We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #81 of 1,050 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Like coming home”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here August 2012 so when retuning to Istanbul there was only one place to stay. The reception staff remembered us and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is ideally placed for easy access to all the attractions round the Blue Mosque area yet far enough away to avoid almost all traffic noise. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good. Great place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdunchob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    143
    41
    17
    41
See reviews for
83
162
69
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked a seaview room months in advance along with an airport pickup. The van arrived one hour late -- not the best start. They said it was traffic, but all the Istanbul drivers know how bad traffc is, so they should know how much time to allocate.

When we arrived, we got the same story as many other guests. The hotel was full, so we would not have our seaview room as reserved. If possible, they would give us the "best" seaview room the second night. I'm not sure we would have gotten it if we hadn't pushed the issue in the morning.

Based on all the other coments, it appears they are purposefully overbooking the few seaview rooms in order to fill the hotel. My guess is that they give it to the guests that paid the highest rate.

Overall the rooms and the hotel are fine, and we got a decent price, but their bait and switch with the rooms is dishonest and disappointing. For this reason, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cybersee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I booked this hotel on Late Rooms and paid 39 Euros for a standard single room. My booking was confirmed on email so never thought anything of it. I arrived late in Istanbul at for 1 night stopover. Grabbing a taxi from the airport at a cost of 50 Turkish Lira and arrived in Sultanahmet the location of the hotel. Firstly I noted it is a difficult hotel to find especially late at night so we drove around for 10 minutes down poorly lit back streets trying to find it.
When I arrived my initial thought was disappointment with the hotel décor but then as I entered things took a turn for the worse. The man on reception had no knowledge of my booking. I produced my email and he said it did not matter because the hotel was full. To cut a long storey short the hotel had rebooked my room and not bothered to notify either Late Rooms or myself of any problems with my booking.
The man on reception was very rude and threatening towards me. Not the customer services you would expect to say the least. He wouldn’t help me find alternative accommodation. Wouldn’t let me use the hotel WIFI it was a terrible experience. I had no choice but to walk out on the street and find another hotel. After 15 minutes I found the Sultan House Hotel which had 1 room double left. I was so happy.
I made Late Rooms aware and they replied to all my emails promptly. I had no problems with them as it was solely the hotels fault. They tried to get answers from the hotel but think they are still waiting. Anyway Late Rooms compensated me for my experience so fair play.
My advice is, If you are thinking of booking this hotel don’t! You have been warned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven-AVFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelblue i, Manager at Blue Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the Blue istanbul hotel. I am so sorry that you had a hard time to find out our hotel. Istanbul is a big metropolis and usually taxi drivers are getting advantage of this with tourists.
That is why we strongly recommend our guests to order airport pick-up service from our hotel. For the guests who chose to use public transportation we provide a detailed explanation of the directions.
As you wrote about overbooking and receptionist attitude and i am sure that these kinds of mistakes will not gonna happen again in our property during your next visit.we would like to tell you employees of hotel has been changed who involved in this case.
As blue istanbul hotel it is very important that all our guests leave our hotel happily. For that reason I already explained I would do my best to change your unpleasant memories with good ones. Please feel free to contact myself directly if you are travelling to Istanbul again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Please do accept my apologies.
Kindest regards,
Enes demir,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked this hotel way in advance for 8 of us, emailed them regularly and received communications from them to confirm our requests. We also booked 2 airport pick-ups as some of our party were arriving from different destinations. Both times, besides confirmation no car was sent to the airport, when we called them to find out the whereabouts of our transport they said just wait there the car is stuck in traffic, after 2 hours of waiting around we called back and they said just take a taxi yourselves the car isnt coming! They did this twice in the same day. They then made us wait 2 hours in reception and said we would stay there for one night and be moved to a different room the next night, as we were in Istanbul only for 2 nights, this was not acceptable. They ended up giving us rooms that were clean and tidy breakfast was adequate and sufficient, but as with all hotel rooms in Sultanhamet they were tiny.
When we spoke to the manager about pick-ups, he was extremely rude and said they would move our stuff to the basement rooms on the next day as we were complaining. Where in the world is the Turkish hospitality and customer service? I said fine you do that and I will call the local Police, so they backed off. This was my 5th trip to Istanbul and the worst hotel experience of the lot! Please look for other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabiha54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Québec
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were welcomed (after a 30-hour oversea trip) by the manager (Yacob) who informed us that there was an overbooking situation (due to Booking.com according to him). He moved us to the hotel next door which was new and comfortable. There was at least another guest in the same situation. He promised us a large room for the following 2 nights. When we tried to access our room at 1;30 pm the next day, there no large room and they made us wait 30 minutes to clean a room for us. The room was very small (45 cm max around the bed). I had to negotiate a reduction for the trouble.The manager appears to be more interested in profit than in service. There are millions of tourists in Istanbul every year. He does not seem to care too much about customer satisfaction.
The location is superb to visit le Blue Mosque and the other historical sites. The breakfast is very generous and the Wi-Fi works fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertrand48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

favoloso,very clean,hard to find but good location,if u ask the staff you'll find the nearest way to the blue mosque,room is a little bit small for 3 people,but it's ok.anywhy, if u want to book, just do it.
但是留言一定要写上200多字才可以么!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citta di Castello, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On the plus side this hotel was very clean, good bathroom and shower, great breakfast if you got down by about 9 am, quiet, very convenient for the Hippodrome, etc. On the downside, we had booked a 'Deluxe double room with sea view' about 3 months before trip and requested a room on the 4th or 5th floor. On arrival we were told that for the first night we would have a normal double room (which turned out to be very small) and then we could change for the remaining 4 nights. We were given a 10 percent discount for the first night. The second room was bigger because it was a triple but on the 3rd floor and the sea view was minimal. Receptionist very friendly and seemed helpful but there were some niggly problems about airport transfer and early breakfast on the last morning. Also, we'd booked through the hotel website because they offered a 5 percent discount for payment in cash but when we came to pay, we were told that this was no longer an option. We argued the point and eventually got the discount. Having just rechecked the website, we note that this 5 percent is still offered - so beware!

Room Tip: Standard double room 504 is very small. Triple Room 302 is a good size for 2 people but the sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#550 of 1,147 in Istanbul
109 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#299 of 1,147 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#475 of 1,147 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#231 of 1,147 in Istanbul
312 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#460 of 1,147 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Beyoglu
Blue Istanbul Hotel Taksim
Blue Istanbul Hotel Taksim
#90 of 1,201 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Istanbul Hotel

Property: Blue Istanbul Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Caddesi Dizdariye Cesme Sokak No 49, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,050 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Istanbul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 450 metres from the historical Blue Mosque, Blue Istanbul Hotel is situated in the historic Sultanahmet district with comfortable soundproofed rooms and free WiFi. Some rooms also offer beautiful views of the Marmara Sea. Tastefully decorated, all rooms feature modern furniture, floor-to-ceiling windows and light interiors. Air conditioning, an LCD TV with satellite and cable channels and a minibar are included in every room. There is a restaurant and a bar at Blue Istanbul Hotel. Meals are served as an open buffet. Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern and Topkapi Palace are all 800 metres from the hotel. Sultanahmet Tram Stop is only 600 metres away, offering easy access to many other sites of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Blue Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing