We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & staff, average hotel”
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #300 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Recently stayed 5 nights, location was ideal, 5 mins walk from blue mosque with plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby. Our room was very small (other rooms were not, think we were just unlucky) and breakfast was basic but for the price I wouldn't complain. Staff were extremely helpful and seemed very genuine, would probably pay a little bit more to stay somewhere bigger with better breakfast next time!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gembem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Maritime Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 302 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed in Sultan Ahmed area , and in Maritime hotel for 6 nights ,.
really nice hotel ,, staff are very helpful , really very kind they tried to help me bu all manners , they can organize trips for u , they helped me carry my staff to my room every night , they gave me map and also direct me to the ways how to go ,, really i appreciate the especially ,, Ozgur a very kind person , and ismail , and ozluz.. and the one who cook in kitchen is very good,
position of hotel is good about 10 mins. sultan ahmed mosque and 15 mins from tram station.
breakfast is also good and nice ,
but what i dislike is the cleaning the women who is resposible is not professional bed sheet was not changed daily some dust at corners and bath room is not cleaned every day
room size is adequate regarding the small hotels and rooms in this area in istanbul
there is a shop infront of hotel which is nice also and nice prices, u can buy water milk cheese even souvonirs
also there was no lift and also the stairs are twisted in a danger way so you should be careful when going up or down or holding something
thanks to the helpful staff the helpful cooker thanks to maritime hotel that they made the time nice in istanbul

Room Tip: its better to choose a room in first floor , as basement floor is noisy and the second floor is high...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmorsi2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Spent 4 nights recently in Istanbul. The hotel is located in a very quiet street in Sultanahmet, only 10 min away from Blue Mosque. Fantastic breakfast, modern and clean rooms make this hotel a great value for money.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank IvV-1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at the Mari Time for a week as working in Turkey, the room was excellent, the staff were superb, the food was fantastic everytime

Would not stay anywhere else when in this area, the locals are very friendly and made our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giantme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was really upset with this hotel, when, after exchanging several emails about staying there, they gave our family room to someone else even though I had sent a deposit. I understand that emails can cross and there are time differences but really, this was not okay. I have travelled all over the world and NEVER had this experience. I have not stayed here and it looked lovely but people should be aware of this when dealing with them.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank sally63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 weeks as guests at Mari Time, and for location, service, and overall value, this place is hard to beat. Defne and her top notch staff made our stay very memorable. Everything that you could ever want or need to know about Istanbul, or Turkey for that matter is right there for you in a cheerful and most welcoming atmosphere. These folks really know their business!
Conveniently located just a few minutes walk from Topkapi Sarayi, Aya Sofya, and Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque, those alone could keep you busy for a lifetime. Also nearby is one of my favorite, less visited sights, the Kuçuk (Little) Aya Sofya mosque. Sort of a practice run for the giant sized Aya Sofya, if you're staying at Mari Time, don't miss it!
The staff at Mari Time deserve a lot of praise. Everyone tries their very best to make sure you are comfortable. My wife and I were celebrating our birthdays during the 2 weeks spent and were both treated to delicious birthday cakes complete with singing and sparklers on our respective days. Who does stuff like that? The rooms were clean and cozy. The shower hot. Buffet breakfast was tasty and had a little bit of everything, but get there early for best selection. A special shout out to front desk receptionists Bulent and Anil for being extral helpful! And of course Defne who holds it all together. You guys rock!! On top of everything, the price was very low for the quality and service we received. I can't really say enough about the Mari Time. Just go, and let them take care of you. You'll be happy you did!

Room Tip: Street side rooms are probably quieter in the morning. People with trouble walking should request a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Campodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived the service was exemplary and we were thoroughly spoilt. We were also contacted, ahead of our arrival, for a complimentary transfer. There were so many things that made our stay wonderful. One thing amazing staff, perfect location. The view from the terrace was simply amazing. The breakfast was the best we’ve had at any hotel with amazing quality and variety. Another example of the service was even after we had checked out, the staff still notified us of a transfer cancellation, which gave us time to organise alternative transport. Overall this was a relaxing and amazing accommodation and we would recommend this. We would definitely return given the opportunity. All the staff were great. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ayşegül K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#92 of 1,159 in Istanbul
90 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#518 of 1,159 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#140 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#83 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#894 of 1,159 in Istanbul
358 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#132 of 1,159 in Istanbul
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mahallesi, Cayiroglu Sokak No.9, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $31 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maritime Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mari Time Hotel is one of Little Hagia Sophia most important Design Hotel situated at the heart of Istanbul historic peninsula; at the Roman empire's Hippodrome, the Ottomans' Concourse, or Turkey's Sultan Ahmet square - where remarkable history unfolds -Treat yourself to a dream whre the matchless beauty, dynamism and vitality of the megacity that joins the two continents, at Mari Time Hotel, known for its proximity to all historic and cultural spots at the city centre. With its concept architecture, exquisite decoration and HIP service, Mari Time Hotel offers appealing, custom-designed rooms. Historic sites such as Topkapi Palace, the Hagia Sophia Museum, the Basilica Cistern, the Blue Mosque ,Museum of Archaelogy, the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Bazaar are but a few steps away from our hotel, wich will ease your experience of the nearby shopping centres and Taksim Plaza,the hub of the city's famous nightlife, and unforgettable Bosphorus cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing