We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect too much” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beta Home Istanbul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beta Home Istanbul
Ranked #514 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had the studio on the ground floor, which consists of two floors. Kitchen, bathroom and bedroom at entrance level, and bathroom and bedroom in the cellar. It was spacious enough for 5 people, even though the ones with three in the bedroom were a bit crowded.
But there are two huge drawbacks with this hotel.
Firstly, the rooms are without any kind of ventilation, which makes it extremely humid, and therefore the rooms are filled with mould! The bathroom, bedroom and livingroom/kitchen are full of it. You had better not be allergic or sensitive. In the bathroom on the entrance floor, the drainage didn't work in the shower, ending up with you standing in foot-deep water when taking a shower.
Secondly, the hotel does not have a reception. The only way to get in contact with someone is to call. So if you want to ask something, you call.

The hotel is perfectly located if your are looking for party, but if you are after a quiet time I suggest you look for some other place. Several bars and clubs are located just around the corner.

The kitchen was very well equipped and there were no problems fixing your on meal if you like.

All in all, the hotel was barely ok, but since we didn't stay in the room very much, and since the price is low, it was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobbalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice, comfortable, fully equipped and spacy apartment, a few steps away from Istiklal str.
Indeed noisy during the night, but we didnt mind. In a city that there are many small and expensive rooms, i really believe that Beta Home is a very good choice.
And at last i found a fridge that i can make ice cubes :-)
Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is perfect if you come to Istanbul to party.
Location is superb. It is just round the corner of busy pedestrian Istiklal street where you can find lots of restaurants, clubs, cafes etc. Cezayir street packed with cozy small restaurants with live turkish music is just a few minutes walk as well. All means of transportation are easy reachable on foot: tram about 10 min, metro 10-15 min, taxi stop is less than one minute. There are lots of grocery shops in the area if you plan to use kitchen. The are itself is very nice and romantic with lots of narrow sidestreets going up and down.

We stayed on the ground floor in two-level apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms which was very convenient and equipped with all necessary stuff so that we could feel like at home cooking light breakfast and having snacks. We didn't have any probems with water or wifi as was mentioned below, though we couldn't take shower simultaneously as the water became cold in both bathrooms. Apartment looks like on the pictures except the living room, in fact it is not so spacious as may seem on the photo but still quite nice.
The club next door is really noisy, though after browsing hours through Istanbul streets we didn't have problems to fall asleep. But I would not recommend this place if you stay with children.
Last bot not the least: if you are on a budget but want it all from Istanbul this place is for you!

Room Tip: the room which overlooks the street is more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Me and my friends stayed to Raffaella’s apartment three nights during the month of august.
The position of the apartment is central to the new part of the city and close to a street full of clubs that stay open till morning keeping the volume of the music very high. For this reason it was difficult to sleep and relax, I don’t advise to stay there if you have children and want to relax yourself.
During our stay we saw Two apartments, the orange and the blue one, because the Orange one, that is in the first floor was very noisy. The second one was more silent and cleaner.
We had some difficulties with the phone and wi-fi services the first day, and the second one there was no water during the morning. Raffaella didn’t inform us about this fact and she didn’t answer to our phone calls and text message.

We were very disappointed because before booking it we read all previous comments. Definitely if we turn back to Istanbul, we’re not gone to choose again to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Friends and I stayed in two apartments here and LOVED it. After backpacking around Europe, Beta Home had some of the nicest, most comfortable, and modern amenities we had seen in months. It was so homey, cozy, and clean. It felt like home, was in a great location, and Rafaella WAS AMAZING in helping us book everything. She even fedexed home something we left behind. She is an absolutley incredible hostess and really cares about her guests. We loved it here and were sorry to leave. The nearby clubs offer some noise at night, which wouldn't be great in other situations, but did not bother us a bit. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank passport2earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beta_Home_Istanbul, Direttore at Beta Home Istanbul, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your nice comment, just reflecting the sweet, enthusiastic and beautiful bunch you are. It was most certainly a pleasure to have you and we are even happier when we learn that our visiting friends enjoyed both the city and their stay at Beta Home. So, it shall be just great to be able to welcome you back again one day. Hopefully you all! because you really are a lovely group. Cheers girls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We arrived late at night at Beta Home, and when the taxi stopped in front of the entrance we were negatively impressed, the street is narrow and looks deserted, there were some graffiti on the facing wall, and all that gave an impression that it is somehow an unsafe area. That was at first.
Then we were greeted by Rafaella, she appeased our concerns and was quite friendly and helpful... I read some reviews mentioning the friendly staff! Well, we’ve only met Rafaella couple of times during our 6 days stay, she was indeed friendly and nice, but there is no residing staff in Beta Home.
At night we heard some music and songs from the nearby clubs, but nothing very disturbing.
Having said that however, we must also say that the flats are nice and comfortable, they have a well equipped kitchen, a comfortable bedroom, and everything was clean and tidy, it feels homy, and is well managed; I guess you’ll probably like it when you get over the first misleading impression.
Regarding location, it is very near to istiklal street which is very convenient, as there are many shops and restaurants there and you could enjoy a walk anytime in the day or in the evening, taksim square is also at a walking distance, most main touristic attractions like topkapi palace, ayia sofia, blue mosque, cistern church, grand bazaar etc. are not too far, but if they are your main focus points in your visit to Istanbul, then I guess it would be more convenient for you to stay in the Sultanahmed area.
Finally, note that the place has no elevator as it is a renovated old building, and if you decide to stay in Beta Home, you could ask for some grocery shopping prior to your arrival, like water bread milk etc, that is a nice touch that we found very convenient, and you would only be charged the cost, no extras whatsoever.
I would give Beta Home 3 to 4 points, not five like previous reviewers.
Thank you.

Room Tip: No elevator in Beta Home, we stayed in the orange flat in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pierremou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beta_Home_Istanbul, Direttore at Beta Home Istanbul, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
First and foremost I must apologise for not having come back any earlier. Yes it's been some time now but it seems like yesterday especially because you are the type of engaging persons that stay in mind. So, thank you for having taken the time of writing such a detailed review, basically covering all that Beta Home is about, and thank you even more for your appreciation and support. I was particularly glad to learn that the initial doubts were overthrown. I've learned, also by my own personal experience when travelling, that city centres, especially with their old/historical areas and at night, may give an initial discomforting feeling. It is just about getting acquainted with the place as it is, even if it is sensed foreign. I now hope that with a second chance of welcoming you we shall all feel less distant and more like back-home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stay in beta home in Istanbuyl this summer only few days in july for holidays but I found a beautiful place and confortable rooms and very spacious,. In my opinion, reat to after the Istanbul chaos ☺. The flat was elegant and the location very near to all service and tourist interests.
It's a perfect locatio to visit Instanbul!
I recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buccellati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#350 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#156 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#231 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#127 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beta Home Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beta Home Istanbul

Property: Beta Home Istanbul
Address: Kaymakam Resat Bey Sokak 5, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beta Home Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beta Home Istanbul has 6 modern and convenient apartments in Galatasaray, one of the most popular area among the young and trendy crowd of Istanbul. This very central location, in one of the liveliest spots in Taksim, is unique both for holding the city's dynamic pulse and for giving easy access to any place in Istanbul. Beta Home Istanbul, in a wholly owned renovated building, comprises of one duplex, four suites and one studio with terrace. All the apartments are recently refurbished and fully serviced and furnished. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing