We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some pluses and some minuses!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #424 of 1,113 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On the plus side this hotel was very clean, good bathroom and shower, great breakfast if you got down by about 9 am, quiet, very convenient for the Hippodrome, etc. On the downside, we had booked a 'Deluxe double room with sea view' about 3 months before trip and requested a room on the 4th or 5th floor. On arrival we were told that for the first night we would have a normal double room (which turned out to be very small) and then we could change for the remaining 4 nights. We were given a 10 percent discount for the first night. The second room was bigger because it was a triple but on the 3rd floor and the sea view was minimal. Receptionist very friendly and seemed helpful but there were some niggly problems about airport transfer and early breakfast on the last morning. Also, we'd booked through the hotel website because they offered a 5 percent discount for payment in cash but when we came to pay, we were told that this was no longer an option. We argued the point and eventually got the discount. Having just rechecked the website, we note that this 5 percent is still offered - so beware!

Room Tip: Standard double room 504 is very small. Triple Room 302 is a good size for 2 people but the sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 475 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had booked this hotel via booking.com for more than 4 months. I received an email from the hotel confirming everything was fine and we even agreed on an airport pickup. However, when I arrived in the hotel I was told they had overbooked and I had to spend the first night in a nearby hotel. This is unacceptable given they had confirmed all was fine and didn't even warned me they might have to move me.

I had to carry my luggage back to this hotel from the other, and I found the hotel extremely noisy and the street it is in looks really run down. There are plenty of hotel two streets above in a much nicer and well lit area.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms and try to get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel 8 months ago through booking.com. The booking was confirmed.
Five days before I was due to fly out the hotel emailed me and requested I cancel the booking. They claimed a new receptionist was readjusting the prices. It is clear they could rent the room for more than was agreed on my contract. The staff at Booking.com tried to help but the response from the Blue Istanbul Hotel was less than helpful - they said we could turn up and if they had a room they would give it to us, otherwise they would send us to another Hotel. This is highly unsatisfactory for us. Needless to say we booked elsewhere, fortunately there are many choices. I must emphasise that the customer service from booking.com was good and it was through no fault of theirs. So, thumbs down to the Blue Istanbul from me!!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank erikor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelblue i, Manager at Blue Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

As NEW Manager of the hotel, I would like to express my sadness for any inconvenience you have experienced in Blue istanbul hotel.
Thank you for your comments which helped us to improve our reservation software, staff attitude; we do apologize for the inconveniences and hope that you will visit our Hotel in the future in order to experience our cosmopolitan luxury and personalized attention.
And we are in old sultanahmet area of istanbul. As you have seen the streets are bumpy small and thin. You can imagine internet problem happen sometimes when people login to internet at sametime. Sometimes we get reservation online but we don’t get fax so we cannot know that we got reservation or not.
we would be happy to accommodate you once more to show you that we can do much better and offer you the magical stay our guests expect.

Looking forward to host you another time,
Best Regards,
Enes Demir,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent 4 days in Istanbul in Feb 2013. The staff was extremely friendly. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. The only thing is if you are light sleepler, make sure you contact the hotel and request a room that will have min impact from the morning prayers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rice_essence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived to Istanbul on February 4, 2013. We requested to be picked up from the airport by the hotel and we are glad we did so. The pick-up was right on time, an excellent driver and a perfect ride. The hotel itself is clean and new. We have reserved the budget room, but the hotel manager advised us that we will not be comforted at it and he offered us an upgrade to a better room at only 50 Euros.

The hotel location is perfect, just 5 minutes walk from the SultanAhmet (Blue Mosque) area. Also, there's a mini-market right in-front of the hotel.

The staff is very helpful, always smiling specially Mohamed and Omer. They made us feel like we are at home.

The breakfast buffet was nice,,, it has some variety but it's not a very big buffet, and I was so sad because it didn't contain the famous Turkish lentil soup!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Blue Istanbul :)

Room Tip: Sea-View rooms are lovely,,, budget room is very small and doesn't have neither a mini-bar nor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heba_Allam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a very positive experience at this hotel about 2 months ago during our brief visit to beautiful Istanbul. Our sea view room on the 5th floor was luxurious, comfortable and very clean. We made friends with the staff immediately and they made us feel right at home. The Turkish buffet breakfast was quite diverse and delicious. The location was slightly off the main street but it was very central to all the attractions. We would definitely go back and have recommended this hotel to friends!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel this January at room 301 with a sea view. There are also sea-view rooms on 4th and 5th floor, i guess the view is much better from those.
The stuff is friendly, english speaking mostly.
Room was cleaned everyday. There is a TV, refrigirator and free WI-FI. I had electrick kettle with tea-bags and sugar. I love it! There's a small market right across the street.

The only minus I found in this hotel was breakfast. The worst i can remember! It was from 8 to 10 am, but when i came at 8-30 usually half of food was gone. Especially hot food. I saw a toster but never saw a piece of toast-bread. I found mold on cheese. Awful!

There were no problems with booking. I booked tickets on booking com and got a letter from the hotel with conformation. Also was suggested a transfer from the airport for 25 euro. The transfer was very good both sides. It is located 5 minutes walk from Divan yolu that leads straght to the main sightseeings. You can easily get everywhere just walking. Or use a tram. I stayed alone, but didn't feel scared to walk after sunset. In winter it gets dark after 5pm. First day it was difficult to find the right direction even using map, but later I knew all possible ways to get where i wanted to.

Room Tip: Sea view is a thing to pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulbesheker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Reyyan Hotel
#236 of 1,175 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#29 of 1,175 in Istanbul
718 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#841 of 1,175 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#464 of 1,175 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Sultanahmet
Blue Istanbul Suites
Blue Istanbul Suites
#783 of 1,113 in Istanbul
12 reviews
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#19 of 1,113 in Istanbul
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Istanbul Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Caddesi Dizdariye Cesme Sokak No 49, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $16 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Istanbul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 450 metres from the historical Blue Mosque, Blue Istanbul Hotel is situated in the historic Sultanahmet district with comfortable soundproofed rooms and free WiFi. Some rooms also offer beautiful views of the Marmara Sea. Tastefully decorated, all rooms feature modern furniture, floor-to-ceiling windows and light interiors. Air conditioning, an LCD TV with satellite and cable channels and a minibar are included in every room. There is a restaurant and a bar at Blue Istanbul Hotel. Meals are served as an open buffet. Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern and Topkapi Palace are all 800 metres from the hotel. Sultanahmet Tram Stop is only 600 metres away, offering easy access to many other sites of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing