We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 nights in a small hotel with a very good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel New Era

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel New Era
Ranked #230 of 1,028 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4 nights in a small hotel with a very good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We returned a day ago. The hotel is really small, but the location is very good and convinient. I don't blame the size of the hotel just want you to give an idea: no elevator, tiny room, small bathroom. We liked it because we didn't need much really. Breakfast is the same all mornings. Room is cleaned every day + new towels.
You can stay there if you don't need much from hotel except Bed and Breakfast (+bathroom) =)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Vechornitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a great time in Istanbul in August. I reserved this hotel by Internet and don't know exactly how it'll look, but we try to find something cheap and not so far from center.
Hotel New Era was one of this. We have some problems when try to find it, because nobody knows the name of this hotel, and it was the little minus of all trip.
Our first impression:"So small room! Only bed and wardrobe" But in an hour we understand that it's enough, we came for excursions, not to sit in a hotel.
Room and bathroom were cleaned every day. All walls and bed were white.
Breakfast was not very rich(bread with butter or jam, tomatoes, cucumbers, cheese and ham), but it was enough for us. And from the window, you can see very beautiful landscape.
When we plan to go home, they gave us a transfer to airport.
So, this hotel for tourists who want to see Istanbul and save some money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetyanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We first booked for 5 nights, but the terrible noise made us not sleep for almost the entire night so we checked out the next day. The rooms are so poorly isolated, that we could hear the persons next door washing their teeth! We had to bear a whole night listening the woman next door' s terrible cough! The bathroom has no proper shower, just the water pouring on the floor type, and has no heating so it's pretty damp. The ceiling of the room was breaking apart, so we had a portion hangging over our heads just before the entrance in the bathroom.
In conclusion: absolutely no value for money. The next day we moved to another hotel that was cheaper, better located and much much better quality rooms!
The only good things about it was the very nice owner and the presence of wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirela_Cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Agree with lots of the other reviews here that the hotel is simple but has everything you need for a lovely stay in Istanbul. We liked it so much we went back again after a brief trip to Ephesus. AC, wifi, good breakfast, lovely view. And much less expensive than similar hotels just across the street with seemingly similar construction.

Room Tip: 102 and other rooms on the left have a bit more space than rooms on the right side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Hotel New Era is simple, but functional. The staff are very polite and help as much as possible. The rooms are very small, but clean and contain everything needed. The location is good, being only a few minutes from the blue mosque, Hagia Sofia and the city.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget as everything is to a good standard and very inviting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt_j_palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Located within 5 minutes walk from the touristic part of Istanbul. Room (with toilet and AC) was small but nice. The staff is helpful and kind. Breakfast was of good quality and served in a terrace with a nice view of the sea.
Only little minus (where they can improve a little) is about the frequency with which they clean the room...Apart from this, great value for money! Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have just came from Istanbul and this hotel was little but nice. Rooms were extremly clean and the receptionist is very kind. He stays there 24 hours a day and helps to everybody with smile on his face even when you wake up him at night (so you can't be angry if he can't speaks english very well :)) Hotel is a little bit hard to find (it is near hostel Sinbad and some Best Western hotel if it helps). Breakfast in on the roof (classic - every day the same). The weakest point are thin walls - you can hear everything and everybody from this few rooms in hotel so I suggest earplugs :). In conclusion very nice rooms inside in comparison to first impression and very kind employees.

Room Tip: Room by reception is very noisy because telephones are ringing over the night and early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huga84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#350 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#130 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#225 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Era? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Era

Property: Hotel New Era
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mahallesi Kasap Osman Sokak, No:10 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34062, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 1,028 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel New Era 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Era reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing