We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment in excellent location - washer and dryer too”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Violet Suite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Violet Suite
Ranked #168 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great apartment in excellent location - washer and dryer too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights in a studio apartment here. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The apartment was clean, stocked with bottled water (complimentary) and nicely decorated. The owner helped us print out tickets to museums and gave us a great map of Istanbul. The location is only a couple blocks from major public transportation and a small market is just around the corner. My only complaint was a neighborhood dog that liked to bark about 4:00 am and some noisy neighbors. We closed the window and turned on the A/C to block noise. Best part - a washer and dryer downstairs for guests to use. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank picturegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed hosting you as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    19
    2
    1
    13
See reviews for
18
71
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medford,MA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed for three nights in one of the studio apartments in the very nicely renovated and conveniently located Marti Apartments prior to leading a group on a tour through Turkey. The owners are extremely welcoming and attentive to detail and the apartments are nicely designed and very comfortable. My husband and I are definitely going back. We had not stayed near Taksim before being concerned about noise and having to take public transportation to get to the things we like to see and do in Karakoy or the Old City. Surprise... these apartments are down a quiet side street lined with small business and some fine little 'esnaf lokantas' or workingmen's restaurants where you can have a terrific freshly cooked meal, nice salad and dessert for extremely affordable prices for lunch. There is a small store right around the corner with basics. And the ever animated Istiklal Caddessi with its zillions of options for food, entertainment, shopping is just a few minutes walk. The Marti Apartments are an excellent option for travelers who like the independence of a short stay apartment rather than a hotel. The price is very fair and this is an excellent choice overall. Good internet access, comfortable bed, nicely designed bathroom, modern appliances... good all around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GreatDaysInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed hosting you both and hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

My desire to live in, rather than just visit, Istanbul was realised and more during my twenty day stay at Marti Apartments.
Yahya, Sue and Cuneyt have established the ideal base to experience the city. Their attention to detail and support for their guests is extraordinary. As a lone traveller without any Turkish that support added to my confidence in using all forms of public transport, eating at local restaurants and visiting areas of the city not usually on the tourist map.
Feridiye Caddesi retains much of its historical mixed residential and business ( auto parts) character so observing the ebb and flow of business, local people going to and from school and work really added to the experience. In fact, sitting on the penthouse terrace, observing the street life below while the calls of the muezzins echoed over the rooftops of Talamhane and the kindness of Sue, Yahya and Cuneyt ( oh! and Ayasofia!) will be the enduring memories of my time in Istanbul.

Room Tip: The penthouse with the extra space and rooftop terrace is certainly worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your sweet comments. We really enjoyed hosting you and seeing you around. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

While conducting business in Turkey for two months, I stayed at the Marti Apartments. These apartments are more than just a hotel/apartment complex, you feel welcome and comfortable at all times thanks to Sue, Yahya, and Cuneyt. The location of the flat is right next to Taksim Square, yet the noise is muted. The apartments were just redone and are absolutely stunning! While the aesthetics of the flat were fantastic, it was the hospitality I felt from the owners that sold me. From walking me to my language class on the first day to ensure that I wouldn’t get lost, connecting me with people I could stay with when visiting other areas of Turkey, fixing my computer, and taking my boots to get repaired, these people take extraordinary care of their guests! I plan on returning to Istanbul and when I do, I will definitely be staying at the Marti Apartments!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. We enjoyed hosting you long-term and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed in a studio apartment in the block for 3 nights to explore Istanbul. The location was great, a short walk to Taksim Square where taxis and buses abound. We walked to the centre of the city easily, and were surrounded by shops, bars and restaurants. Sue, the owner and manager, was on hand in the office below to answer our questions and recommend things for us to do.

The apartment was modern, clean and well equipped. Wi fi was really helpful, the bathroom was lovely, and the bed comfy.

Would definitely return - thank you, Sue!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. We hope to host you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had a great stay in studio #1. The apartment is in a good location near Taksim Square (and really near the airport shuttle drop off/pick up). There is a shop open basically all the time just around the corner selling food/drinks etc. The area was nice and quiet at night, but still an easy walk from Beyoglu and funicular/tram from Sultanhamet. The apartment was lovely and clean and bright, exactly as it looked on the website. The security arrangements were really good. Finally, Sue and her husband were very kind and helpful, especially when I turned up in a panic after my boyfriend missed his flight to meet me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to host you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We paid 49 euros for a lovely studio apartment off Taksim Square. It's a quiet location given that it's so close to the action. Not a big apartment but with very nice design and modern features it is very comfortable.

Free wifi is fast, the small kitchen does the job and Sue is very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samurai_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Violet Suite, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for you kind comments. It was nice to host you here and maybe we'll see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#230 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Suite

Property: Violet Suite
Address: Feridiye Caddesi, No. 87 | Kocatepe Mah., Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey (Formerly Marti Apartments)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Violet Suite is a hotel which caters to the independent traveler who wishes to experience what it's like to live in the city they are visiting. If you want to relax at home, watch TV, listen to your music, drink beer or wine, and make a sandwich or light meal instead of eating every meal out, then we are what you are looking for. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing