We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation for a family”
Review of Residence La Vue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence La Vue
Ranked #192 of 1,081 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed on the first floor. The room is spacious, one private bedroom with a bathroom, and one living area with two coaches and a kitchen. Room and living area have sea view, but limited by the trees. Breakfast is served to the room and is satisfactory for us. Two types of cheese, olives, honey&butter, tomato%cucumber, scrambled eggs and tea with fresh bread. No coffee and no cereal. Room and bathroom is clean. We have visited Istanbul Modern Museum which is only a few hundred meters away. Galata Tower and Taksim Square is also only 15mins walk away. Also very close to the tram station which takes you to see the old town, which is only 3-4 stops away. Good value for money, and good location. Try to find rooms on the upper floors for better sea view. People working at the Reception are very friendly and helpful. We stayed with my wife in one bedroom, and my adult daughter stayed in the living area in one of the coaches, and we were very pleased with the stay. I strongly recommend for a short time stay to discover the main attractions of Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ünsal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 37 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fantastic View of the sea. The suite on top has a lovely terrace. Great connectivity to taksim and the tramway. Helpful Staff.

The breakfast was quite ordinary.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prateek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Residence La Vue is less than a year old and consists of 7 apartments. We had the one on the 5th floor and it had a fantastic view of the sea and across to the old town, Topkapi Palace and mosques. This place was twice the size of our first hotel room in Istanbul, for about the same price.
We stayed here for the second part of our trip and this allowed us to easily see the more modern part of town. The neighborhood is on the edge of Beyloglu and Chihangir, both considered to be “trendy”. Indeed, there were many cute boutique shops and restaurants in the area. The downside is that it has as many hills as San Francisco and the walk UP to get back to the apartment was a bit of a challenge. We also had to walk uphill to get to Istikal Caddessi and the area around Taksim square.
There are some areas which could use improvement. Breakfast was dismal; instant coffee packets, bread and packaged jam and butter. Also, our room was cleaned on the first day, but not on the second or third "because it's the weekend". We had to ask for towels and toilet paper and were never told the room would not be cleaned. The kitchenette could use things like dishsoap and towels, especially if they expect you to clean up.
The views cannot be beat, especially from the 5th floor. We could see a wide part of the Bosphorus, the Topkapi Palace across the water, and from the bedroom, the Galeta Tower.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor possible, but keep in mind the rooftop studio with terrace is smaller than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wired2theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed at in Istanbul! Spent 8 nights at La Vue Residence and it was perfect! When we got there the manager had upgraded our room so we had a balcony and there was no additional charge! The people that worked there were so friendly and helpful from the reception to housekeeping. The view was absolutely gorgeous and the room was huge....more like a small apartment than a hotel. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was brought up every morning....I could really get used to this kind of treatment!!! The price of the hotel was fantastic for all that you get. Everything is conveniently located. Easy walk to public transportation and to Taksim square and Sultanhamet is just a short walk or ride away. Could not ask for a nicer location and staff...will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank banas4916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My hubby and I spent three nights at La Vue Residence as part of our honeymoon. We had both been to Istanbul before and were keen to avoid the touristy area of Sultanahmet. Before booking our hotel, I got in touch with an Istanbul local and asked for the best parts of town to stay and he highly recommended the trendy suburb of Beyoglu which is on the other side of the Galata Bridge from Sultanahmet, but just a stone's throw away. Staying in Beyoglu was such a good decision. The area was buzzing with atmosphere, brilliant cafes and restaurants, trendy bars, fashionable locals and beautiful antique stores.

It would be easy to disregard La Vue Residence as just another hotel, but the roof suite is Istanbul's best-kept secret. The view from the room and the wrap-around balcony has to be seen to be believed. We really couldn't believe our luck when we saw the view as it only cost 100 euros a night. Normally you have to pay through the nose (around 300 euros a night) for a view like this.

The room itself was pretty small, but the generous balcony and roof-top terrace more than compensated for this. The shower was average and there was a weird smell that could have been related to the plumbing, but none of this really bothered us. We ate breakfast on the terrace each morning whilst looking out to the Bosphorous and the city beyond. As far as Turkish breakfasts go, it wasn't overly memorable and the bread wasn't particularly fresh, but again, the view made up for this.

Another benefit of this hotel is the lift that takes out the pain of walking up the steep marble staircase. Having a lift is a bit of a luxury in Turkey, so we were grateful for this. If you want to try an incredible breakfast, I can highly recommend a cafe called Van Kahvalti Evi which is just a short walk up the road from the hotel. You won't regret it! And if you're after a day trip to the Asian Shore, make sure you try Çiya Sofrasi restaurant for the best meal of your life and Baylan Patisserie for dessert (order a Kup Griye). Both are incredible.

Room Tip: Book the roof suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amyjcompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We rented the penthouse suite for 5 days in mid May 2012.

The hotel itself I'd rate as 3-4 star but the views from the balcony and the private sundeck are 5 star.

The staff were brilliant very helpful and always willing to give you advice.

I'm not sure what the room cleaning agenda is supposed to be, but we had ours cleaned a couple of times during our stay. I'm sure if you're the messy types you'll have your room cleaned more often!

Breakfast is cucumber and tomatoes with bread and a piece of salami and several pots of spread. We had breakfast at 8.30am and it kept us going until lunchtime. There are several cafes within minutes of the hotel that will do you a western style breakfast for £3-£4.

About 100m up the street is a great little area (Firuzaga/Cihangir) full of cafe and bars looks like an upcoming area and there's a couple of great bars just a little further up the street on the left just off Defterdar hard to find but worth a visit. All the sport with good food and music.

There's a 50m walk up a very steep hill to get to the hotel from tophane tram stop, but hey this is Istanbul there are hills everywhere. The hill is a bit of a killer to be honest, but you'll be used to it come your last day.......honest!

Anyway cabs in Istanbul are so cheap you can go anywhere in Beyoglu from the hotel for around £2-£3 and a trip back from Sultanhamet will cost around £4 so the hill needn't bother you.

To sum it up. The sundeck is what you pay for in the penthouse suite and it is just about on the money.

I've explained the breakfast and cleaning arrangements so don't complain about them should you book this place and they're not up to your standards, you have been warned. If you want luxury, go stay in the Witt apartments up the street for twice the money and none of the views!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Penthouse Suite you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen63b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We are there on April 2012. A really really good choice. Everything is comfortable and clean.The rooms are appoited very good, beds are comfortable and perfect bathroom.We have the suite on the 6 floor and there is a fantastic view. Also the staff is very friendly. Public transport nearby. Breakfast included. Good value for money. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tiffanyone1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#758 of 1,160 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#78 of 1,160 in Istanbul
819 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#70 of 1,160 in Istanbul
508 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#110 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Vue

Address: Firuzaga mah, Defterdar Yokusu No:15, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , Cihangir , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 1,081 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $47 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence La Vue 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel, Rezidans La Vue has opened its doors to our dear guests by April 2011 with its 7 flats that have magnificent sea and historical view. Our residence is located at the European part, in the historical peninsula that is known as the Old Town, in Cihangir district, right at the heart of the historical, cultural, shopping centres and we will be pleased to provide the best and the finest quality service within secure environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence La Vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing