Tip: any corner is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAP925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you look for a good and confortable acommodation in Istanbul try GALATA LA BELLA HOTEL. A very nice and clean hotel, really new, and with a very kind staff to receive you. Besides this, it is close to many important touristic areas and around many public transportations, like TRAMWAY and Funicular. I really recommend to you. In special, I have to say about ALI ZAFER and ATILA, the two sweet guys in reception, really well prepared to offer you the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cintya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Purl Hotel
The Purl Hotel
#496 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Beyoglu
Anemon Galata
Anemon Galata
#371 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Beyoglu
Duo Galata Hotel
Duo Galata Hotel
#583 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Galata Life Istanbul
Galata Life Istanbul
#551 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#19 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#69 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galata La Bella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata La Bella Hotel

Property: Galata La Bella Hotel
Address: Arapcamii Mah.Erguvan Sok. No:1 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34421, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Galata La Bella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Istanbul, Galata La Bella Hotel offers deluxe accommodation , the best hospitality and ideal starting for your fascinating explore to Istanbul. Galata La Bella Hotel with the best location offers absolutely stunning view of The Old city and Golden Horn, within walking distance to many attractions including Karaköy Tunnel which is the 2nd oldest metro tunnel of the world, Galata tower, Taksim Square and historical city center Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum, Topkapı Palace, Basilica Cistern or Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galata La Bella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing