We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying here right now and I love it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Ranked #160 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Staying here right now and I love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I'm staying here right now and I love it. The location is perfect. We're close to good restaurants, Bazaar, Mosques, and other tourist attractions. Very nice staff. Spacious room and very clean. The breakfast was good but there should be more variety. They should really have a pool especially on hot July days. Housekeeping would sometimes forget to bring coffee or toilet paper. But other than that I would highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank twocrazycats62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    110
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
54
145
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Haghia Sofia Hotel was perfect with everything ! Location is just heart of the Old City Istambul . Hotel staffs were really interested to our wishes. At front desk , they made a schedule for us to explore the city. Cleaning was good enough and breakfast was amazing.

Room Tip: front side rooms are better as a view.you may see 'the amazing haghia sofia' . calls deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank exl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I didnt expect much more than what i get during my stay. With a fantastic view over hagia sophia which is only a few meters away as well as the blue mosque. The basilica is only 20 meters away from the hotel. Not all superior rooms have the hagia sophia view, so if you want to guarantee the view i recommend to book a deluxe room (3rd floor is the best). The room size is acceptable, not to forget that you are in a crowded ancient old city. The room was well cleaned. The stuff were friendly and always smily. Free WIFI in the room.

The negatives: the hotel is not supported neither for a baby strollers nor for luggage trolleys. The breakfast could be better, it is good but could be easily improved with a more choices from international cuisines.

By the way, there is a 360 degrees panoramic restaurant in the front of the hotel, Recommended. As for shisha smokers, only 20 meters away from the hotel, and on the front of the basilica there is a good shisha which is totally recommended. The price is 35 TL only. Absolutely I will stay again at this hotel

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Majed A. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

central strategic location in old city close to all major sights and good restaurants. good sized rooms, full body grohe shower with multiple heads, comfortable king size bed, automatic window blinds.

Room Tip: get deluxe rooms , preferably corner deluxe 2nd /3rd flr for great view of Hagia Sophia mosque
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank am001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This new hotel has great rooms and great air conditioning. If your trip to Istanbul has to be time effective, stay here. It is literally less than 1000 feet to four of the most important sights to see in Istanbul, and three blocks from the grand bazar. How can you go wrong? Less taxis. Less hassles. Trams are one block away. Plenty of restaurants to choose from.
Pick this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to Istanbul and this hotel was just perfect. Great spacious room with tea and coffee making facilities, safe, comfortable king bed, big desk (yes, had to do some work), excellent lighting and good decor. The location is fantastic and staff were very, very helpful. Traditional Turkish style breakfasts with cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, yoghurt plus breads, cereals, fruit etc. We would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Istanbul. It's not a 5star, but probably a very good 4star.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 108letstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Why 5 stars overall?

1. Location, location, location.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Istanbul's historical quarter, 2 minutes away from the 'Holy Trinity' - Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace & Blue Mosque. Close to taxi rank, tram stop and restaurants. We had a view of the Hagia from our window! Couldn't have found a better base in the Old Quarter.
2. Cleanliness.
Our room was spotless when we arrived and every time we returned was beautifully clean. We did not see any hint of dirtiness in the rest of the hotel. A flick of a switch was all it took to tell the cleaners to come in.
3. Staff.
The reception and bar staff are courteous, attentive and serve with a smile. We witnessed how demanding (and at times very rude) some of the big tour groups were and were impressed at how professional the staff were in dealing with them. The reception helped us out several times and by the end of our week in the city we would use them to make sure we were't being scammed (e.g. taxis) and that our excursion ideas were feasible. Very good English. Cleaning staff did not barge in and replaced everything we had used in the room (snacks). Staff manager should be very proud!
4. Room.
Good TV with range of English language channels, lovely shower suite and very comfy bed. Easy to use safe and enough storage space. Again, view was incredible. Snacks and little mini bar provided without normal rip-off prices.
5. Facilities.
Cute little pub with a restaurant and outdoor space in front of hotel. World Cup was hosted excellently and projector was on every night for the matches. Drinks replaced quickly and without asking, nibbles laid out for guests. Staff, despite obviously strained, worked courtesously and efficiently. We ate there a couple of times and the food was well prepared and at a reasonable price.
6. Cost.
A fraction of the price of the 'luxury' chains with a better location and no pretension.

Drawbacks?
- Lack of a swimming pool. I can understand that it may be very difficult to get planning permission for one but it would have been nice after a hot day walking around.
- Slightly noisy on first day. But I think this could be attributed to the World Cup matches.
- Their deal with a taxi firm for airport transfers was too expensive at EUR 50 - take a local cab for 50 Turkish lira instead!
- Pretty mundane breakfast - and closes at 10.30 which was always too late for us. Young couples - do not bother with buying this option if you're lazy like us!
I can't really knock off marks for these without being overtly harsh so 5 stars it is!

Room Tip: - Pick a room at front of hotel to guarantee amazing views. - 3rd floor and up are the best for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#118 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#105 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City

Property: Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:13 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hagia Sophia)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City , is a deluxe category hotel and situated at Sultanahmet square. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City has opened at 2011. Hotel has 63 rooms categories of deluxe and superior rooms and offers its guest a magnificent service. All rooms has their own espresso machine, wireless internet connection, LCD televisions and general air condition.. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City offers a rich choice of food and beverage services; 2 restaurants, one Garden Restaurant and (an A’la Carte restaurant,) a bar and a café… Hotel is surrounded with all major and cultural landmarks. Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace are in a short walking distance to Hotel which is one of the best choices for leisure guests expecting upscale service. You will be fascinated with direct view of Hagia Sophia Museum when you have a look from your window or enjoy the historical atmosphere while drinking a coffee at unique terrace of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing