We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Violet Suite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Violet Suite
Ranked #258 of 1,246 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in room #7 (penthouse) with the sizeable roof terrace, which is a lovely space to have access to in such a built-up area. The protest was on-going prior to our arrival and we were concerned about travelling as the apartment is very close to the square (usually a very good thing given the food/nightlife/transport options) and much better than staying in the old town. However, Sue the owner emailed us regular updates on the situation, which was extremely reassuring as if we had just gone by the (overblown) media coverage we may not have travelled.

Sue and her husband are extremely warm and welcoming. As soon as they heard the main entrance door to the apartments open they would come to their office door (adjacent) just to greet you every morning. Sue gave us lots of useful information in getting around and all her recommendations for eating out were good (all listed on a handy map she provides you with on arrival). She booked a tour for us using their regular tour company (we did the classic walking tour) and this was a good trip, value for money with an excellent guide (Aman). We also did the Bosphorus cruise (short circle tour), but don't bother purchasing the audio guide as it is rubbish and from Taksim square you can also get a bus up to visit the amazing Chora Church and Pierre Loti. There is an organised tour you can do, but it is actually quite easy and much cheaper to do it yourself. We were also thinking about having a Turkish bath, but read the (often hilarious) reviews before you go, which were totally off-putting unless you are into naked massage with attitude.

Just around the corner there is a little shop open 24 hours that should have everything you need (although we ate out all the time) and the apartment is very well situated close to the square and access to the main transport connections, shopping area (Istiklal), and a fantastic tavern lined avenue (Nevizade). In the immediate locale you will find plenty of good places to eat and particularly a cake/coffee shop which was one of the few places that sold chocolate baklava, which is just heavenly.

The apartment itself was of a very high standard, comfy beds, good quality towels and bedding and it was very clean and secure, all in all extremely good value for money. It was also very quiet; the only residents we ever heard were the gulls on the rooftops.

The square itself is without doubt the people watching capital of the world - on our last night we ate in the rooftop restaurant at the Marmara hotel (beautiful Bosphorus views) followed by cocktails on the terrace (the best margaritas) and just sat back and enjoyed the normal comings and goings on the square for hours. We will definitely go back one day as Istanbul is just a fantastic place to visit and we wouldn't hesitate to rebook at Marti Apartments.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHoBo_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you so much for all your comments and kind words! We definitely hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

About 10 mins walking distance to the taksim
square. Clean and comfortable place to stay
with groceries shop and mini market surrounding
the area. Good if u want to cook your own food as
it comes with mini kitchen.
You can reach the place by taking
Havatas bus from airport at 5 TL. Also it is
near metro, beside the Havatas station as well.
However, it will takes longer transportation route
to the sultanahmet area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments!

One quick note is that the Havatas airport shuttle is 10 TL from Ataturk airport and 13 TL from Sabiha Gokcen airport, not 5 TL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Marti Apartments is a fantastic place to stay in the Taxim Square area of Istanbul. My friends and I were there for 5 nights the and found it to be an oasis in the center of a busy city. Sue and her husband were accommodating and extremely helpful to us. The room we stayed in, #1, was perfect for my husband and I and was very comfortable. The kitchenette was a plus so we could make tea and coffee in the morning without having to go out and we could store cold drinks and other items in the refrigerator. We had a small patio so our friends we were traveling with could come by for drinks prior to going out for the evening.

Room Tip: patio off room #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We really enjoyed hosting your adventurous group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were greeted as friends when we arrived and we given the best information during our 3 day stay.Unfortunately the political protest had started a couple of days before we arrived and Sue went to the trouble of contacting us to keep us informed of the situation.
The apartment was just what we needed after our travels around the country, having the facilities to be able to prepare something for yourself made a nice change,
The laundry was an absolute bonus and the bed was the most comfortable we had in our travels in Turkey.
We came as guests and left as friends, particularly on our departure with Sue and Yahya treating us to tea and pastries while we waited for our transport to the airport.
Jan and Lester and friends Gerry and Ray.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthiaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

It was a real pleasure to host your fun group! Thank you very much for your kind words - we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Marti Apartments. Sue has been very helpful to response my thousand questions even before we have not arrived Istanbul yet.
Apartment was perfect! very clean, good location. I liked a small shop near by, you can buy fresh vegetables and make a simple breakfast with your kitchen. You can feel like you are living at Istanbul. I will absolutely stay Marti Apartment for my next trip to Istanbul!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments! We enjoyed hosting you and would love to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marti Apartments. Sue and Yahya, the owners, have an office next door and are the most wonderful and knowledgeable people about Istanbul and Turkey. They were very accommodating, responsive to all our queries, and provided everything we needed. The apartment was very nice, even if it's small. My only wish was if there were a little tiny couch to sit on but there were chairs with a table. The shower has great pressure. The kitchen has everything you need and the balcony is lovely. The mattress was much harder than what we were used but it was small compared to the rest of our experience. We just felt really welcomed. Sue loaned me her tourism book on Istanbul so I was glad as I didn't have one. You can have them print your tickets to events or directions anywhere, and get their personal advice on where to go, how much to bargain, and where to eat. They are there at at the office all day but then totally available via email if you need anything at all. The Marti apartments and especially Sue and Yahya made our Istanbul stay simply unforgettable. Thank you! We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prolificliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your constructive comments! We appreciate your feedback. It was a pleasure to meet and host you and we hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The list of superlatives regarding the Marti Apartments is almost endless; six of us stayed in four different apartments over a two week period. From the get go, the communications with Sue were clear, dependable and timely; I especially appreciated that Sue could respond in English which made arrangements so much easier. The apartments themselves are well appointed, modern and eminently practical. The location is well situated for travel anywhere in the city and any transfers we needed were arranged easily. Sue and Yahya could not be more accomodating and graciously helpful as hosts. We felt very comfortable and were given much sound advice and insider tips about the surrounding area and places to visitor restaurants to try. Just around the corner is a 24 hour grocery store for food, wine and staples (Medusa) as well as a Kebob grill right on the corner. Istanbul is one of the most exciting cities in the world but it would not have been as magical and marvellous without the assistance and hospitality of the Marti owners.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoBoLasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

We truly enjoyed hosting your group and hope you make it back to Istanbul again! Thanks for your wonderful review - we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#744 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,797 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,667 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#75 of 1,163 in Istanbul
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Suite

Address: Feridiye Caddesi, No. 87 | Kocatepe Mah., Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey (Formerly Marti Apartments)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 1,246 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $77 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Violet Suite is a hotel which caters to the independent traveler who wishes to experience what it's like to live in the city they are visiting. If you want to relax at home, watch TV, listen to your music, drink beer or wine, and make a sandwich or light meal instead of eating every meal out, then we are what you are looking for. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing