We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location- Great place to stay!”
Review of Serdar-i Ekrem 59

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Ranked #145 of 1,204 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful location- Great place to stay!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Friends and I had two rooms for 6 nights in April. We loved the actual accomodation as well as the location of the property. For the last few nights, our friends stayed in the top floor and the views were amazing!!! Would definitely recommend that unit if you can get it!!

The location is very close to lots of restaurants and shops and has a completly different feel than the other side of the bridge. One can tell the neighboorhood is going through a transformation- can't wait to come back.

Zeynep is great help on everything from restaurants to travel details (trams) to arranging things like a turkish bath outing. Duman (the cat) is a great mini fix for folks who have animals and are missing them.

Overall, I highly recommend Sedar as a great place to stay and be comfortable in Instanbul!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 6 days in March, 2013. We would like to emphasize several aspects: a very good location, nice design of the rooms with all the stuff needed. And the most important: a really professional manager Zeynep, always ready to help and to show all the kindness and sincerity. We are glad to have chosen this hotel and would recommend it for a short stay to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ira Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

On the recommendations of friends, my Mom and I stayed here instead of in Sultanhmet and so glad we did. It is on a quiet street but it's easy walking distance to trams, Galata bridge (make sure to try the grilled fish sandwiches!) and shopping near Taksim. Our apartment (#4) was awesome with thoughtful decorative touches - loved the feeling of staying in an old building but with all mod cons. As a North American, the bathroom really is compact but not a big problem and nice to have a good high pressure shower. Immaculately clean, handy to have a small kitchenette, and Zeynep was always there to answer our questions which made our introduction to Istanbul smooth. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakota2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Finally, after about 2 and a half months since we returned home from our honeymoon in Turkey, I am finally sitting down to give this beautiful place the review it deserves. Both my husband and I have nothing but fond memories of this beautiful place. We had made arrangements to stay at the ground floor of the apartment and our interaction with Zeynep was pleasant - she was efficient, always replying by the next day to my e-mails - and we were looking forward to the last leg of our trip in Istanbul.

We were picked up at the airport by the airport transfer we had arranged - highly recommended although it may seem pricey - and we were stuck in traffic because of the sudden fall of snow for about 2 hours. Luckily, the mini-van that picked us up was very comfortable. Finally, we reached the apartment and were greeted warmly by Zeynap and another gentleman (really can't recall his name) who efficiently settled us in and also answered our queries about getting around the city.

We were in for a surprise as we found out Zeynap had given us a complimentary upgrade to the suite on the 2nd floor which was gorgeous! Her honeymoon present to us :) It was such a wonderful surprise after the long ride there.

The room was beautiful and cosy, just what we wanted. It had a small kitchenette, which was sufficient for us to do up eggs and toast for breakfast with some coffee (we bought our stuff from the shop just a few steps away). The toilet (although small) was equipped with all modern facilities and the bed was comfortable and clean. The lounge area with the sofa was also so great, with the TV being an added bonus. There was more than enough space for both of us. Although there is not much of a view, since we faced the adjacent apartment, we could still glimpse a view of the streets beyond.

Accessibility wise, it is right smack in the middle of a very arty neighbourhood with quirky shops, galleries and cafes. Just up the cobblestone slope was my favourite street - Istiklal street which is basically a super long road filled with shops, cafes, restuarants, shops, shops, bars and clubs - extremely lively and fun. Galata tower and some other attractions are just a short walk away. There is a metro and tram station just very nearby and we usually took a slow walk down to the other side of Istanbul (near Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar etc) or you could just take the train across - fast and efficient. The only problem we had were the numerous slopes we had to encounter to and fro - but that is a given in Istanbul, not just this place. The whole feel of the area was very un-touristy - there were locals staying where we were, and it seems difficult to imagine the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas just a few minutes beyond. It is extremely peaceful and yet somehow, so accessible to all the "noisy" areas.

Zaynep's service was excellent and she was always around to answer any queries and make us feel at home- I would gladly recommend this place to anyone looking for comfort, an ease of mind and great memories (as long as they are able to conquer slopes!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kala85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much at the Serkar-i Ekrem 59. Our apartment on the top floor was wonderful and we loved the view very much.
Our special thanks goes to Zeynap for her tips and help throughout our stay.
The location was very good, easy excess to several transportations options. Nice neighborhood and a lot of good restaurants and places to visit.
Please take the nostalgic tram for a nice ride! Visit Galata Tower within walking distance. And take a tram to visit several must do places at the Asian side of Istanbul.
We hoped to come and visit this place and city in the near furture again.
Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eva e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

There are just a few rooms in this hotel in Istanbul's trendy Galata. We took the top one with a lovely view over the Marmara sea where we could watch the ferries taking people back and forth between the European and Asian sides of the city. The room was very clean and there was a little kitchenette that meant we could make ourselves breakfast and sit gazing at the view.

The hosts here are very friendly and helped organise our taxi before we arrived. It was a very present stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the third time that we visited Istanbul and fortunately we discovered that great hotel!
Our host, Zeynep, was very helpful and willing to advise us on things we could do in the city.
While we have booked the room on the ground floor, when we arrived our room was free upgraded to a bigger one on the third floor. The room was very clean and bright and had a really great decoration. The location is ideal, as it is both quiet and very close to landmarks such as Istiklal road and Galata Tower.
Every day at the lobby they offered us a snack and in the evening of New Year's Eve, apart from the snacks at the table, there was a very good wine that you could be served and drink in your room.
The only negative for us, was that it does not offer breakfast, but there is a fully equipped kitchenette in every room and also there are very nice places for breakfast at the nearby streets.
I believe it is very important on a trip to have a pleasant stay as it makes the trip even more enjoyable!
It is certain that in our next visit to Istanbul, we 're going to stay again at this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ifigeneia_Lisgari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#120 of 1,150 in Istanbul
462 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#89 of 1,150 in Istanbul
811 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#154 of 1,150 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#208 of 1,150 in Istanbul
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serdar-i Ekrem 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serdar-i Ekrem 59

Property: Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Street No:59 Galata - Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 1,204 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serdar-i Ekrem 59 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serdar-i Ekrem 59 is a small, 5 story building situated in a trendy yet quiet street of Istanbul's Galata, Beyoglu district. The main street (Istiklal Caddesi), main squares (Tunel and Taksim), subway and tram stations are all found in two minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Serdar-i Ekrem 59 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing