We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very modern!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Violet Suite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Violet Suite
Ranked #161 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very modern!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I enjoyed staying at Marti Apartments for two nights. The apartments are located close to the Taksim Square. At Taksim Square you will find the Metro and there stops the bus from/to the Atatürk Airport. The apartment was very modern, quiet and CLEAN!!! They even had a welcoming drink for us in the fridge as we arrived in the middle of the night - perfect service, great hosts. WLAN was included and everything that you could need in the kitchenette. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments! Although your stay was short, we enjoyed having you around. Maybe next time you can stay for a longer visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    19
    2
    1
    13
See reviews for
18
71
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

A perfect place to stay for a visit in Istanbul. The studio and also the house looked very nice (newly renovated) and was very clean. The furnishing is very modern & tasteful and the kitchen was also very well equiped. The studios are located only 3 minutes walk from Taksim Square. It is very easy to get everywhere from Taksim Square and it is the center of the city - the beginning of the shopping, bar and restaurant area (Istaklal St.). Sue and her husband are very nice and helpful. Next visit we will stay again in Sue's apartment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We enjoyed hosting you both and talking with you about our shared experiences! We hope to see you again, and thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Marti apartments are located in a quiet side street 3 minutes off Taksim and Beyoglu party and shopping area. It is a newly renovated old house with 7 apartments (huge for NYC standards, average-small for Berlin standards, i assume average for Istanbul standards), modern and tasteful furnishings, functional W-lan, and a small kitchen area - to prepare basic dishes and cool your wine or beer from the neighboring 24/7 grocery and food stores.
The (one) penthouse apartment offers ample space according to any standard and a nice terrace to gather for the sundowner and a nice view over the roofs of Beyoglu (not the Bosporus, though).
Friends of the cash-filled multinational that owns the half eaten fruit logo will find co-aficionados and docking stations in the apartments.
The hosts did offer and quickly realize help in many organizational and tourism related aspects and did literally everything to make our stay a pleasant and easy one - which it turned out to be. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tianjama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We enjoyed hosting your whole family and hope we will see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Marti Apartments for 5 days at the end of July - beginning of August, 2012. Location is perfect - close to public transportation and Taksim Square, yet in a residental neighborhood that allowed for some quiet time. Washer and dryer in the building was a big bonus and one amenity that we definitely took advantage of. The owners were so kind and helpful, suggesting the best places to shop, visit, eat, printing out our boarding passes and even calling our transfer company to explain exactly where the apartment was in Turkish! The building is very secure and has a code that you need to type in to get into the building. One evening there was an issue with the door and the owners took action immediately to make sure the door was fixed within the hour. We will be returning to Turkey and when we do, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlobx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We really enjoyed hosting you both. Your positive, smiling faces really added to the ambience of the place! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

A wonderful building in the very heart of the city, close to all main transport lines and the big streets for shopping or visiting. The personnel is very friendly and helpful, always here to help or guide you, and the apartments are made anew - very comfy bed, all equipped, great shower. Not so noisy in the night, though it's on a busy street. All together, an awesome place to stay and relax during holidays in Istanbul!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spooffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments! If you ever come back to Istanbul, we hope to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in Sues #1 apartment for 3 days in August and found it to be well equiped, clean and Sue to be so helpful with anything. The Funicular was closeby, and then using a travel card it was easy to go anywhere. The cost was excellant and do not be put off by the somewhat dingy area of Taksim. It is vibrant and there are many places to eat decently as well as many handy little superettes if you want to cook in house rather. It also had an excellant a/c unit - it was really a hot time 35 deg +
We have travelled all over the world and have to rate the apartment as among the best value for maoney we have come across. Colin and Shirley from SA

Room Tip: Always find out exactly where the nearest public transport is and check it for yourself on Google. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beemer535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed hosting you as our first guests from South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Marti Apartments Caddesi, No. 87 | Kocatepe Mah., Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey when we arrived in Istanbul. We stayed for three nights.... Loved it! The unit was clean, comfortable, and just what we had hoped for. The location, just a few blocks from Taksim square, was perfect.
Sue the owner was beyond wonderful, she had all the information we need for anything and everything. We look forward to coming back.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OspreyElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We already miss seeing your smiling faces!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#350 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#156 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#231 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#127 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Suite

Property: Violet Suite
Address: Feridiye Caddesi, No. 87 | Kocatepe Mah., Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey (Formerly Marti Apartments)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Violet Suite is a hotel which caters to the independent traveler who wishes to experience what it's like to live in the city they are visiting. If you want to relax at home, watch TV, listen to your music, drink beer or wine, and make a sandwich or light meal instead of eating every meal out, then we are what you are looking for. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing