We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night trauma”
Review of Arife Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arife Sultan Hotel
Ranked #474 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First night trauma”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Booked this hotel 5 months ago.Confirmed again 3 days prior to arrival. Hotel offered a shuttle bus. It took us to the hotel, we unloaded our luggage and was then told that we were going to another hotel. Late in the evening we had no choice. The hotel they took us to was a place without wi-fi and not even hot water. We had to take luggage to the 6th floor. No lift. It was drab and smelly. We loved Istanbul, but unfortunately, after the hotel experience we were glad to get out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VOkskan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
21
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very сute small hotel in the center of the city, two minutes on foot from Sultanahmet Square. The facade of the hotel overlooks a quiet street, so that the noise from the main road does not bother you at all. Clean comfortable rooms, though a little bit small. Everything is new and clean, comfortable beds. Breakfast is poor, but you will not be hungry! Special thanks to the managers and receptionists of the hotel, always friendly and ready to help and everybody speaks English very well! Next time I will also stay at this hotel! Highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ирина П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our first impression after paying 30 euros for the pick was that we were cheated, as the shuttles from the airport are way cheaper.
The host tried to push many things, and suggested not so many great places just because they were from people they knew.
Breakfast was so so, since they dont have a kitchen to even boil an egg.
The good things are location, close to best restaurants, tourist sites and they allowed us to leave our luggage for 2 days even without a luggage room. Everything also looked brand new in the room, a bit small.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small but very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

It's a small boutique hotel with 6 rooms. You couldn't ask for a better location for the price. I am here not in the off season and they have worked with me and we have negotiated the price. They have been sooooo helpful as I am a woman traveling alone. The staff has made my trip! The rooms aren't huge, but they are clean, new, and very comfortable. I'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breenicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna-
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Nice room, located old city
We arrived at the Arife Sultan Hotel in the early morning, reception was quick and efficient, by the friendly and attentive staff who spoke good English.
The hotel has been open only a short time and is well appointed and modern rooms with parquet. Very comfortable beds. It was clean and comfortable.
Breakfasts were buffet style and included corn flakes fruit a selection of cheese, olives, jam,honey etc.
It is in an good location being within easy walking distance from the Sultanahmet 2 minutes. Sultanahmet tram station next to hotel 100 metres, Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia Museum, Tokapi Palace and many local restaurants.
In all we had a very enjoyable stay here. Most enjoyed, Friendly helpful staff, comfortable modern rooms, good location near all amenities.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vienna75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Arife Sultan is a brand new boutique hotel with 8 guest rooms.  At the time of our arrival, they had only been in business for a little over 3 months and as a result, there were some issues which I will attribute to 'growing pains' that impacted our stay here.

But first the positive...

1) Location was right in the heart of Sultanahmet and only 5 short minutes to Hagia Sophia and the Blue mosque. Be forewarned however that Sultanahmet is a major tourist hub so if you're more an off the beaten track type traveller, look to stay somewhere less touristy. If not, Sultanahmet is a good choice.
2) Good price - we were able to have our Turkish friend negotiate the rate down to 50€/night.  This included a modest breakfast which in my opinion could have been better with just a few tweaks. Not bad, just could have been better.   
3) Rooftop terrace - there is a small rooftop terrace on the building that can be used for a picnic or just to relax and take in the sites. Good view of Hagia Sophia and Sultanahmet. We had asked the front desk to setup a table and some chairs as its just an empty space and they were happy to oblige. I would suggest they put a tables up there and leave them there for their guests (or maybe an outdoor bar). Really nice.
4) Very clean and well kept
5) Decent wifi, not great
6) Safe in rooms
7) Very friendly staff

...and the not so positive...

1) There was a major issue with the plumbing/sewer system that made staying in the room unbearable for 1 night, and barely tolerable for the remaining ones. After informing the front desk he did apologize and said it had something to do with the city. I do believe him because we saw workers fixing it later that day. I would be interested to hear if anyone else experiences this in the future. The smell of sewage remained for our entire stay unfortunately.
2) There were issues with the power cutting in and out. Never down for more than a few minutes however when it returned, a very loud fire alarm system would go off. This happened twice during bedtime hours waking us up wondering if we had to get out or not.
3) Poor English - Although super friendly, no one at the front desk spoke English well enough where we didn't have to repeat ourselves a couple times to make sure the proper message was being received. An example of this was when we were checking in. As mentioned above a daily rate of 50€/night was negotiated prior to our arrival by our Turkish friend. When we arrived I reiterated the rate to the front desk to which they hesitantly agreed to.  Upon checkout, we were told the rate was 55€/night. To be fair, this could have been a 'lost in translation' moment so if you do decide to stay here, negotiate your rate but more importantly get it in writing (this applies to anything you do in Istanbul, especially eating out...look at the menu first, then be seated).
4) VERY small rooms. One gets a sense of this from their website. Room size is not an issue for my wife and I but if you need your space, look elsewhere.
5) No safety screens in windows. I added this for a couple reasons. Firstly, due to the size of the room your working in close quarters with your roommate. One false move or late night run to the bathroom could be dangerous with windows open (which we had to do to let the sewage smell out). Secondly, mosquitos...they seem to be more intelligent in Istanbul and must have evolved and adapted over the centuries.  They are impossible to catch and have good places to hide due to the color scheme used in the rooms.  

All in all, I would hope that with a few small tweaks, some time and a few more English lessons, this place could be great.  For now, I would say decent.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Koukouvaya_Bubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked over the phone the night before arrival,we haggled , easily, the small double room for E50 per night. The guy on the desk during the day couldnt have been more helpful. all staff were nice but this guy had very good english. we went to istanbul to attend a 2day music festival, he researched times and cost of tramway and buses we need to get to the gig, even though there is free wifi in both reception and up in the rooms. On the last morning we should have checked out at 12, but he rang our room at 14.50 as he knew we'd be wrecked after the festival and he knew we had a flight to catch so suggested we take the 7lira shuttle bus, collects a couple of times a day, instead of taxi or tramway. . nice guy!! the hotel is a 1 minute walk from tramway stop in sultanahmet<its just a couple of feet down a side cobble street>, which takes you anywhere in Istanbul.5 mins walk from blue mosque and other sights and fab little restaurants everywhere. .if you dont mind a small but very fresh and clean modern room, then this is a GREAT location. absoultley no complaints!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank berhorrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ayasultan Hotel
Ayasultan Hotel
#331 of 1,156 in Istanbul
247 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#27 of 1,156 in Istanbul
299 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Hotel Akdeniz
Istanbul Hotel Akdeniz
#871 of 1,156 in Istanbul
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Print House Hotel
The Print House Hotel
#411 of 1,156 in Istanbul
39 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Newport Hotel
Sultanahmet Newport Hotel
#664 of 1,156 in Istanbul
43 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#343 of 1,156 in Istanbul
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arife Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arife Sultan Hotel

Property: Arife Sultan Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Catal Cesme Sokak No:8 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #474 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arife Sultan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arife Sultan Hotel, a boutique hotel located in the Old City of Istanbul adjacent to The Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Byzantium Hippodrome and many more. Arife Sultan Hotel offers 8 guest rooms. Rooms are modern and feature flat-screen TVs and self control air-conditioning , safe box, emergency life alarm, central heating system full automatic, direct dial telephone, bathroom. Relax in your tastefully decorated room and enjoy modern amenities, including LCD TV. Check your emails using free wireless internet access. Start each day with a complimentary buffet breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Arife Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing