We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb restaurant in Istanbul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hisko Kofte Kebap

Hisko Kofte Kebap
Ranked #572 of 13,374 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
“superb restaurant in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pleasant atmosphere, lovely meals and kind service in Hisko Kofte Kebap. Lovely experience in Istanbul, which we will not forget.Not far from the city center, on a calm and pleasant street, it is worth visiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 643elida_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were wandering through the area looking at antiques and lunch hunger pangs hit us.... we saw this small restaurant with quite a few locals sitting at the outdoor tables and took that as a sign that it must be good.

The food was superb home cooked fare - particularly the baked beans. All the staff are from one family and they are very welcoming and friendly.

We've been to some great restaurants here including Mikla and Matbah... and while a totally different type of place, Hisko ranks up there with those two as one of our favourites so far.

33TL for lunch for two - and we had a lot of dishes

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inukshukasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Average ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Over priced for the quantity and the quality of food served we end up paying 50 TL for two people we got better food for less in Isteklal Sid streets

Helpful?
Thank La123456
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We found this place absolutely by chance wandering the evening we arrived in Istanbul and we decided immediately we had to try it! Our expectations have been come up! After a bit of initial confusion (we had just arrived and didn't know anything about turkish food... And they almost don't speak English at all!!!) we went closer to the counter to choose what to try and from there everything has gone smooth! We had Saç Kavurma,
Urfa Kebap and Patlıcan Kebabı, everything was tasty and delicious. We liked it so much we decided we had to come back before leaving and we did. The second time we tried Patlıcan Moussaka, Izmir Köfte and Adana Kebabı, tasty and delicious as we remembered! At the end of 8 days in Istanbul I can say it was the best turkish food we had. And both times, for 3 people we spent only 60 YTL!!
Noteworthy is the owner: he's a person very nice, sweet, helpful, patient... that makes you feel at home. The first time, after he greeted us with the tipical turkish expression "afyet olsun", since we could not understand he ran to the near police station to ask for a translation in English!!! The second time he offered us çay at the end of the meal!!!
A true experience of turkish hospitality and food. You cannot miss it!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank filo_aroffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You cannot go wrong!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This little hole-in-the-wall "bistro" was a BIG SURPRISE. Situated in the now very chic and trendy junction of the Tom Tom and Cukurcuma areas, it sits across the street from a small local mosque.
The street is peppered with the newest and most popular galleries in Istanbul (Elipsis is my favorite!) for the young and knowing set. The area is up and coming but retains its neighborhood charm without any pretention at all which is a big change from trendy areas in large cities around the globe (take note Tribeca and Soho in NYC!).
We stopped for coffee because the place only has two small tables for four outside and did not look like it served much food. This was the first time in days that we encountered a menu with prices in the single digit!!! Yes, everything was less than 10 TL!!!
The man is very accurately described in the previous review. Very little English but all charm and honesty. He loves preparing the daily dishes and invites you to the stove to see how he does it. I assume the lady who serves is his wife: no English at all and she takes it in stride with a smile and the most genteel manner. We had to try their food!
Well, it was heaven. Simple fare like doner kebab served with the freshest green salad we have had in days. We stayed for three hours sampling the menu to their astonishment and delight. Everything was cooked when ordered although I heard a microwave "ding" at some point during the feast. Nevertheless, we sampled true homemade Turkish cuisine on the cutest improvised tiny sidewalk terrace on a gorgeous sunny afternoon. What a lunch!
They carry small bottles of sparkling water that I have not yet found anywhere else in Istanbul. The name escapes me (I should have written it down!) but it has been one of the best sparkling water I've had in years. The two of us ate for six people and the tab was less than 20 TL!
At the end of this feast, we wanted "american style" coffee (i.e. not Turkish coffee). That produces a puzzled look from both the owner-cook and his waitress-wife. But she quickly chirped "Capuccino???" And we settled for that. There again, the tastiest most satisfying cup of cappuccino materialized after she quickly ran down to the cellar from steps next to the entrance and emerged five minutes later with the perfectly brewed coffee.
A gem, I tell you. I wish this couple much success. The place is unpretentious and situated in a very upcoming trendy area. I hope they will remain true to what we experienced there for years to come. We stopped there a few more times for lunch if the weather was nice and reached Nirvana every time.
Perfect extremely affordable (honest) lunch spot !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hisko Kofte Kebap also viewed

 

Been to Hisko Kofte Kebap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing