We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sultans Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$107
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$388
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eresin Hotels Topkapi(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$77
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
$125
InterContinental
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$619
$448
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveler rating
739
196
22
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
196
22
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosquevisiting istanbulmajor attractionshighly recommend this hotelbeautiful citysultanahmet squarebreakfast roomexcellent hoteltopkapi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 962 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in this small and very quiet hotel. We were very happy with our room, which had space for seating and (that very rare thing) a large bath and was very thoughtfully appointed with everything we needed (robes, plenty of towels, pillows, blankets, reading lights, toiletries, etc.). The breakfast was very good. Most of all, the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Thanks to the staff, our trip avoided a disaster on the first night when my husband lost his passport and some cash to a pickpocket 3 blocks away. The staff went back with him to the scene of the crime so we could provide an accurate report to the police. Then, while we were researching the passport replacement process, Levent, a young staffer, went back again to check out the CCTV cameras and found the wallet -- minus cash but with the passport.

We had a number of very good meals within a block of two of the hotel. At one, Karina, we had an especially good fish casserole (really, more of stir fry with fresh vegetables and mushrooms in addition to fileted chunks of fresh fish).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MitsuWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in September 2013. Our room was clean, bright, and big enough. The bed was a little hard, but comfortable. Same size as an American Full size. The A/C was great, very comfortable in the room. The bathroom had a shower, no tub. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. I have never encountered a more genuine appreciative staff. They helped with restaurant recommendations as well as sightseeing. They were fantastic. Breakfast was good, the Eggplant especially. Eggs everyday as well as cheeses, meats, and salad stuff. Great tea. The hotel location was perfect. 5 minute walk to Blue Mosque, 10 minutes to Hagia Sophia. Many good restaurants within walking distance. If you stop at the restaurant across the street, say hi to Efes! He is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week as a family ( with a a 3 year old). The hotel was in a great location - walking distance to all major attractions and close to plenty of restaurants. The rooms were clean, had Wi Fi connection. The staff ( in particular Serkan, Ersin and Erdal) were friendly, efficient, attentive and helpful - giving us lots of helpful suggestions during our weeks stay. The staff were particularly good with the toddler - entertaining her each time we were in the lobby! We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Azeer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Sep 20-23 and it was absolutely perfect. Erdal greeted us after 18 hours of travel with coffee and information on all the top spots to see in the city. He also recommended two local restaurants to visit while we were there. We were promptly given our room after the staff brought our bags up to our room. Room was a great size, bathroom was also larger than expected. Great water pressure, air conditioning was perfect, and the wifi was always working. We ended up partying the night away with friends and making it back around 3 am (do bring a map, we got lost on our way back to the hotel 2 nights in a row.... mostly due to too much Efes), but right away they were attentive and offered a wake up call for our 8am tour. Not only did we get a wake up call (and another one 5 minutes after to make sure) but they also called to let us know about breakfast. Breakfast was great - large amount to choose from and nice to grab before tours. We didn't use the restaurant recommendation until the last night and we are sorry we waited. It was the best food we had in Istanbul. Sultans Royal is within walking distance to the top sights like the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern - we also walked (with a LOT of bags) from the Grand Bazaar. It's a long walk but we are very active. The mineral water in our room was extra but if you have too many Rakis or Efes and are touring the next morning... it's a life saver. And they had them available whenever we needed. All of our friends came to our hotel to book their tours because they were organized and honest. And the prices were great. I cannot say enough about the great customer service at the Sultans Royal. We felt like Sultans. We also took advantage of the airport transportation (25 euros) and it was totally worth it. They had a sign at the airport upon arrival and were prompt. The Sultans Royal even offered to make us breakfast sandwiches the morning we left since the breakfast would not yet be available (at 4:30am). Top notch. Out of 15 of us staying in Istanbul, our hotel was the best and most talked about. Well done, Sultans Royal. Best customer service we've ever received.

Room Tip: Street is quiet so all rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed her two nights on my return flight, and the hotel was nicely located, clean, and inexpensive. I found the staff very friendly and helpful on hints what to see, where to go, and just generally attentive when you wanted them to be so. I used the airport transfers from/to hotel and was this made for trouble-free travel, albeit it did cost a bit more money (still very reasonable). The hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district and easy to get to all the tourist attractions, but make sure you carry around a small map of where hotel is located because things get sort of turned around at night (or maybe from a few too many Rakis and beers).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seantsegtseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews