We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to eat & stay in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georges Hotel Galata
Ranked #98 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
izmir
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat & stay in Istanbul”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Perfect location and beautifully designed rooms with great views of the golden horn. The hotel's cosiest restaurant La Fumoir serves some of the best examples of French Bistro Cuisine. We had home made foie gras, coq a vin and roasted marrow bones all excellent. We'll definitely be back for more..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeylaTabrizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Leylos,

We are really excited that you have enjoyed our rooms and our French Restaurant. Now that the nice weather is coming and breakfast can be enjoyed in your room’s balcony, you should not miss this unforgettable experience.
Again we thank you for your time and your comments,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    98
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
249
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
estambul
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I was there last week for business and enjoyed very much my stay at Georges: friendly staff, delicious French food, wines and champagne.
Location was also good as it was close to tram with east connection to old town. Great choice if you go for business or leisure

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pistaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear pistaxo,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay at Georges.
All our team would really be happy to welcome you once again.

Best regards from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I booked this hote with a voew to staying there in May 2012 after seeing the other good reviews on the hotel.

After booking (a deluxe seaview room) I was informed that the hotel could not honour my booking; as they had incorrectly displayed the room as available when it had in fact already been sold.

In order to try and resolved this, they offered me a deluxe room (usually €60 less than deluxe with seaview) with an upgrade to a partial sea-view (usually €20 euro cost which they said they would waive due to the inconvenience) and that they would refund me the difference between the two rooms. The only thing is; they wanted to refund me €9!!!

Offering to resolve double booking a room by ripping off a customer is certainly not what I would call exceptional service and they certainly won't be having my custom now or in the future. After hard negotiation they were willing to give me €19 back from the price of the deluxe with sea view; which would have left me a loss of €41 (€21 if I were paying for the €20 upgrade which they said they would "waive"). This may not be huge sums of money but surely in a situation like this they should at least be offering me the price it would have been to book that room at the time I booked the sold out room?! I strongly advise against booking with this hotel to avoid being conned yourselves and possibly missing out on booking a better deal elsewhere!

Room Tip: Don't book one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank GazFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Gareth Fenney,
We do thank you for your review.
It is worth mentioning that your negative impressions of our hotel before EVEN STAYING WITH US would very much differ if you had tried our rich breakfast at the comfort of your balcony, slept in one of our comfortable beds, talked to one of our kind staff, tried a glass of authentic French champagne or tasted our unique food.
Once we received your reservation we informed the third party website where you had book that unfortunately we did not have any available deluxe sea view room as we just had one left on the day you booked and somebody else had booked it before you. We already bought a software which closes automatically all room categories if not available, so that nobody else will experience the same situation as you. We immediately contacted the website where you booked which asked us if we could offer you some discount. As we just had 2 rooms available we wanted to give you our best deluxe room which has also sea views but from the balcony with a discount on the deluxe room rate applicable on that moment (note that there is no supplement for this room). However we still had our panorama Bosphorus suite available but it seems that there was no interest in this room. It is our best room with unforgettable views to the Bosphorus, old city, Asian side and Ortaköy Bridge and we just have one of it. And we just have one of this type.
Thank you for your comments which helped us to improve our reservation software; we do apologize for the inconveniences and hope that you will visit our Hotel in the future in order to experience our cosmopolitan luxury and personalized attention.

Best regards,
Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Quality, style, very cool area and amazing Bosphorus view. Everything you don't like about chain hotels, this hotel does NOT have.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view will make this stay special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Dan L,

We really appreciate the nice review about Georges Hotel Galata and are happy that we have exceeded your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once more.

Best regards

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights during a business trip. If you are looking for something unique a special this is the right hotel. Unfortunately there was party going on in the restaurant during the first night of our stay which was very loud. But i guess that is not every night like that.
Location is perfect even it is not on a main street. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear atriman,

First of all, let us thank you for the time spent on sharing your comments with us and for the positive feedback.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Georges Hotel Galata and we are looking forward to welcome you next time.

Best regards from Georges Hotel Galata team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This hotel was a great experience through and through. From letting me check in extremely early, to helping guide me thorough Istanbul and restaurant reservations, they made my 24 hours in Istanbul stand out. The location is amazing as well in a really vibrant and creative part of town with lots going on. I wish I could have stayed longer. They are new so i cna only see them getting better!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Igy C,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us and are glad that we were able to meet and even exceed your expectations.
We work on continuously improve ourselves and offer day by day only the very best to our guests.

Kindest regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Excellent place to spend holidays in Istanbul. Charming hotel, great location, charismatic team who is always available and willing to help/ please. Definitely recommend the hotel as it is the cherry on the cake to make a trip to Istanbul unforgettable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofiacsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Sofiacsa,

We appreciate very much the lovely comments about your stay at Georges Hotel Galata and are pleased that you have enjoyed it so much. We really look forward to welcome you once more when your travel plans bring you back to Istanbul.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#10 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Beyoglu
Corinne Hotel
Corinne Hotel
#120 of 1,156 in Istanbul
323 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#17 of 1,156 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#57 of 1,156 in Istanbul
664 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#7 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,009 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#41 of 1,156 in Istanbul
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges Hotel Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Hotel Galata

Property: Georges Hotel Galata
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges Hotel Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a majestic historical building in Galata, the heart of modern day Istanbul, this award-winning hotel offers guest rooms with spacious balconies, breathtaking views and outstanding personalized service. The popular rooftop bar allow spectacular views over the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. Marble bathrooms with walk-in rain showers, parquet flooring and advanced technology are standard in each room at Georges Hotel Galata. Rooms feature a flat-screen TV, an iPod docking station, toiletries, an espresso machine and free Wi-Fi. Guests can take in views of the city while enjoying a drink at the rooftop bar, one of Istanbul's most Instagram-ready spots. Located in the trendy district Galata, the hotel is within 5 minutes' walk of Istiklal Avenue, the Galata Tower and the trendy Karakoy district. The attractions and sights of the historical Old City are just 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Georges Hotel Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing