We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Ranked #158 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent location in the Old City, walking distance to most sites and the tram station. Very nice staff, comfortable, clean rooms, especially front ones with Hagia Sophia view. Breakfast can be improved, but overall excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook Hagia Sophia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valeria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    116
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
58
149
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was stay for 2 nites at Hagia Sophia Hotel that was recommended by my local travel agents and friends Mr Gokhan Bulut of GNM Matahari Travel. I was browse through internet but reality is much better. i got room at 3rd floor the highest floor with view to Hagia Sophia.

Location is great only 100m away from Hagia Sophia and around 200m away from Blue Mosque where i could pray there as my expectation. I stay at their low season so not many visitors stayed. Room was great with TV miror that cool. Bathroom equipped with latest hot water technology that could set for any kind of warm water with 4 choices of shower. Soo cool for me.

Receptionist staff mr Kadir speak english fluently while not many Turkish people do. He also clear explain about room facility and many interest place to visit.Definitely will stay here for my next visit and i strongly recommend those who will visit Istanbul to stay at this hotel, best location for 5* hotel and great hotel and service too.

Room Tip: Do request 3rd floor with best view to Hagia Sophia while other side had a view of Marmara sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irpaniza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

After a bad overnight experience in a small 'boutique' hotel (flea-bitten, rickety and unfortunately sourced through tripadvisor!) we quickly shifted to this almost new hotel. The hotel is positioned virtually within a stone's throw of the Basilica Cisterns and the Hagia Sophia and pretty much everything else you need to see in Istanbul.

The rooms are modern, well-decorated, clean and very spacious with well-appointed bathrooms. The view from our room took in the Hagia Sophia and at night this was particularly spectacular. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the food in the outdoor plaza, looking out as it did on the street and towards the Hagia Sophia, was a great place to enjoy Turkish food. On the ground floor, incongruously, is a British style pub complete with wood paneling, oddments from London and Scotland, and a tartan carpet! They should have brought me in as a consultant - I know a lot about what British pubs should look like!

The hotel was virtually empty, which I found difficult to understand given its excellent location and and superb rooms. It might have been the cavernous, marble-lined foyer which put people off as it was rather reminiscent of a mausoleum. But once past this architectural gaffe the hotel felt welcoming and cosy. The staff were very friendly and helpful, always happy to help with any requests.

Next time I am in Istanbul I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Hagia Sophia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Although I wrote 34 reviews till now, most of them about hotels, I deliberately did not write about anything in my country Turkey, especially Istanbul, where I live, because I thought it might involuntarily be biased, or interpreted as such. Well this will be an exception, because my daughter' s wedding ceremony and celebration party yesterday went so beyond my expectations, that I can not resist writing about it.

We reserved rooms for our guests from Greece which is the country of the groom. They were all very happy and more than content about their experiences. As it might be due to their politeness, and maybe considered hearsay, I will not repeat them here. What I' ll tell you is the wedding organization itself.

1. The 500m2 garden, shared with a North Shields facility was designed so functionally, and stands for the reception cocktail plus tables for the succeeding dinner were so beautifully decorated, that I wonder why some people choose 5* chain hotels for their weddings.

2. The view of Hagia Sophia was impressive even from the garden. Especially after the moon showed up. I did not go up the hotel terrace on first floor, or to my daughter's room on third floor, but there' s no doubt the view is much better.

3. The hotel looked brand new, staff all smiling, always willing to serve. I could not spot anything bad, except for clumsiness due to inexperience of one of them, which can happen anytime, anywhere in the world.

4. The reception stands contained adequate choices and were continually refreshed, along with the drinks, just in time. I drank a white wine that had a fruity flavour. Although I am a raki person, I liked it so much, that I continued with wine throughout the night. The champagne they served right after the ceremony was also well above avarage for Turkey, where good choices are scarce.

5. The dinner content? I am a food lover, and I can only say you can not eat so delicous a 5-course fixed menu anywhere, put aside Istanbul. Hots were served hot, colds were served cold, just in time to all guests, which were around 150.

6. Our guests were so happy about their environment, meals, drinks and service, that almost all of them were dancing with joy on their first opportunity. Everthing went seemless.

They say it is not easy for a father to let his daughter away. You can not avoid the bitterness. Well, having the wedding at such a place does help, beleive me!

Thanks to everyone making this possible.
(By the way, the hotel is not managed by Crowne Plaza anymore. After renovation, the full name has become "Hagia Sophia Hotel Old City Istanbul".)

Room Tip: Of course, one looking at Hagia Sophia, the upper, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CemKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel! The view from the rooms was fantastic, the beds were comfortable, we loved the TV in the mirror and the breakfast was wonderful. The decor is what we expected of a 5 star hotel. There is a terrace that looks out over the main street and a great little pub which is part of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The location is great as you are within walking distance of many attractions and the tram is just one street over with lot's of restaurants and cafe also within walking distance. We all enjoyed the hotel and look forward to coming back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Perfect localization near Hagia Sophia , Kumapi restaurants district and Old City . Perfect view from a window.
Modern hotel with some strange interior equipment. WI-Fi for free but works seldom. If you don't ask to change glasses , cups or towels , you will not get the clean ones ( very very strange in a 5 starr hotel ) .There are no hangers in the bathroom so the towels are all the time wet. Wardrobe so small that the suit is laying on the safe. It is impossible to hang lady dress or a coat in a wardrobe. Rooms not so clean , enaugh light to read , quiet. Acceptable breakfasts . Overall service in the hotel is sufficient . In my opinion the hotel is a bit too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mediterania_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel used to be managed by Crown Plaza, but is now managed as a Boutique (much better). The location is perfect (all rooms on the front view the Hagia Sophia). The hotel has a nice terras in front, with bar (english pub style). The rooms were good, clean, with nice features (tv screen in mirror). Liked the bath room as well. Good, comfortable beds. I was pleasantly surprised, especially because of the location (right in the middle of the old historic centre, yet enough privacy / enough distance from all the tourist traps). Breakfast (food) was good - breakfast room still a little bit crown plaza look and feel (conservative). Overall service in the hotel is sufficient - could be better (sometimes English language is a problem). Check it out - you will not be disappointed. We stayed with a group of 10 (EUR 100 per person including breakfast).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#124 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,238 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#111 of 1,141 in Istanbul
913 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
#210 of 1,141 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City

Property: Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:13 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hagia Sophia)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City , is a deluxe category hotel and situated at Sultanahmet square. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City has opened at 2011. Hotel has 63 rooms categories of deluxe and superior rooms and offers its guest a magnificent service. All rooms has their own espresso machine, wireless internet connection, LCD televisions and general air condition.. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City offers a rich choice of food and beverage services; 2 restaurants, one Garden Restaurant and (an A’la Carte restaurant,) a bar and a café… Hotel is surrounded with all major and cultural landmarks. Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace are in a short walking distance to Hotel which is one of the best choices for leisure guests expecting upscale service. You will be fascinated with direct view of Hagia Sophia Museum when you have a look from your window or enjoy the historical atmosphere while drinking a coffee at unique terrace of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing