We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good feel for the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of True Blue Tours - Day Tours

True Blue Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #6 of 402 Tours in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an "A" class boutique travel agency located in the Sultanahmet old city district of Istanbul in Turkey. Our tours are countrywide and custom designed to suit each client's or client group's particular travel wishes. We do offer package tours as well. The primary goal of our agency is to focus on customer satisfaction by offering personal service and great attention to details as we believe that this is the best way to a successful future for the True Blue Tour team and for Turkish tourism as well.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Good feel for the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were only in Istanbul a short time and True Blue Tours ensured that we saw the best and most important parts of the city. All of our interactions with the staff went well. We came in with lots of questions and our guide provided satisfactory answers to almost every single one, though a few responses seemed, to us, to be somewhat fabricated. We enjoyed Chora Church the most, though visiting city walls that have been standing for more than 1,000 years was an incredible experience in and of itself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sc0tra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyup K, Director of Sales at True Blue Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for taking the time to give us your feedback, Sc0tra. We are glad to hear that your experience was positive from beginning to end and thank you for pointing out the comprehensive nature of our sightseeing programs. Our guides do color their commentary with anecdotal stories associated with the famous and infamous emperors and sultans that have ruled this city since the founding of the Roman Empire's eastern capital in 330 by Constantine the Great. Truth is stranger than fiction to be sure. We will encourage our guides to continue doing their best to both inform and delight our guests. We will encourage them also to open the floor for questions and comments as frequently as time will allow. Well wishes to you and hope to see you back in Istanbul! Eyup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    39
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“True Blue Tours-Great Istanbul travel agency”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I booked the "Rest of Istanbul" group tour with Ms. Cameron Johnson of True Blue Tours. I had researched a lot of Istanbul tours and True Blue had the itinerary that best matched our interests. This tour visited the Topkapi Palace and Harem, the Chora Church, the Suleyman Mosque and and the City Walls. We were picked up at our hotel around 9:30 a.m. by our guide. I believe his name is Akim. His English was excellent and he was a walking encyclopedia. He was one of the better guides we had during our 3 week trip throughout Turkey. As he knows he is intelligent, he is rather self-absorbed. Although we paid the rate for a group tour, we were fortunate to be on our own for the morning tour of the Topkapi Palace and Harem.While the tour of the Palace and the harem was excellent and our guide appeared to know his facts and figures, it would have been an added plus to make the palace come alive by telling us about what life really entailed in the harem and about the murders that took place by the sultans's mothers who annihilated any competition. After lunch we were joined by one other guest for the remainder of the tour. Lunch was excellent at a little restaurant (I wish I had taken the name) that served excellent kebobs. The owner had collected a very interesting collection of lamps from around the world and the restaurant had lots of charm and cachet. The other guest was late in arriving from out of town. While waiting we asked our guide for a recommendation for a handbag store. While he did recommend a very nice store close to the True Blue Tour office, it was very expensive. Finally the third person in our tour arrived. The tour of the Suleyman Mosque and Chora Church was excellent. All in all we were very pleased with True Blue Tours. Dealing with Cameron was a pleasure and we were happy to have had Akim as our guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank carefree-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyup K, Director of Sales at True Blue Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello carefree-travels! How nice for us to have your enthusiastic feedback! So much of the travel experience is dependent upon the individual traveler. The most carefully planned itinerary can seem mundane if the traveler is not enthusiastic about making the most of their plans. We always hope that there will be an energetic connection between our guests and our guides because when that happens, each is lifted to a higher level of both fun and learning along the way. We're glad to hear that you were happy also with the booking process. Needless to say, sales agents set the tone for what is to come and everybody knows how important first impressions are. Last but not least... F O O D !!! It is pretty safe to say that most everyone who visits Turkey will have something positive to say about the Turkish Kitchen. We love to eat and to do so in a pleasant environment and that's why we love the KYBELE HOTEL RESTAURANT! Great food in a relaxed and unique atmosphere. All the best, Eyup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho NM
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good guide come highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have used True Blue Tours a few times for tours and transport while in Istanbul. My family and I were on holiday this July and booked the “best of Istanbul” day tour – Wow - these guys are great. They are very profession, great communicators, provided good tips and suggestions, their tours are well organized, the transport vehicles are A class Mercedes vans and the groups are small and personal.

Our guide was the best and very well informed about the region, the history and the various sites. After the walking tour in the afternoon, she took us to one of the best baklava shops and helped us pick out a great selection we could take home. She also took us to an out-of-the way art gallery and turned us on to Marbling. What a cool art form. We watched the artist make the painting right before our eyes and then bought it for a very fair 30 TL. Our coordinator also recommended the Whirling Dervish dance ritual and helped set everything up – what an experience! She also gave us some other recommended restaurants and places to see for our free day before the tour day. We never felt like we were being pushed to buy something from “their brother” – just professional all the way.

We highly recommend this guide company if you plan to see Istanbul.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyup K, Director of Sales at True Blue Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi lbrittNM, We really appreciate your kind words and thank you for taking the time out to support True Blue Tour. You've pointed out the cohesiveness within our team and that your experience has been positive through and through. As there are so many components that go into tourism services, it is obviously crucial that there will be consistency from the very beginning of the planning process until each guest has had a super experience here in Turkey. We thank you for your continued confidence in TBT and we hope to see you back again, whether for business or holiday. Well wishes, Eyup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We wanted to take our boys to a good beach in Istanbul and walked into a travel agency at random which happened to be True Blue Tours. The owner kindly consented to take us himself to a seaside town called Sile. The journey to Sile was amazing as was our time there. The owners of True Blue Tours are decent, friendly people. I recommend them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingmuslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyup K, Director of Sales at True Blue Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi travelingmuslim,

Warm Turkish Greetings to Everybody from True Blue Tour!

Wow. Time flies so fast and we’ve been having such a great time with our guests here in Turkey over the past months. It’s been a while since I’ve made the time to respond to our tripadvasor.com reviewers in order to thank you all for your thoughtful feedback and for your kind words about your experience with True Blue Tour and about your impressions of Turkey in general and specifically of Istanbul. Everyone that makes up our team at TBT is devoted to working with maximum effort in order to realize our goal of providing our guests with the most positive experiences here in Turkey that we possibly can. Every bit of our energy and our enthusiasm comes from you all. Your reviews let us know that someone cares, that we’re making a difference and that our dedication and diligence is appreciated. Less than perfect ratings are hard for us to swallow, of course, but we genuinely appreciate when our guests are willing to help us out with constructive criticism. Usually (and as evidenced by your words), our shortcomings lie in relatively minor issues that can be improved upon if there will be someone who cares enough about us to take the time to let us know how we can be better. We feel confident that our guests know we want to improve ourselves and our company and that we are all willing to do what it takes for True Blue Tour to be a stand out in Turkish tourism. Thanks for all of the encouragement you provide us with, for your confidence in True Blue Tour and most of all for your interest in Turkey. We hope to see all of you back again and we’ll keep the teapot going for you!

Best regards, Eyup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“True Blue Travel Agency Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We booked our tour to Gallipoli through this company Aykut informed us of the long day involved in this tour and totally informed us of the stops on the way etc. He provided us with information for walking around Istanbul also. That information was very helpful and in the end saved us money in booking other excursions around the local area. In all he and his company were very professional. And we traveled the next day to Gallipoli with Crowded House Tours and had an enjoyable day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyup K, Director of Sales at True Blue Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi Frank,
Thank you for your review. We're so glad that you found TBT and that you feel your day trip to visit Gallipoli was time well spent. We realize that little surprises along the way can be unsettling and we do our best to inform our guests of what to expect if booking a certain service or excursion. We love to make suggestions for ways to enjoy Istanbul and it's great to hear that Aykut was able to share some tips that contributed to your good time! All the best, Eyup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Blue Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to True Blue Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing