We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Chic Hotel in Istanbul!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Georges Hotel Galata
Ranked #115 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

OK after missing a Flight or two we finally got to Istanbul!! and what a Coooooll place this is ...the people are generally warm and welcoming and nice ....but ....this bit later on......but Yes overall the place is gr8 ....good food ....best food to be had at the normal run of mill restaurants not so much the hotels except the Georges of course as they do a gr8 job! Fantastic breakfast unobstrusive service ,efficent thru out ,friendly staff even though we didnt have the best room facing the Bosphores (hope that's how it's spelt) River we had a very cool chic room that was once a surgery of some sort in the streets where one of the oldest building in Istanbul was first built and it's quietly and warmly 5 star ....we've stayed at 5 stars all over and some of them can be so austere and cold ....I'm sure we all know what I mean!!
So all's fine at the Georges except one comment to make about our room was the bathroom ...as cool as it is there wasnt much room around the vanity basin so if one had more then a tooth brush and comb there's no room for anything!!! and the other is the snad blasted glass door in the bathroom its so close to the tiled floor that its hard to close and one always feels geees thais might crack and snap!! apart from that everything else was GR8....now as mentioned b4 watch out for the Taxi drivers !! we've caught taxis from LAto NYC , Paris,London ,Tokyo and Hong Kong but the Istanbul Taxi drivers are the ones to watch out for as on the last day we had a Magician that turned our 20$ note into a 2$ note so we got realllly done .....a not so nice taste in the mouth as a parting gesture ....but apart from that Istanbul was gr8!

Room Tip: Go for the front rooms but they are twice the price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear alan a,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about Georges Hotel Galata.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the city.
Hope to accommodate you soon again!

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 491 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here in May. Fabulous service, phenomenal breakfast and unbeatable location. Only niggle was a few black hairs in the shower and a dead bug that remained for 2 days. Not enough to keep me away. I only left to go to a hotel with a pool for a few day. I'd recommend to any of my well travelled friends!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Anne M,
Thank you for your positive comments about the service, breakfast and location. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We really do apologize for the lack of cleanliness in the shower which is obviously not our standard. We just wanted to mention that we have a contract with a company that provides us monthly pest control service.

Thank you again for your kind feedback.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the George Hotel in Istanbul. From the moment you arrive you know that this hotel has the X factor. The decor is simply superb and very designer chic. The rooms are stylish, very generous with a large ultra comfortable bed, dark oak floors, white wall paneling and superb bathroom. Small attention to detail includes your own Nespresso machine. This hotel would not be out of place in Architectural Digest Magazine. The staff including the beautiful and stylish Justine are very attentive and are committed to ensuring a great guest experience. We simply could not fault this wonderful hotel and very much enjoyed our stay. An outstanding feature of this hotel is the terrace restaurant bar that has to be seen to be believed. The views are some of the best in Istanbul, mesmerising! We enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts each morning on the terrace before we started our exploring Istanbul by walking everywhere. The hotel suggested a half day guide which was a very good call. We were very keen to check out Taksim Square where we had our picture taken with the Police. A very friendly environment with lots of smiles. Quite the opposite to what we had read about or expected before visiting Istanbul. The Hotel is a 3 minute walk to Galatea Tower and many fine restaurants. We walked comfortably to every notable tourist attraction. Make sure you finish your day by dining or enjoying a cocktail on the Terrace to take in the wonderful sunsets and sublime views. The cocktails were the best we had enjoyed since leaving home. Ginger Martini a must! A sincere thanks to everyone at The George Hotel for making our first visit to Istanbul a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Gary W,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Istanbul, as well as, your stay at Georges Hotel Galata.
Thank you so much for your lovely comments!
We would be very happy to accomodate and serve you again soon.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in early July 2013 for 3 nights. It is a beautiful old building, with a great rooftop terrace where we had breakfast each morning. The view from the balcony is simply amazing. The service was also great - when we got there, we had been booked into a very small room, but after alerting the management to this, we were quickly changed to a larger room, with a larger balcony. Nothing was too much trouble - restaurant suggestions, maps of the area etc.

It was a bit unusual that there is no lobby - it is a restaurant - so when checking in or out with suitcases, you end up being perched on barstools awkwardly trying to move out of everybody's way.

The location of the hotel is also terrific - while still in the old part of the city, it is near to lots of restaurants, cafes, great shops and street life - beware, there are lots of very steep hills! We also loved that we could walk across the bridge to Sultanahmet, or take the tram etc.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, book a room with a view - its so beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear FN44,

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Georges and highly recommend us.
We would be more than happy to accommodate you again!

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This small and popular Boutique hotel moments from the Galata Tower has no external signage and taxi drivers from Istanbul Airport or indeed anywhere downtown appear not to know where it is, which for me, especially on arrival, was very irritating and made me wonder what I may have been letting myself in for. On arrival however I was pleasantly surprised when greeted by the very friendly staff who greeted us as we arrived. Reception is also the bar, ground floor dining area which is a bit quirky but makes this hotel quite special.

There are Boutique Hotels and then there are those that aspire to be, but simply are not. The Georges is the former. A real Boutique Hotel with 20 ish rooms which has been sympathetically and beautifully converted from what I am assume was a badly run down Apartment block. It is truly well thought out and equally well appointed. The rooms are full of character and boast exceptionally good showers and among the most comfortable beds and pilliows you will find anywhere.

I would however question the positioning of the in room safes which are concealed beneath the minibars making it a serious challenge, on hands and knees, to access the safe. That could in my opinion be rebooked at.

In room comforts are all very good indeed and if you are lucky enough to be allocated rooms with Bosphorous facing balconies and views, you'll be in for a real treat.

Whilst there are many excellent 5 star hotels in Istanbul and this one is certainly not inexpensive, it is really pretty good and I love the charm, anonymity and service which make it really quite special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellerFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear WorldTravellerFirst,

Thank you for your review and your time.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your suggestion has also been taken into account and we will do our best to continuously improve our services and amenities to offer only the very best to our guests.

Thank you again

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved our stay at Georges Hotel, at the end of June. Our room had a lovely terrace overlooking the Bosphorus. We found the hotel to be quiet,with a very helpful staff and loved having breakfast on the rooftop every morning. Great location for exploring, we would definitely stay at Georges again. Thanks again to Alex and the staff for such a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely view of the Bosphorus, but if not available the rooftop restaurant offers incr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear 5Melanie,

Thank you very much for lovely comments. We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. Comments such as yours are the best reward to our daily work and helps us to continuously improve ourselves.
We hope to see you soon again at Georges.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed in the hotel in June in the ocean view room and was in love with the room initially but found the bathroom had no room to put anything down but the big problem was the noise from the room next door , I could hear them breathe ! and when I complained they were disinterested and offered nothing . I know they could do nothing but this is a very expensive hotel and expected better .

Room Tip: dont have a room without a view as you will be looking at a concrete wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Grant N,

Thank you for your comments.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the deluxe sea view room and that your stay was not as expected. However, we would like to mention that our rooms are not looking at a concrete wall. All room categories, except the superior ones, have a 10 or 15 sqm balcony- some of which have sea view rooms and others are facing to the backside of the building.
We hope to see you again and show you that we can do much better and that Georges Hotel Galata is not only as good as others, but much better.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,036 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#47 of 1,163 in Istanbul
369 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#63 of 1,163 in Istanbul
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#11 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#91 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,802 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#41 of 1,163 in Istanbul
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges Hotel Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Hotel Galata

Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $75 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges Hotel Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a majestic historical building in Galata, the heart of modern day Istanbul, this award-winning hotel offers guest rooms with spacious balconies, breathtaking views and outstanding personalized service. The popular rooftop bar allow spectacular views over the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. Marble bathrooms with walk-in rain showers, parquet flooring and advanced technology are standard in each room at Georges Hotel Galata. Rooms feature a flat-screen TV, an iPod docking station, toiletries, an espresso machine and free Wi-Fi. Guests can take in views of the city while enjoying a drink at the rooftop bar, one of Istanbul's most Instagram-ready spots. Located in the trendy district Galata, the hotel is within 5 minutes' walk of Istiklal Avenue, the Galata Tower and the trendy Karakoy district. The attractions and sights of the historical Old City are just 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georges Hotel Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing