We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #64 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a nice, quaint little boutique hotel tucked in a quiet street and very near to interesting places. The location is very central to the must-see sights in Istanbul like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia, etc. The hotel also scores big by having many nice eating places nearby, which we enjoyed every night. But the one thing that we really like about the hotel is definitely its staff - very friendly, informative and helpful. I remembered Ersin and Erhan who were wonderful to us. We had a lovely stay there and Istanbul never ceased to amaze me every time I came to visit this beautiful city.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank ineszKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for Sultans Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 957 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at Sultans for 4 nights during our visit to Istanbul. The location was great and walkable to every major site including the Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia and Topkapi Palace. Our reservation included complimentary pick up from the hotel and cost of 20 euros for the ride back to the airport on departure day. The staff is friendly and eager to help anyway they can. Free WIFI is offered which was a great perk. We were assigned a corner room on the second floor and it was extremely small. My husband is 6 feet tall and when he stood straight up, his head would touch the ceiling on one side of the room. The room had two very small windows. We peeked into one of the other rooms when it was being cleaned and it looked a lot spacious than ours. The walls are very thin which made it very noisy. We heard everything from our neighbours and the people upstairs. Everything from them walking around, a toilet being flushed to someone sneezing. The "blanket" was just a flat sheet. There was a thicker cover in the closet but it had light yellow stains on it so we didn't use it. Breakfast is included but we didn't find it inspiring, plus we usually ate at 9:30am and by that time, all the hot food (ie: eggs, toast) were cold. Our shower door in the bathroom was broken and one of the night lamps were burnt out. The bed is very short. Overall, it was a decent stay but we would probably choose another hotel if we visit this beautiful city again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Avoid the corner units.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travel_bug0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Was my stay for 7 days with my family, a great days I lived in my house, is not in a hotel, I would not set a specific name in this hotel, but everyone was great.
Hygiene workers, hospitality, reception ..
Those who were in front of their name (triple fun) Ersin , Erhan , Emrer
Nearby historical sites, the sea, the market is not close, but can be accessed with a little effort

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M_Allabikhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Location can't be beat in Sultanhmet. It is steps from Astar bazaar and only a few more steps from the Blue Mosque. We drank tea with the English speaking manager and he pointed us to the places to go in the city center. Breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank botumasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

There are of course many hotels in Istanbul and throughout the Sultanamet, the historic old city which houses some of the greatest architectural and religious sites in the world.

In mid October 2012, we spent 4 fantastic evenings at the Sultan's Royal Hotel in the Old City. This is a spotless, perfectly renovated small hotel with a warm and friendly staff which makes great personal effort to make every guest welcome to see that all their needs and interests are met.

The room we had was in perfect condition in every way, the free Wi-Fi was also a great plus. Breakfast every morning was impressive, with untold numbers of meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals, juices, teas on offer.

A really exceptionable and warm hotel, we highly recommended it.

Special thanks especially to Irhan and Ersin at the front desk. You guys really make a difference!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DickNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week in early October. We chose it because it is located in a quiet street within walking distance of practically anything you might want to go and see in the Old City. Also not very far from the very efficient trams that will take you further afield. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable with a very good size bathroom. Breakfast was fine for me (cereal, cold meats, cheese, different breads and wonderful local jams, fresh fruit, several turkish breakfast dishes etc) but my husband wasn't keen on the cold scrambled eggs! The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly and spoke excellent English. They were always very interested to hear what our plans were and if we had enjoyed our day. One suggestion I would like to make is that they keep up to date information on boat trips, the information we had been given was incorrect. Not really a big problem for us but it might be for some. There are several nice restaurants within a few minutes walk from the hotel. We particularly liked the following: HIPPODROME (Antonio was great!). Food was delicious especially their casseroles. They also serves some very nice Turkish wines. BELLI - the best chicken skewers and lamb kebabs. There is a room at the back inside overlooking the Sea of Marmara. Service was excellent too. KARINA - a fish restaurant. We sat on the roof and on each chair there was a pashmina waiting for the ladies in case it got a bit chilly. The fish was delicious. I very much recommend this hotel for all the above reasons.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsWHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really liked this hotel, very clean and charming. My room was spotless with a great bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent: lots of choices, including a very interesting array of local jams. The location is very close to most of what people want to see in the old city, easy walking distance and about 30 minutes from the airport.

The other thing that makes a difference in such a place is the staff. Erhan, who ran the desk during my stay, was always helpful and kind with excellent English. He made the stay very easy.

Room Tip: I booked at the last minute and ended up on the first level facing the street. I was concerned it mi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMarkWMeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#83 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#47 of 1,159 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#87 of 1,159 in Istanbul
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#65 of 1,159 in Istanbul
735 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#140 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing