We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A very friendly welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Tughra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sultan Tughra Hotel to your Saves list
Sultan Tughra Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 1,109 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Sultan Tughra hotel and had a wonderful welcome from Mert, who was always ready to help. He has an excellent sense of humour.
The hotel is small with commensurately small bedrooms but with everything we needed and a comfortable bed. The hotel is ideally placed for all the main istanbul attractions - 10 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque. The decor is remarkable - very ornate. Breakfast was very good, the Turkish coffee which Mert produced with no encouragement was delicious and there was a constant supply of Turkish Delight.
An ideal place to stay while visiting the sights of Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJE890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    80
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
257
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My friend and I just came home from an exciting trip to Istanbul. We stayed three nights at Sultan Tughra. The staff was helpful and very patient with our ongoing questions about sights and how to get to... they were so sweet to us and we felt welcomed.
The rooms are clean, not that big but spacious enough for a pleasant stay. Besides that the decor underlines the story of the Ottoman Empire. Red carpets, glitter and gold.
The hotel is perfectly located in the charming and quiet area of Sultanahmet. Close to the grand sights such as The Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar etc.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor. The basement rooms are bigger but have smaller windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mert K, Genel Müdür at Sultan Tughra Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear our valuable guest,
Thank you so much for your review!!.
As a Sultan Tughra Hotel family, receiving your kind review here in İstanbul gives us the most motivation for our family. We appriciate you taking the time to review your stay and we will be very happy to host you again with the same passion at the Sultan Tughra Hotel .

Best Wishes from İstanbul
Mr. Mert KILIÇÖZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and from beginning to end I had a great experience. The staff including Mr, Mert was excellent. He made sure that every guest was taken care, whether it was booking a tour or arranging for a car to take you to the airport customer service is their number one priority. This hotel reminds me of the bed & breakfast hotels we have here in California. The decor and cleanliness of the overall hotel was perfect. My room was downstairs from the main floor. In spite of being close to the stairs it was almost always quiet. My room was small as most rooms in Istanbul are but it was just me so I didn't mind. Every morning I was greeted by Mr. Mert who remembered by name and knew exactly what I wanted to eat including the very delicious Turkish coffee. Since the hotel is off the main tourist street you don't have to listen to the street vendors or drunken tourist shouting in the middle of the night. All in all I enjoyed my trip to Istanbul as well as my stay at the Sultan Tughra.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights here during our first ever Istanbul trip. The place is well decorated with Ottoman colours and furniture. Tughra means the Seal of the Ottoman Sultans which is depicted in the monogram of the hotel. The rooms are a bit compact but good enough to spend the night in. We were first placed in the basement but requested a room on the second floor which the Manager agreed to. The bed was very comfortable and within a 19 bed hotel it was very quiet at night. The hotel is in a little alleyway devoid of any vehicle traffic and noisy neighbourhood. The trek to the core of all the attractions takes about 10 minutes up the hilly terrain so better to be in your runners. The rooms were smartly cleaned daily and the shower, AC and WIFI connection were excellent. The three storey hotel does not have an elevator. The breakfast in the spacious dinning hall was adequate and one could order any type of freshly made eggs. Mert, the young manager was very helpful, spoke good English and always had a smile on his face. Right behind the hotel through the alleyway is the Bosphorus seafront. Make sure you walk along it for some fresh breeze. This hotel is not a bad place if you can get a good deal depending on the season.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MamboJamboToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Quaint hotel with interior decor in traditional Turkish style. Our room on the 1st floor was't the most spacious , but it was always well cleaned and bed comfortable with lavish furnishings. Staff warm and friendly and in particular Mert or Matt who is always helpful. Hotel located within walking distance of all major attractions in the Sultanamet area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bernadettesang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hôtel is located next to most important monuments of the city. The staff is very pleasant and do his best to make your stay perfect. Rooms are confortable and typic. It's very clean and everyday you seem to get the room as if It is the first Time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLB1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Upon arrival, we were welcomed by Mert who was all smiles and extremely helpful. He offered us turkish coffee and turkish delight and even asked if we would like some breakfast. We were upgraded to the king suite, which was a pleasant surprise too! The room was extremely clean and extravagant. The bathroom was very large and the bedroom was a good size too. We were very comfortable and slept very well. Breakfast was very good and they make delicious eggs upon request at no extra cost. Mert and Mehmet went out of their way to make us comfortable throughout our stay. The location is very good, just a short walk from the main sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#36 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#35 of 1,109 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Sultanahmet
Albinas Hotel
Albinas Hotel
#29 of 1,109 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#34 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#85 of 1,109 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Tughra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Tughra Hotel

Property: Sultan Tughra Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,109 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Tughra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sultan Tughra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing