We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home away from home in Istanbul”
Review of Violet Suite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Violet Suite
Ranked #258 of 1,246 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Marti Apartments for 5 days at the end of July - beginning of August, 2012. Location is perfect - close to public transportation and Taksim Square, yet in a residental neighborhood that allowed for some quiet time. Washer and dryer in the building was a big bonus and one amenity that we definitely took advantage of. The owners were so kind and helpful, suggesting the best places to shop, visit, eat, printing out our boarding passes and even calling our transfer company to explain exactly where the apartment was in Turkish! The building is very secure and has a code that you need to type in to get into the building. One evening there was an issue with the door and the owners took action immediately to make sure the door was fixed within the hour. We will be returning to Turkey and when we do, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlobx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We really enjoyed hosting you both. Your positive, smiling faces really added to the ambience of the place! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 154 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

A wonderful building in the very heart of the city, close to all main transport lines and the big streets for shopping or visiting. The personnel is very friendly and helpful, always here to help or guide you, and the apartments are made anew - very comfy bed, all equipped, great shower. Not so noisy in the night, though it's on a busy street. All together, an awesome place to stay and relax during holidays in Istanbul!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spooffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your nice comments! If you ever come back to Istanbul, we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in Sues #1 apartment for 3 days in August and found it to be well equiped, clean and Sue to be so helpful with anything. The Funicular was closeby, and then using a travel card it was easy to go anywhere. The cost was excellant and do not be put off by the somewhat dingy area of Taksim. It is vibrant and there are many places to eat decently as well as many handy little superettes if you want to cook in house rather. It also had an excellant a/c unit - it was really a hot time 35 deg +
We have travelled all over the world and have to rate the apartment as among the best value for maoney we have come across. Colin and Shirley from SA

Room Tip: Always find out exactly where the nearest public transport is and check it for yourself on Google. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beemer535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed hosting you as our first guests from South Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Marti Apartments Caddesi, No. 87 | Kocatepe Mah., Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey when we arrived in Istanbul. We stayed for three nights.... Loved it! The unit was clean, comfortable, and just what we had hoped for. The location, just a few blocks from Taksim square, was perfect.
Sue the owner was beyond wonderful, she had all the information we need for anything and everything. We look forward to coming back.

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank OspreyElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We already miss seeing your smiling faces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Couldn't have been much better. In the north of Beyoglu and close to Taksim Square but on a quiet street with a grocery store just outside. Clean, spacious, has a kitchenette, good beds, TV and the owners are on hand to help. Can't fault it and hope to be back.

Room Tip: The penthouse has a great terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sho12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We appreciate your comments. We would love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Marti Apartments for 3 months from April-July 2012. We stayed in the penthouse and one of the smaller rooms as well. I can't say enough positive things about the apartments and the staff. Sue, Yahya and Cuneyt made our stay so comfortable. They are great people and have paid attention to every detail of hospitality. The washer and dryer are very convenient and the rooms are very modern, decorated in Ikea furnishings. The location is ideal - very close to public transport (5-10 minute walk), restaurants and entertainment. You can jump on the public transport and be in the old city in no time. There is a small, 24 hour convenience store right around the corner that has fresh fruits and veggies and your basic groceries. A larger grocery store is just a little further away. 
Sue and Yahya were always willing to give suggestions, directions, and help with any question. I highly recommend Marti Apartments no matter the reason for your stay in Istanbul. You'll fund all your needs will be met!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHMcIntire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We really enjoyed having you stay with us long-term and look forward to seeing you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

First of all I would like to say thank you to our amazing hosts. The studios are exactly as pictured - clean, modern, spacious, and with very comfy beds! My mom and I stayed here for 11 days in July 2012. We were very impressed with the close proximity to Taksim Square (less than 10 minute walk), which has metro access and is close to Istiklal Street with tons of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Although near this busy area of Istanbul, Marti Apartments was on a quiet street and we were never disturbed by noise pollution during our stay. We were most importantly pleased with our hosts' knowledge and willingness to help us in any way with our travel experience. I would highly recommend Marti Apartments to any travelers going to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenL_8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed having you both stay with us and hope to see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#744 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,797 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,667 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#75 of 1,163 in Istanbul
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Suite

Address: Feridiye Caddesi, No. 87 | Kocatepe Mah., Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey (Formerly Marti Apartments)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 1,246 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $77 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Violet Suite is a hotel which caters to the independent traveler who wishes to experience what it's like to live in the city they are visiting. If you want to relax at home, watch TV, listen to your music, drink beer or wine, and make a sandwich or light meal instead of eating every meal out, then we are what you are looking for. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing