We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming alternative to hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serdar-i Ekrem 59

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Ranked #123 of 1,174 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Warsaw
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming alternative to hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Serdar-i-Ekrem 59 is a gem, one of quite a few similar places that have sprung up in Galata in the last couple of years. It sticks out for its very personal, very helpful, very friendly service (thanks to Zeynep) and the way this beautiful building was renovated by retaining many of its original elements such as the wooden floors and some of the old wall paintings, while giving it a modern feel. We already stayed there twice and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: First floor: bay window, second floor: small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurphyjackWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Serdar-i Ekrem is a great place for young professionals, who aren't looking to stay in a hostel but not wanting to break the bank at a fancy hotel. It feels more like an apartment with daily cleaning! There aren't all the amenities of a full service hotel, like room service, wake up call, but wasn't a concern or problem. The room is cleaned every day, is incredibly tidy, and has very cool, modern loft feel. And we always looked forward to grabbing a breakfast platter in the mornings so didn't worry about breakfast being included.
Most importantly, location was perfect. Very quaint, neighborhood feel in Galata but still tons of shops/cafes on the street. In walking distance to livelier Taksim and historical Sultanhamet.
Serdar-i Ekrem made our trip very special. Would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Bed extremely comfortable, but we did hear some rowdy neighbors next door some nights. We chalked it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. This is small and really good hotel - fantastic location (you don't need to use public transport at all visiting the best places of Istanbul), very friendly staff (we have recieved all helps we requested), really large room with nice interior/design and wooden floor (feeling like you stay on small villa), all necessary equipments (hair drier, refrigerator, flat TV, teapot, toaster etc) and comfortable bed with good linen. Kiva restaurant with good wine selection and really fantastic kitchen is just 300 m from the hotel...

Room Tip: From the top floors you can see more Bosphorus, room 3 has a nice balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland_Jurmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place is somewhere in between a studio apartment and a hotel room: We stayed in the second floor one, and it is a spacious high-ceilinged L-shaped open-plan room, with the bed in one corner and a living/kitchen area taking up the rest of the space. It is very tastefully decorated, with old wood floorboards, rough brick walls, nice marble in the bathroom (which had a very good shower) and it is clear that someone has paid attention to every last detail. The entrance hall to the building is done in similarly good taste, so the whole experience of being there is very nice, from the minute you open the front door (plus the lift is a nice touch, so you don't have to drag bags up flights of stairs). The apartment had big windows and a small balcony onto the street. Bed was very comfortable. There are cooking facilities, but these are very basic, with one hot plate (although Zeynep, the lovely and helpful manager kindly gave us a second one).

The area is fantastic and I am SO glad we stayed in this part of Istanbul, as it is very characterful and atmospheric with hilly, narrow, cobbled streets and lots of cafes/restaurants, and yet you are only a few minutes (by tram) from many of the major sights.

My only reservation about the apartment is that the sound insulation between the flats is very poor (we could also hear the sounds from the building it backs on to). If you are very sensitive to noise this could be an issue. Or at least take good ear plugs!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

we stayed 3 nights in sedar-I ekrem. we love our rooom with a wonderful view of the bosphorus. we were initially hesitated to stay here because breakfast is not included. but it turned out to be not a problem at all with the in-room open kitchen (with coffee machine, kettle, oven, etc.). service was excellent! highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cswkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel and the rooms are very nicely decorated. We really loved the room which had a well appointed kitchenette. The area is beautiful and quiet yet minutes away, on foot, from Galata Tower and Istiklal Street. Small grocery store across the street and a larger one 3 mins away on foot. Small eateries on the same street and many other options within walking distance. The service was very personal, and Zeynep the hotel manager, made us feel quite at home. This was our first time to travel with our children and she definitely made things easier for us. I cannot say enough about the lovely area with the cobblestone streets. The climb up and down the streets around the hotel is challenging though, so bring comfy shoes. Usually we would go with large hotels but this time we went with something different and we were very happy we did.I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Istanbul for travellers who appreciate something different. Staying here was a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esperanza-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband, daughter and I spent 5 nights on the 2nd floor (app 3) in Serdar-i-Ekrem. The street and house are very pretty and the apartment looks exactly like the images shown on the website. We felt as if we were in a modern NYC apartment with all the brickstone ; )
There is a very comfortable double bed, a sofa couch/bed, a well equipped kitchenette, airco,tv,enough storage fo your clothes, and a bathroom with rainshower. It s in walking distance to hip nice cafe s and small boutique shops, the Galata tower and the main shopping street Istiklal Caddesi.
The only minus: it can be a bit noisy as you can hear the guests in the above apartment walk and talk (so we tried to keep them in mind by walking bare footed in our apartment), and the garbage containers are in front of the house, so they smell and are messy.
Zeynep is very nice, speak English and will try to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: top floor supposed to have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendelien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#354 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#155 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#126 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#231 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serdar-i Ekrem 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serdar-i Ekrem 59

Property: Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Street No:59 Galata - Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 1,174 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serdar-i Ekrem 59 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serdar-i Ekrem 59 is a small, 5 story building situated in a trendy yet quiet street of Istanbul's Galata, Beyoglu district. The main street (Istiklal Caddesi), main squares (Tunel and Taksim), subway and tram stations are all found in two minutes walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing