We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burckin Suites Hotel
Ranked #323 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed several nights here. The location is great located on a street perpendicular to the tram line. If you ever get lost, just find the tram and follow it. Our room was TINY (had to jump over our suitcases to get in bed!) but very well appointed. All of the furnishings, finishes and decor were well selected in the design of this hotel. The room was clean and smelled nice and you can tell the cleaning staff work very hard. Everyone at the front desk was friendly and knowledgable about things in the area. The terrace has a great view of the mosques and the water. However, it can get crowded up there for breakfast and the staff cannot keep up, piles of dishes sitting around. Its also lovely to sit up there at night when the weather is nice. The AC in the room works really well (in fact one night I had to get up to turn it off because I was freezing).

My one complaint is that all the prices for the hotel and bar are in Euros. WHY!? This hotel is in Turkey. I guess they assume that most of their guests are from the EU, but for those who aren't, it is confusing. We ordered drinks and the poor bartender had to get out a calculator to convert the prices to Turkish Lira. This seems unnecessary.

Room Tip: Our room faced an inside courtyard, which didn't have any views, but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machita75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 447 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

I spent three nights at the Burckin in April with five other people. We all had a very good experience at this hotel. It was in a central location - very simple to get around to many of the major sights but also relatively quiet. The rooms were comfortable, stylist and spotless. Breakfast was generous. The terrace has a gorgeous view and was a favourite spot for a glass of wine or fresh squeezed juice in the evenings. The staff were friendly and helpful. They offer a complimentary airport pick up (this is not unusual in Istanbul). Our group arrived on two different flights and one flight was an hour late. The driver patiently waited with us - though he drove like a maniac (even by Istanbul standards). I would have no problem recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequent_flyer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I read several reviews for hôtels before booking this one and I am not at all disappointed by my choice: the staff were nice and helpful, the room was comfortable, especilly the bathroom, very clean. The breakfast on the terrasse with a view on all istanbul is to die for and all in all I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juji1987bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were there for 8 nights with our two year old toddler. Prior to the trip we were concerned that he might not adjust to the new environment, particularly to the small room size, early morning Blue Mosque prayer calls, and the atypical breakfast menu selection. It turned out that he slept and ate well. Moreover, he was happy interacting with the friendly staff members who continually provided professional, prompt and reliable service. Many thanks to hotel managers Mr. A.Selam Tay and Mr. Hasan Belpinar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We were here for few days on holidays with motorbike friends. The hotel Is located in the center of Istanbul near S. Sofia but is the only positive thing. The rooms are very little, not for a 4stars hotel. We asked for a private and not pubblic parking but we left our bikes on the road in front of the hotel. Breakfast was not international. No milk, no cakes, just few biscuits. An hotel with prices of 4 stars but services for 2 stars. The rudeness of the receptionist was particularly fastidious. Every time we asked for something he answered with a provocative laugh. Avoid it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alf70sport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A while ago I ate in an average restaurant that was gaining terrific reviews on trip advisor. It had so many good reviews that is was ranking above many michelin starred establishments. Being a geek, I analysed the reviews and found that nearly 30% were from people who had never written more than two reviews. Its a bit odd to visit a mediocre restaurant and feel the need to open a trip advisor account and write a rave review about it.

Now in Turkey, I am amazed at how awful the hotels I am staying in are. They both had very good reviews, but the reality is that they have both been gloomy unfriendly and generally not very nice places. A quick look through past reviews reveals a high number of reviews from first time reviewers.

So the Burckin hotel. When i arrived there were two guessed at reception demanding to be found another hotel. They were very cross and from a phone conversation to an agent I understood they were willing to lose money just to be taken away from the hotel.

The room I am staying in cost 100 pounds a night. It is the size of a college dorm, without any of the accompanying charm. The room is perpetually dark and the decoration is abysmal. There is a single light in the room and a broken table lamp. The bed is hard and uncomfortable. The walls are paper thin so you can hear people showering, talking, the cleaning going on outside the rooms

The staff are generally miserable and seem disinterested. Nobody says hello. In the breakfast room, nobody greats me, explains the buffet (which is stocked with many foods I'm unfamiliar with, nobody brings coffee or explains where to get it from).

The situation of the hotel is good, but that is all it has going for it.

There must be good hotels in this area, but they are more than likely begin drowned out on trip advisor by hotels like this where people (and this could be genuine) feel the need to write their one and only review to say how amazing this place is - even though my experience tells me different.

Room Tip: just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is well positioned for a tourist visit to Istanbul. Walking distance (lees than 5 minutes) from Blue Mosque and Haga Sofia with an abundance of good restaurants and lots of smaller shops offering Turkish goods including carpets, textiles, clothing, delicacies etc.
Staff service is fast, friendly and efficient. It is a smaller hotel and the bedrooms are generally very small but the bathrooms and amenities is clean and well stocked as one would expect from a 4 star rated hotel. Breakfast and bar area on the roof level (enclosed with glass sliding doors and heated in winter). Breakfast leans towards Turkish traditional but have something for every taste and is self-service.
WiFi in rooms works well. Rooms have a safekeeping box that will take a laptop. Also a stocked minibar and some snacks in the room. Did not use the laundry service but it is available. An airport shuttle service is available but requires pre-booking.
Traffic is an issue in Sultanamet during rush hour periods due to the narrow streets so make ample time for travel if on business and going for meetings. Travel time from/to the airport about 45-55 minutes.

Room Tip: Higher floors have view over surrounding buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CobusvdM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#338 of 1,163 in Istanbul
480 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#149 of 1,163 in Istanbul
489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#91 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#66 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,483 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#193 of 1,163 in Istanbul
613 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#382 of 1,163 in Istanbul
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burckin Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burckin Suites Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad.No: 18 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $37 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burckin Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering views of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Bosphorus from its rooftop terrace, Burckin Hotel has a tea lounge with Ottoman carpets. The air-conditioned rooms are spacious and have LCD TV.With free Wi-Fi, the rooms at Burckin Hotel feature wooden floors and and a minibar. Each of the private bathrooms has a flower-shaped sink.Guests can enjoy their meals in Burckin Hotel’s restaurant, which serves traditional Turkish dishes. The Turkish-style lounge with its silver tea jugs offers a quiet setting to read a book from the library.The 24-hour reception staff can arrange car rentals and shuttle services to Ataturk International Airport, 20 km away. They can also book trips to Grand Bazaar, 500 metres away. This boutique hotel is conveniently situated in the Old Town, less than 400 metres from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Free parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burckin Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing