We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique, affordable cuisine in homely atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klemuri

Klemuri
Ranked #191 of 13,374 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
“Unique, affordable cuisine in homely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have taken friends and family here repeatedly for its cuisine from the Black Sea region, which is consistently quality. I would recommend the Mountain Cheese and Black Sea Mix appetizers.

The family-run restaurant is always friendly and the service is timely and attentive. To top things off, they have outdoor seating on the street when it's warm and a cozy, old-style apartment-esque interior with high ceilings and tasteful decor to dine in when things get colder.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bushies_2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    102
    24
    20
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and tasty food,nice enviroment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went for dinner to this restaurant during our stay in Istanbul and we were very satisfied.The restaurant has a very nice enviroment and the food is delicious!It is very close to Istiklal Caddesi but the road is very quite.The prices were cheap comparing to the other restaurants in the area!I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Splitsko-Dalmatinska, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Split-Croatia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Me and my wife were there today. we were very positive surprised about everything.
The food was tasty and the staff very friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mladen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful oasis of calm and hospitality in the Taksim area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been to Klemuri two or three times now, and have always left more than satisfied.
Klemuri is different to other restaurants in the area, and you notice this as soon as you enter. The space used to be an apartment, and it retains the layout as well as the stuccoed ceiling of fin-de-siecle flats, which lends it a cozy, almost "at home" vibe. The decor is original and little bit quirky, but not in too laboured a manner.
There is no blaring music and not masses of waiters hovering over you. The music is classcal and discrete, and the service unobtrusive and very friendly. The food is also a far cry from the usual "Real Ottoman" fare which you so often get in this part of town and which consist of some meat grilled to death with pilaf... the flavours a subtle and elegant, the portion size is very satisfactory ... I had stuffed dried aubergines with meat in the stuffing, but there are also plenty of vegetarian and vegan options. The príces are very reasonable; we were two, we had soups, a main, a dessert and tea each and paid 48TL in total.
I recommend this place especially after spending time in the always busy Taklsim and Istiklal areas, it will help you come down from the frenzy outside! Finally, I recommend this place to gay and lesbian travellers, it's very gay friendly and in the same building as Lambda Istanbul.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ajthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I liked the dishes, one shouldn't leave Istanbul without trying "fish balls." The place was lovely and prices were honest. Thanks

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stocholmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klemuri also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Klemuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing