We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Faros Hotel Taksim
Nearby Hotels
$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$216
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$399
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$104
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Midtown Hotel(Istanbul)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$157
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
WOW Airport Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$67
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
286
146
46
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
146
46
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsistiklal streetgreat hotelmetro stationboutique hotelspecial thanksrooms are cleaninternet connectionmurattaksimmrtaxis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 502 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Taksim branch of Faros Hotel in May 2013. The service is really attentive and kind, beds were super comfortable and breakfast was quite nice too. Only drawback is it's located on the "wrong" side of Taksim square, therefore if you don't know the area it might look a bit dodgy and dirty - don't be deceived, just give the surroundings a chance as they are much more authentic than the tourist part of town - cross Taksim square until you're onto Tarlabaşı Bulvarı and let yourself drown in the multitude of restaurants, narghile bars and cafes (and please do ignore the massive chain stores such as Zara and Starbucks which sadly seem to have inundated this part of the world as well).

Room Tip: If possible stay in the higher floors, as the first floor tends to be very noisy at all time due to its proximity to the reception and breakfast area.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review on your experience in our hotel on tripadvisor. Feedbacks such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.

The entire team of Faros Hotel Taksim will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Greetings from Istanbul.

With My Best Regards,

Rabiye SARI
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

So lets start with the positives the staff are professional and polite and the breakfast although continental is very good. However the Hotel itself attempts to be modern and fails miserably. It's difficult to understand why any hotel would be designed to look so unwelcoming and industrial. Rooms are small and although clean it's all very functional and not tasteful. Even reception looks like a second hand furniture shop. The hotel although convenient for Taksim square (not sure thats a plus) it also overlooks a multi storey car park and is on a busy street. In the time I stayed there I could not get a taxi to take me back to the Hotel. There are two other Faros hotels in Istanbul so dont be fooled by their website which is confusing and you think you are booking a really nice hotel in the old part of istanbul ....your not. Would I stay again in this Faros hotel (hostel) never........

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeR736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we thank you as you preferred our hotel and as you have opined on Trip Advisor.

Our hotel has been designed in a modern style just to make our guests more comfortable. Our lobby has this retro-futuristic style furniture and decoration, and that is all designed by experienced internal decorators. We would be happier if you had shared your thoughts about the rooms and common areas during the time you had stayed; so that we would be able to put any effort to make your vacation feel better. Secondly, our website includes all the information about the location of our hotel as well as the other hotels of Faros group.
We apologise not to make you have good time, though, we want to tell you that we will be very pleased to see you again.

Greetings from Istanbul.

Kind Regards,

Rabiye SARI
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've just come back from 4 days at the Faros hotel in Taskim and I had a very happy experience there. I was there with my sister and a friend, so we had a triple room: unfortunately the room that was given to us on the first night was a bit noisy as it was on the first floor and we could hear the reception area from there. However, the day after we asked for a change and we were given a room on the last floor that was simply perfect. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel is a few steps away from Taksim Square, an area of clubs and shops so you are close to all the entertainment yet you don't have to sleep in that noise. I must say the tall gentleman at the reception was very polite and did everything he could to accomodate our needs, I rarely experienced this willingness to help and friendliness from hotel staff before. I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: better to have a room on a high floor to avoid the noise from the reception area
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Sonia,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Faros Hotel Taksim and for taking time to write us.
We openly welcome feedback from our guests whether positive or negative, as it is in this way that we can monitor our guests feedback, so that we may improve our standarts of service to meet our guests expectations.

We wish you all the best for your life in hope to see you with us again.

Greetings from Istanbul.

Warm Regards,

Rabiye SARI
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I booked the hotel for a short private stay plus conference in the Congress Center. Walking time to the ICC is 8 minutes. The hotel is made in Industrial design, very clear. I liked it a lot. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is sufficient and people are very friendly and helping to manage anything you need.
You can reach the main shopping road from Taksim in 3 minutes and are in the very center of this part of the city. The Taksim place is under massive construction in the moment (underpasses), but this is not disturbing or creating any noise in the hotel. The only think preventing me from giving 5 stars is the accoustic of the rooms, corridors. You can hear many noises from the corridor, if a room door is closed you can hear that from almost any other room. I think this is something which can be optimized with low effort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airman_blue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review on your experience in our hotel on tripadvisor. We openly welcome feedback from our guests whether positive or negative, as it is in this way that we can monitor our guests feedback, so that we may improve our standarts of service to meet our guests expectations.

We wish you all the best for your life in hope to see you with us again.

Greetings from Istanbul.

Best Regards,

Rabiye SARI
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I booked a room for 5 nights following the good reviews and outstanding price.. First impression as we entered the hotel was "oh my what have we done!" but that was changed very soon as we warmed up to the staff who were very quick in offering us a welcome drink and we were shown to our room within 10 minutes

The room itself was small but clean and the toilet had a glass door that doesn't lock so it was a bit awkward.. There was no bath tub but a wash room
with a shower

Slippers, body wash, shampoo and moisturisers were available as well as 2 pillows each but I personally found them very used but that's because I'm used to firm ones

There was a heater in the room that worked very well as well as a complimentary bottle of water with kettle and tea/coffee and a mini bar.. A bottle of water cost 3 tl which is very reasonable for a hotel

Internet was free and very good for general browsing and watching videos on YouTube

You would also be provided upon request a voucher that entitles you to 15%off at Faros restaurants

Breakfast was decent but be prepared to queue up for the small toaster

The location is perfect for Istiklal caddesi and Taksim square as well as for taxis to either Nishantashi or the Grand bazaar

A major project is being carried out so taxis struggle to reach taxim but would drop you off at the nearest point to the hotel

All in all we had a very comfortable stay at Faros but if you are looking for a hotel with a large lobby and bar to spend your evenings in that's not the place for you but if you're like us who use the hotelmerely for sleeping then you really ccan't go wrong for the price.. We paid £300 for 5 nights

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gtakiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Faros Hotel Taksim associates for your wonderful review. Our constant aim is to provide a friendly and efficient service to make each guest experience a special one an it is always rewarding to hear when we reach this aim.

We openly welcome feedback from our guests whether positive or negative, as it is in this way that we can monitor our guests feedback, so that we may improve our standarts of service to meet our guests expectations.

We hope to host you in our hotel again and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Greetings from Istanbul.

Kind Regards,

Rabiye SARI
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews