We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Extensive Selection of Turkish Wines Available in Istanbul”

Sensus Sarap & Peynir
Ranked #557 of 13,534 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Description: Turkish wine and cheese tasting bar / wine cellar tel: 0212 245 56 57
Çankaya, Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Most Extensive Selection of Turkish Wines Available in Istanbul”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Here is the most extensive selection of Turkish Wines available in Istanbul that you can taste and buy.
İts located under the Anemon Hotel next to magnificient Galata Tower that is located between Tunel and of İstiklal Street and the Karaköy shore.
Ther are also several local cheese.
The selection of Turkish Wines is the most extensive I know of and the prices are slightly over süpermarket prices: and for "the wine of the week/ month" its even less!
At any time there are several wines available for tasting and they can open wines for tasting if you interest in buyying.
The best Jazz Club of the town (NARDIS) is almost next door for you to visit...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ufukgunes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice little wine bar”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wanting to try Turkish wine while we were in Istanbul, I made a point of hunting down Sensus, and was not disappointed. Large selection of Turkish wines by the glass, and even larger selection of bottles. I was surprised their menu of little mezzes was so extensive. Even found some obscure Turkish grapes I hadn't heard of before (and I had already tried quite a few). Lived up to my expectations!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Do not expect much from waiters!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Waiters of this restaurant has a very arrogant attitude added with low knowledge on what they serve. They serve wine with meat, but you cannot find any kind of mustard. So, If you really need to go there, order some wine, cheese and enjoy your conversation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uigbigstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The greatest wine collection you can find and taste in Istanbul”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Sensus wine house is hidden in a little cobbled lane of Beyoğlu just a few steps from the Galata Tower. The entrance door has only a small note in English and Turkish "Open/Açik"(the main sign above the door does not really attract any attention), so a regular tourist could simply miss this nice place, situated in a side lane! I was lucky enough to get aquainted with the somelier of Sensus in one of the bars of my friends nearby, and he kindly gave me his business card and explained very carefully how to find them, otherwise, maybe I could never find such a great collection of the Turkish fine wines in one place! Since then I went there time to time just to have a glass or two of wine before or after my lunch. I also tasted some cheeses and sausages there and I enjoyed them, especially with the wine! I also brought my friends there for a little degustation. It's true, that sometimes when this wine cellar is crowded by the organised groups of tourists, the waiters begin go get nervous about the tables and the service become a bit slow. Otherwise, it's a good experience! If you really love wine and are in Istanbul, I would advise you to go to Sensus to have a taste of the real fine Turkish wines for the reasonable prices and to spend some time in a cozy wine cellar, having the chance also to take some wines with you back home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shekhovtsov V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling around the oldest part of Istanbul near Galata. We ran intones did Bar. What a great place. :-)

Try the smoked meat (tutsulu Et)
Pasta
Shah wine

Enjoy !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Levent-Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sensus Sarap & Peynir also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Sensus Sarap & Peynir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing