We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, spectacular view”
Review of Serdar-i Ekrem 59

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Ranked #145 of 1,204 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, spectacular view”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in the apartment on the top floor & could not have asked for a better place to stay. We spent 4 nights with the most amazing view over the Bosphorus. Each night we had evening drinks watching the sun set over the Topkapi Palace, Aya Sophia & the Blue Mosque.
The Galata area is close to everything including great restaurants, bars & attractions such as the Galata Tower, Istiklal Cadessi & the Dolmabace Palace. The Sultanahmet area was a short tram ride or walk away.
Zeynep is a wonderful help. From the moment that she emailed in relation to our time of arrival to the way she organised for our bags to be in our transfer car before we knew it, was outstanding. She had helpful suggestions for everything we wanted to do, from visiting attractions to the best restaurants for dinner & breakfast.
Stay at this accommodation if you want a fabulous time in Istanbul.

Room Tip: The top room apartment is the best place to stay if you want an excellent view of Istanbul
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneWazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location is fantastic, central to everything one expects to see and do in Istanbul. The building is old, but beautifully renovated with original architectural integrity intact and modern amenities enhanced.: wifi, elevator, kitchenette, quality linens and toiletries, excellent mattress (great sleep), security and parking. The owners are the best-ever, kind and helpful ... making our visit thoroughly enjoyable. If you are looking for a non-commercial experience with no compromises, immersed in the Turkish neighborhood, with easy access on foot to galata tower, mosques, bazaars, baths, shops, restos and night-life then, I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.. If you are not such a walker, then trams & buses are easy steps away....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraynorD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the penthouse for four nights in April. For me, the best thing about the apartment was the view and the building manager, Zeynep. She was extremely helpful even after we relocated to different apartment!

The penthouse had the view of old town and the Bosphorus. It was so pretty we could stay in the apartment all day and not get tired at all.

Neighborhood had an up and coming feel to it, and was quite nice with new cafes and stores. There is a supermarket near the Galata tower with okay selection of food and everyday items where we did our shopping everyday for food.

And it was super easy to get around. Istikral street is a couple of blocks up the hill and old town is easy with the tramway, and the Tunel helped us save trips back up the hill.

I recommend this apartment to anyone who's looking for a quite and relaxing place to stay. And the penthouse for those looking for a place with a view!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SparklyTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I spent the season holidays visiting two fantastic hotels in Istanbul. This second hotel I resided in had a perfect location and is very easy to connect to various city monuments and tourist locations. The room was very clean and comfortable and was impressively stylished! The room had amazing interior and had an excellent view. The apartments get everyday service and are perfectly well maintained. In the near surrounding, you can find fantastic little restaurants and coffee/tea shops that will refresh you and prepare for a nice site-seeing.
I would surely recommend this place to anyone searching for a clean hotel in the central area, with great service, something that reflect Turkish hospitality.

Room Tip: Room on the high floor, with a perfect view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Risto J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Apartment was lovely - building had character but was fitted out with modern fittings. Had a small kitchenette, which is handy if you don't want to go out for every meal. Apartment was cleaned every day. Great location - near Galata Tower and nightlife. Easy to get to Sultanahmet by funicular and tram. Zeynep the owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjr864891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Manhattanfeeling in the middle of Istanbul. The style and the equipment in the appartments are really awesome. The wonderfull, fresh smell of the towels make you feel like at home. The neighborhood ist fantastic with small restaurants and artstudios. Overmore there is a really lovely Zeynep, how is really friendly and helpfull. Thank you Zeynep and we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

First, for those debating whether to stay in Beyoglu vs Sultanahmet - definitely go with the former. Metro to the Old City is quick and easy - and it's fun to be in the part of the city that stays up/open all night.
As for choices of where to stay - the Serdar-i Ekrem was very nice - it's about 2 blocks off of the main Iskatil Caddesi walking street - on the Galata tower side, and close to the metro and Tunel funicular. Location in IST is key, b/c Istanbul is an enormous city - with LOTs of walking and it's pretty hilly, like a giant eastern-european version of San Francisco. We ended each night with the walk/bar crawl from Taksim Square back to our apartment.
Our apt was very nice - large, rustic-yet-modern decor, and with everything we needed. The old Brick walls, wood flooring, and balcony definitely gave the feel of the old city in a way that a standard hotel wouldnt have. Zeynep the building manager was very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately we had to relo the last day of our stay b/c they were doing some repair work with power in the building - but they moved us to a similar apt a block away, and comped our shuttle back to the airport on our final day. One minor gripe - no breakfast was included with our stay. Overall, I would definitely recommend this property to first time IST vacationers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#120 of 1,150 in Istanbul
462 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#89 of 1,150 in Istanbul
811 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#154 of 1,150 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#208 of 1,150 in Istanbul
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serdar-i Ekrem 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serdar-i Ekrem 59

Property: Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Street No:59 Galata - Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 1,204 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serdar-i Ekrem 59 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serdar-i Ekrem 59 is a small, 5 story building situated in a trendy yet quiet street of Istanbul's Galata, Beyoglu district. The main street (Istiklal Caddesi), main squares (Tunel and Taksim), subway and tram stations are all found in two minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Serdar-i Ekrem 59 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing