We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Memorable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Tughra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Ranked #71 of 1,106 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
sussex england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Quaint hotel with interior decor in traditional Turkish style. Our room on the 1st floor was't the most spacious , but it was always well cleaned and bed comfortable with lavish furnishings. Staff warm and friendly and in particular Mert or Matt who is always helpful. Hotel located within walking distance of all major attractions in the Sultanamet area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bernadettesang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    83
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
52
270
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hôtel is located next to most important monuments of the city. The staff is very pleasant and do his best to make your stay perfect. Rooms are confortable and typic. It's very clean and everyday you seem to get the room as if It is the first Time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLB1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Upon arrival, we were welcomed by Mert who was all smiles and extremely helpful. He offered us turkish coffee and turkish delight and even asked if we would like some breakfast. We were upgraded to the king suite, which was a pleasant surprise too! The room was extremely clean and extravagant. The bathroom was very large and the bedroom was a good size too. We were very comfortable and slept very well. Breakfast was very good and they make delicious eggs upon request at no extra cost. Mert and Mehmet went out of their way to make us comfortable throughout our stay. The location is very good, just a short walk from the main sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

They have a friendly staff. For me, the decoration is heavy because of the red velvet, but I think it is what a Sultan would have in a Harem! Comfortable bed, clean toilets, nice breakfast and breakfast room. They have small parking zone that was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ikalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has so many good features and the staff are very friendly and helpful and also they speak good English. There are only two things that I'd say you have to consider before booking this place: 1- unless you can afford a taxi, you have to walk a fair distance to any public transport or tourism attractions. We love walking so we didn't mind. 2- There is no lift in the hotel and if your room is in the top floor, then you have to drag your heavy suitcase in the narrow stairway. The staff helped me a lot with my suitcase but still my husband had to do it himself.

Room Tip: Avoid economy rooms, they are located in the basement with close to no natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HodaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sultan in Aug 2013. The Hotel is located about 5-10mins away from the Blue Mosque depending on how quickly you climb hills. The location while only 5-10mins away is tucked away in a location that at night can seem a bit sketchy at first glance. However, during our stay we never felt unsafe. The staff is very friendly. Always available and willing to help. Some speak better english than others but it was never hard to get what we wanted.
Because of another Trip Advisor review we emailed the hotel prior to our stay asking to reserve a top floor room. We ended up getting the suite on 3rd floor and it was great.

One note - The hotel offers a shuttle from the airport for $30 Euro. You can easily find a taxi for 30 Lira at the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pathavi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Mehmet & Matt are wonderful. They knew it was our honeymoon and had a delicious bottle of wine & room upgrade waiting to welcome us to Turkey.

Good: The location is great. The decor is beautiful. The staff are very helpful and speak English fluently. The breakfast had a decent selection. Matt makes the best coffee!

Not great: The rooms are a little small. The views are of the alley & surrounding hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgarza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,106 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#35 of 1,106 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#86 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,106 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,106 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Tughra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Tughra Hotel

Property: Sultan Tughra Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,106 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Tughra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sultan Tughra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing