We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Ranked #106 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks for the nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in Istanbul for a weekend in January and found this nice hotel. The stuff was always friendly and helpful, we had a really warm welcome. The rooms are quite small, but cosy and equipped with love. We always had the feeling of being welcome. We really enjoyed the breakfast which was made in a adequate Turkish manner. The hotel is quite central, you can walk to the most famous places in like 5 minutes. They have free WIFI and all together a really warm and charming ambience. We look forward of visiting this beautiful hotel again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    82
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
49
268
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed five days in September and felt pampered by the staff. We enjoyed the small size of the hotel, the decor, and the breakfasts; the room was comfortable and clean; and the location was within easy walking distance of the historical attractions and the Sea of Marmara. We felt transported to old Istanbul and recommend the Sultan Tughra wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LabTeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I spent a week at this beautiful Ottoman style hotel straight after the new year, and I was looked after like a true sultan! The Manager Mr Mert is very kind, efficient, professional and he truly cares about all visitors, making sure they are comfortable and happy. Mert and his staff make the environment very relaxed, and keep this small boutique hotel in an immaculately clean condition at all times. The decoration shown in the photos was the main attraction before I booked to stay, but seeing the decor in real life is mesmerising! I absolutely LOVED my stay here and I will return as soon as I can :) I highly recommend this perfect little palace, as a get away from the stress of everyday life. Thank you Mert, and all the staff for giving me a great start to 2014, S.H - London - UK

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Charming little hotel, literally a couple of blocks away from the Blue Mosque. The hotel is located on a quite side street. You are greeted with some Turkish Delight and a bottle of wine, and the staff is alway very eager to assist you with any questions or requests you may have. The room we stayed in had a large mirror on the ceiling as part of the decor, which may or may not be to everyones liking :). If you do stay here, and are planning to travel by taxi, have a print out with a map and the hotel on it. Not all taxi drivers know the hotel or the little street that it's on.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dimitri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Sultan Tughra hotel is a small boutique hotel, only 9 rooms and all of them are decorated in a "sultan style", lots of deep red and gold is every where, the wall papers, the big mirrors and lovely old style phone.
The bath room has a shower only with a very strong stream of hot water- that was lovely.

We were afraid that the red and gold  would be over the top for us but it was the opposite, we loved the decoration.
In our arrival we had a lovely red wine - supplementary along side with some nuts.

The rooms and the hotel is heated 24 hours and it felt very Cousy. The receptionist - Mert is a lovely guy that would help you if you need any help or have any request, always with a smile and if it's appropriate he will joke with you on whatever subject. ( I learnt from him a word or two in Turkish in exchange to okey dockey, which he said that he will never forget).

Our stay was great, but there are a few little things that we think that can make the experience even better; the breakfast is a bit boring and a bit basic: small pieces of cheese, tiny pieces of bread, eggs... It could be nice to get the option for big slices of bread and a toaster, or a fruit salad, or anything sweet to finish off the breakfast, different cheese everyday etc.
Also we got a towel with a big hole in the middle- a shame to miss it.

Overall, lovely hotel, perfect for couples who want to have a relaxing in a quite
Area. 
   

Room Tip: The hotel is located down hills, not good for people with foot problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

first i would like to thanks Mr.Mert in the hotel
he was helpful in all things
the hotel will be 5 star not 4 star
it was excellent
i am very happy to stay in this hotel
also the breakfast was very nice

Room Tip: deluxe room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a57non
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights at the Sultan Tughra in Sultanahmet. This is was the perfect place for our stay and was especially a great value! The hotel is clean, quirky, and close to all of the sites in Sultanahmet. However, it is also tucked in a tiny, quaint, and quiet neighborhood in the very south of Sultanahmet, which gives it a slightly more local feel than if you were staying right in the heart of all of the hotels and other tourist areas in Sultanahmet. There is an amazing local fish restaurant right down the street, which was easily the best meal we had in all of Turkey! Also, the hotel manager Mert was incredibly hospitable, helpful, and friendly. Knowing that we were on our anniversary, he upgraded us, which was incredibly generous of him. I definitely recommend Sultan Tughra, especially if you're on a relatively limited budget... again, it's great value for your travel dollar!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zhp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#49 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#75 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Tughra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Tughra Hotel

Property: Sultan Tughra Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 17 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Tughra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultan Tughra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing