We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burckin Suites Hotel
Ranked #301 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Excellent location and staff”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were there for 8 nights with our two year old toddler. Prior to the trip we were concerned that he might not adjust to the new environment, particularly to the small room size, early morning Blue Mosque prayer calls, and the atypical breakfast menu selection. It turned out that he slept and ate well. Moreover, he was happy interacting with the friendly staff members who continually provided professional, prompt and reliable service. Many thanks to hotel managers Mr. A.Selam Tay and Mr. Hasan Belpinar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    143
    48
    21
    10
See reviews for
70
194
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caserta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We were here for few days on holidays with motorbike friends. The hotel Is located in the center of Istanbul near S. Sofia but is the only positive thing. The rooms are very little, not for a 4stars hotel. We asked for a private and not pubblic parking but we left our bikes on the road in front of the hotel. Breakfast was not international. No milk, no cakes, just few biscuits. An hotel with prices of 4 stars but services for 2 stars. The rudeness of the receptionist was particularly fastidious. Every time we asked for something he answered with a provocative laugh. Avoid it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alf70sport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A while ago I ate in an average restaurant that was gaining terrific reviews on trip advisor. It had so many good reviews that is was ranking above many michelin starred establishments. Being a geek, I analysed the reviews and found that nearly 30% were from people who had never written more than two reviews. Its a bit odd to visit a mediocre restaurant and feel the need to open a trip advisor account and write a rave review about it.

Now in Turkey, I am amazed at how awful the hotels I am staying in are. They both had very good reviews, but the reality is that they have both been gloomy unfriendly and generally not very nice places. A quick look through past reviews reveals a high number of reviews from first time reviewers.

So the Burckin hotel. When i arrived there were two guessed at reception demanding to be found another hotel. They were very cross and from a phone conversation to an agent I understood they were willing to lose money just to be taken away from the hotel.

The room I am staying in cost 100 pounds a night. It is the size of a college dorm, without any of the accompanying charm. The room is perpetually dark and the decoration is abysmal. There is a single light in the room and a broken table lamp. The bed is hard and uncomfortable. The walls are paper thin so you can hear people showering, talking, the cleaning going on outside the rooms

The staff are generally miserable and seem disinterested. Nobody says hello. In the breakfast room, nobody greats me, explains the buffet (which is stocked with many foods I'm unfamiliar with, nobody brings coffee or explains where to get it from).

The situation of the hotel is good, but that is all it has going for it.

There must be good hotels in this area, but they are more than likely begin drowned out on trip advisor by hotels like this where people (and this could be genuine) feel the need to write their one and only review to say how amazing this place is - even though my experience tells me different.

Room Tip: just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is well positioned for a tourist visit to Istanbul. Walking distance (lees than 5 minutes) from Blue Mosque and Haga Sofia with an abundance of good restaurants and lots of smaller shops offering Turkish goods including carpets, textiles, clothing, delicacies etc.
Staff service is fast, friendly and efficient. It is a smaller hotel and the bedrooms are generally very small but the bathrooms and amenities is clean and well stocked as one would expect from a 4 star rated hotel. Breakfast and bar area on the roof level (enclosed with glass sliding doors and heated in winter). Breakfast leans towards Turkish traditional but have something for every taste and is self-service.
WiFi in rooms works well. Rooms have a safekeeping box that will take a laptop. Also a stocked minibar and some snacks in the room. Did not use the laundry service but it is available. An airport shuttle service is available but requires pre-booking.
Traffic is an issue in Sultanamet during rush hour periods due to the narrow streets so make ample time for travel if on business and going for meetings. Travel time from/to the airport about 45-55 minutes.

Room Tip: Higher floors have view over surrounding buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CobusvdM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taastrup, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Even though we stayed two kids and two adults in a standard room, the hotel staff provided us with the option to either have an additional foldout bed or a crib. We chose the crib because of one of our children is a baby.
The room was small but given the fact that we were out most of the time because of the location of the hotel being right in the heart of all the sights and etc., we managed and got used to it. The staff was very helpfull and very serviceminded.
Great place to stay in that area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Perfect location for sight seeing and amazing views from the breakfast room.
Room was tiny, but luggage easily stored under bed.
The major let down for this hotel was the staff. No interest in engaging in conversation and quite dismissive. Staff freely ate breakfast while guests are eating, felt a bit odd queuing behind staff to get food . Breakfast options are limited unless you are a fan of cheese.
Don't bother with ordering airport transfer with them, they charge through the roof! Just as easy to flag a taxi off the street.
Inject a bit of personality in the staff and it would be a gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesso79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Positives first: Great location 5mins walk from Blue Mosque, relatively quiet side street, 2mins from tram station Sultanahmet, clean and new bathroom, rooms with balcony on six floor have (partial) view of Hagia Sophia. Good pick-up service from Airport, free wifi.
BUT: Rooms are tiny, and I mean really tiny ! I have stayed in bigger rooms in NY, and those are notoriuous for being "boutique style", which - in case you get easily confused by hotel marketing jargon - means barely bigger than a shoe box. The rooms on the top floor of the Burkin are so small that you can't even get in to bed from both sides, because the narrow (!) Double is jammed upp against the (thin) bathroom wall. (A creative photography award for the official pictures on the webpage.... ). No space either to store your gear, either. Honestly, we don't need much space, but I have had more room to turn around in a camper van.
Service in breakfast restaurant (roof terrace completely enclosed now) and at reception is lousy. Room way to expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Mina
Hotel Mina
#310 of 1,155 in Istanbul
501 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#346 of 1,155 in Istanbul
473 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#264 of 1,155 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#70 of 1,155 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#243 of 1,155 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#76 of 1,155 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burckin Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burckin Suites Hotel

Property: Burckin Suites Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad.No: 18 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burckin Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering views of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Bosphorus from its rooftop terrace, Burckin Hotel has a tea lounge with Ottoman carpets. The air-conditioned rooms are spacious and have LCD TV.With free Wi-Fi, the rooms at Burckin Hotel feature wooden floors and and a minibar. Each of the private bathrooms has a flower-shaped sink.Guests can enjoy their meals in Burckin Hotel’s restaurant, which serves traditional Turkish dishes. The Turkish-style lounge with its silver tea jugs offers a quiet setting to read a book from the library.The 24-hour reception staff can arrange car rentals and shuttle services to Ataturk International Airport, 20 km away. They can also book trips to Grand Bazaar, 500 metres away. This boutique hotel is conveniently situated in the Old Town, less than 400 metres from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Free parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burckin Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing